You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I've started to have "The Talk" with my wife

in #thetalk7 years ago

I recently had a discussion with my wife also about joining steemit, though it is too soon to say how much it will become a part of our lives. As an occupation, I think it would benefit her even more than me, since she can't do the office job. Her main concern is putting herself out there and facing rejection. So far, I have found this to be one of the most supportive places on the web. It is better place to share ideas than Facebook - and those people are supposed to be friends! I am really happy to see your success here @aggroed and I wish you and your fam the best on this journey!

Sort:  

That's boss! Thanks for your vote and friendship. Steemit has that number next to your name. I'm at 67. You're at 44. That's rep. Rep has a lot of impact around here. You get it for writing good stories adn not being a dick. It's amazing what kind of community that helps build because all the typically internet asshole shit get shut down... I should do a post on that. Lemme know when she needs an account. I'm happy to make it for her quickly.

Oh yes I forgot about the rep bit. A lot of features fit together to make this kind of self policing community. I guess that is inspired by the nature of blockchain itself... A means of creating an complex organization without central authority. This is the first place I've seen it extended beyond currency and into actually encouraging people to behave and contribute usefully. Sure the idea of rep points has been around, but here the motivation is so much more powerful, and grows exponentially as we draw more people into the group. It is a powerful new technology in the world of distributed computer systems. If functioning currencies can be made without a central bank, could entire societies be made without central governments? You should write something on that!

I have!

It's called PALcoin and PALnet. Idea is as the currency is mined 50% of the earnings go into a community pool. Then there is a kickstarter page to figure out how to spend it. No taxes. Community funds. Good times!

Can you send me a link?

Thanks! And BTW, I have voted in your witness campaign. Keep it up!

Rock on! Thanks boss!!!