The Thinker's Corner - Recalibrating goals

in #thinkerscorner4 months ago

Hi everyone!

I worked out yesterday that between January 15th 2022 and January 2nd 2024 I accumulated around 2,395 Hive Power worth approximately $850 USD. Which is great and amazing and the incredible power of the Hive blockchain, but I've also come to realise that the HBD Savings is a powerful tool that I can potentially use to fund my gFam project.

Considering I'm already using the Hive blockchain every single day, I'm really going to try and create a lot more content in order to earn more HBD for my HBD savings. There is so much going on around the Hive blockchain, so I'm intending to explore and interact and create more. One of the cool projects I've found is the Dreemport site that is amazing at sending traffic to sites like gFam... they also have challenges for content creators, and so this post is my entry to @kenechukwu97 Thinker's Corner challenge.

Thinkin'
Photo by Juan Rumimpunu on Unsplash

The challenge prompt is:

However, what if we are already halfway through 2024, and nothing seems to be working as planned? What if your attempts to achieve your goals are yielding uninspiring results?

I have a few thoughts about this.

One of my favourite ideas in this space is all about developing systems and processes instead of goals.

Instead of having a goal of say, gaining 5kg of muscle this year, I would instead create a system where I would create a weight training program. The goal of 5kg of muscle is totally arbitrary, it's just a random number, and what happens if I meet that goal? I just stop?

By creating systems or processes, you can set yourself up to achieve what you're actually wanting to achieve; to be stronger or fitter or feel more attractive or whatever.

The additional benefit of setting up systems is that you find yourself fine-tuning your system as you go. If your system becomes going to the gym every day at lunchtime, then you might end up doing cardio some days and weight training other days, which could improve your fitness and mental health, or maybe you find a buddy to train with and adopt their schedule.

So many goals are just so arbitrary, but if you think of building systems then you can continue for as long as it meets your needs.

In regards to my desire to earn more HBD to help fund other projects... instead of aiming for earning a specific amount, I should instead set aside an amount of time per week to create useful posts in order to earn that HBD and Hive.

Obviously I have to understand that in order to create extra content, I'll have to give something else up, I can't create an extra hour per day, so I'll need to decide what am I doing now that will receive less of my time and attention.

In answer to the specific question about how to react if various attempts are yielding uninspiring results, I really do think that by working on fine-tuning the system you've created to really work for you helps keep you on track. If the system isn't working at all, then try a new system. Try 30 different systems if the first 29 don't work for you. When you think about it, it is unlikely that the first thing you try is going to be the most successful thing for you.

In this example, instead of creating a goal of gaining 5kg of muscle by December 31st, creating a system where you meet a buddy at the gym every lunchtime, you'll gain a bunch of different benefits. In that light, the goal becomes irrelevant, because you're actually having an enjoyable time and getting fitter.

Bootcamp

Photo by Gabin Vallet on Unsplash

The team that I work with talks about SMART goals all the time.

That is goals that are Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Relevant, and Time-Bound. I like this approach as well... it all comes down to being very specific about what is that you're trying to achieve.

Your goal might be to be better at customer service. Okay, great.

The first thing to do is find something measurable that relates to that goal. You want to be super specific, so something like +5% increase in smiley face reactions on the end of call survey by December 31st. What are things that you can adjust to try and achieve that goal?

I do think that companies do tend to obsess about improving particular metrics but forget about the Relevant part. Maybe you could get a +5% increase in smiley face reactions by making the smiley face bigger... you'd achieve that measurable goal but it would lose its relevance by what you were trying to achieve in the first place.

So... those are my thoughts on goal-setting. What about yourself? Do you throw away all your goals by January 3rd like a normal person because you realised your day was already way too jam-packed?

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

I've found you need to start with a very clear understanding of how success will look; otherwise you risk pushing it away or pulling it closer over time.
If you only have a vague idea of what you're aiming to achieve, you can fall into either close enough or never good enough mindsets
Know your target, aim, fire, then stop to reflect and either learn or celebrate.

Yeah, I think that's super spot on. Ideally the reflection part would hopefully be a regular part of the activity to fine-tune or recalibrate or even try something completely different.

In the past I've never been good at celebrating my achievement, when I'd hit my target I'd immediately be thinking about what's the next target... instead of trying to learn what I could from that experience.

Yes, I was thinking of moving my training to time basic rather than speed or kilometre total based. Just too many life variables to hit solid targets and goals. And nice work on the hp gains.
!LUV
!ALIVE
!PIZZA
!PGM

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS - 0.01 WOO - 0.005 SCRAP - 0.001 INK tokens

remaining commands 4

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


@aussieninja! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ new.things. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Thanks!

Yeah, there's honestly so many variables; weather, timing and content of last meal, niggles, stress, etc etc. The psychology of exercise is huge, so being happy that you got out and ran as opposed to being disappointed you didn't hit a speed goal surely has some value.

I also desire to earn more Hive this year and I’ve got my goal and working towards it already.
I’m glad you have accumulated a lot of Hive between January 2022 to January 2024
I’m very sure that you can do more
I hope you achieve your goals

Thank you Rafzat!

Systems > goals, totally agree on this! Alas, I think it was more or less what I've wrote in my first post of the year in 2023! :) Now, I definitely am yet to create one that fits how I want it, but as you say: if something doesn't work, I just need to fine tune it or create a new one!

PS. We've gathered almost the same amount of Hive in 2023! I use these posts to also have a reference on how my numbers were at this time. May you build an awesome system! (but create one that doesn't trash me everytime we meet on the battlefield, ok? :)

Ah... just to be clear... that 2,395 is what I earnt in 2 years. 15 Jan 2022 to now... I've got a spreadsheet I like to update around the start of the year and didn't realise I didn't even do it last year, haha.

I think the vast majority of that is through curation rather than creation, and that's definitely what I want to improve on this year. I just need to figure out how my day or week will look since obviously good content creation takes time.

Hahaha, I think even if I created an incredible Splinterlands system I still wouldn't be able to trash you every time... you're way too good. I'm just aiming to beat you 51% of the time.

I just finished my first Python course lesson today! Good thing I already have my project in mind, it would be awesome if I could pull it off and have our w/l count! ;)

Awesome!

I think it's so much better to do these courses with a project in mind... really keeps you motivated. Good luck!

Setting time in the week to post will makes you earn more than setting hbd to be earn because with time you might achieve the expected hbd and loss the zeal for posting. It a good thing you have something you want to invest in, am still thinking of the business I can invest in.

You're thinking of investing in a business? Is that for your work or are you thinking additional to your primary income source?

Ahh thank you, that's what I've been doing XD

and indirectly trying to get the kids to do when they want to do a thing and I'm like okay how are you going to get there

Creating and refining systems seems to make a lot more sense to me from a longevity standpoint, though on the flipside I think the people that more goal-oriented (and actually achieve said goals) kind of already subconsciously know that they need to put in the systems and stuff to make it work and do that as part of the process of getting to the goal, and then the processes get ditched or refined when they hit the goal and set the next one.

I just keep thinging the processes because I've already proven to myself multiple times that I'm so bad at hitting goals that even if the goal came over to attack me it would still miss XD

Hahahaha, a goal that attacks you isn't your friend!
I'm sure you're good at thinking about processes though.

I think you're totally right. I'm thinking more about the approach to goal-setting; ie, going to the gym X times a week as opposed to targeting a specific weight, for example, but yeah, I think most people probably have a system in mind when they do set a goal for themselves.

I have been around a lot of people where their goal was to, say, get on the next season of Ninja Warrior, and I've always tried to tell them that they can't set a goal that they don't have control over... so the goal should actually be to apply by the deadline - that they can control.

In order way, your perspectives mean that instead of throwing the crying baby out the window, you look for a better and maybe more simple way to stop the baby from crying.

Just had to use this instant because my neighbour's baby is crying in my ear right now, and I had plans to return her to her busy mom, lol.

This is impressive, and a school for thought, create a system smart system that will help you achieve the goal, I hope to work with this in my goals for this year, thank you.

Yes! That's exactly it. It's so important to really figure out what it is that you want to achieve and then work on a system to get there... really any goal you set could probably be achieved with some sort of cheat way (like throwing a crying baby out the window) that doesn't actually bring you closer to what you really want (a happy baby).

Creating a system? I like that approach. One of the thing people struggle with even when they successfully achieve their goal is that some of them experience a depletion of inspiration to aim beyond the goal they have set.

Let's say you aimed for 300HBD. You may get that by October, then what? Some people will reduce their grind by a significant percentage while they wait for a New Year to set a new goal.

However, creating a system takes that issue away. It edges more towards a repeated action that becomes a habit. If someone gets into that habit, it can lead to consistently showing up to do what's necessary. In the case of Hive, creating content consistently and pushing some HBD to savings can make a lot of difference.

Thanks so much for joining us in this edition of The Thinker's Corner Challenge.

You have something interesting going on with GFAM. I wish you all the best in that.

Exactly! I might hit that goal in October... or I might never hit it for reasons out of my control (ie, the algorithm changes or something) - but by creating a system of setting a specific time to create content each day (or week) then I'm building up a process that could easily be used on other platforms or could last me way longer than that initial goal.

Thanks for setting up this challenge and thanks for your kind words about gFam. I appreciate it!

I've read a lot of takes in this contest and I like how many people have approach that's similar and the ones that are just unique to them. It's an interesting thing to see what people come up with and I'm glad we are starting the year with this.

Well Done, Man.

Let's enjoy the adventure of this New Year.

I will also like to share my view about goal setting. There is something called the long term goal and the short term goal. For every goal that is set, I always believed it must be realistic and then the long term goal must be broken down to the shorter goal and that is what I called the workable system

Absolutely. A long term goal is basically just a wish unless it's broken down into the smallest possible components that can be measured and assessed. It's really the only way to create any real progress.

I like the idea of creating systems which sets you up to achieving what you intend to achieve and even go beyond it.

If the system isn't working at all, then try a new system. Try 30 different systems if the first 29 don't work for you.

This is just the best way to go, try and keep trying out new systems, ideas, strategies until you find the one that works. Nothing more, nothing less.

Great and valuable content.
#dreemerforlife

Thank you for being so kind @luchyl! I appreciate it.

I think so. Usually someone's goal is representative of a lifestyle change they want to make, and so I really do think that by finding a system that works for you is the best way to make permanent lasting changes in someone's life.... and the likelihood of the very first one you try being the perfect one is super low, so keep trying different things and tweaking until you've got a system that really works.

You're very welcome

Sometimes I looked at my plans some years back and I live in regret that only if I have set down well planned structure to achieve those goals, my life will not be were it is now. I just dream, plan less and take actions less

Yeah... I think most people's goals are honestly not much more than wishes.

I totally understand that regret... but on the bright side, you can start something now and then in a few years you'll be so happy that you did.

I think you have a really practical way of going about your goals. I mean it's like if you want a forest, plant a tree kind of goal. Really impactful and I'm glad to have read it.🌺

Thanks so much Tessa!

That's why mistakes are bound to happen when we set goals. We shouldn't expect things to flow smoothly because they'll be a lot of trials to get things fixed.

However, I do like your approach usage of the gym. And meeting someone new will surely do the magic.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@new.things(1/10) tipped @aussieninja

If we want to be successful in K, then we have to work hard day and night on top of everything, we have to exercise for our health and to achieve all our goals. Will be able to do and will be able to achieve all these things by working hard

Sharing on Twitter.