New week and lots that can be learnt

in #thinking6 years ago

So the new week has started after we spent the weekend packing as we will be moving on to a new chapter in life. One of my future colleagues is a young guy of twenty eight years old. We've been working on the same property for some time now and I enjoy chatting to him. He is well traveled and well educated, I am neither.

The young man has some very interesting terminology or comparisons. This young man is a procurement manager and works for the same person I am about to step into employment for, the new boss is a all solutions no problems kind of guy so my young friend is under pressure often, but copes like a champ. I must say that I haven't often seen people that can be so direct without being overly rude or tactless.

Two weeks ago I walked into the guy's office just to hear him calmly say to one of his suppliers that whatever they were discussing was like having sex with one's sister, possible but not quite the right thing to do and today I walked in on him saying to someone to calm down as the fact that there was a mild issue with their delivery was not the same as being told that your is dying of an incurable disease so hysteria is uncalled for.

I'm applying this to my own life at the moment without having told my teacher that he had contributed meaningfully, it's not as bad as I allow it to feel as I am in good health and the sun will shine tomorrow. How much will we learn this week?

That depends on how much we allow ourselves to learn. It depends on how humble we are prepared to be. Never think you know everything and never close yourselves up to learning from everyone around you. I have to also keep asking questions about how the more tech part of this platform works from my community friends as I am not that tech savvy.

Thinking about all this learning it upsets me that there is so much false info out there. Makes me think that the people who spread false info really grossly disrespect those who financially support their work.

Well, enough for now. Good night or morning

Improvise Adapt & Overcome

Sort:  

I must try the incurable cancer one in my job 😂

That depends on how much we allow ourselves to learn.

That can be the hard part for me. If I have a general idea how something functions, with specifics here and there, I tend to believe that the parts I "know" are accurate. If they are not, then learning new parts to the puzzle can be hard since they do not fit in my mental picture.

Question everything, including basic assumptions. Shift your viewpoint and look at new problems from a different perspective. Especially listen to what others say and for what they do not say. Often, the unsaid parts contain the secret keys.