Checking Out the Bean Tee Pee and the Three Sisters Who Live There

in #thl7 years ago

I had posted the other day about teaching my daughter about pollination and had posted some pictures of our garden. @stortebeker had made mention of planting the three sisters together and I wanted to circle back to that. For those who may not know he @stortebecker is referring to planting Beans, Corn and Squash together. My grandparents taught me this was done to support the three crops. The beans provided nutrients to the other crops (as they are nitrogen fixing plants), the corn provides a structure for the beans to climb (in the case of pole beans) and the squash provided ground cover against weeds. Seems like sound logic to me and is a practice I still use today in my garden. - or try to as space and time permit.
this year we planted the three sisters - just not together necessarily. In our hills we have just corn and squash. In our rows we have corn and beans. BUT - in our Bean Tee Pee we have all three. check out this little video clip of our Been Tee Pee! this is going to be so rad once it fills in. It will provide a neat place for the kids to hang out plus hopefully provide us with some much needed veggies. I have a hankering to do some canning this year!
My only challenge is going to be figuring out how to suspend some more strigns from the top of the tee pee to the cattle panel. I am not what you call tall at a whopping 5 feet 3 inches tall. But, if nothing else I am resourceful and will figure something out.
Happy Homesteading