Just Another Glorious Weekend on the Homestead

in #thl7 years ago

For me homesteading is a way to calm my high-strung self out! I am married to a career military man, I work a full time corporate job and raise our two daughters. Some might think I am crazy for wanting to add another stressor in my life like homesteading. Gardening can be a time consuming task, especially when you are starting out and animal husbandry adds another opportunity for stress (I don't have farm animals yet - that is next weekends project). For me, homesteading is my calm. I take such pleasure in going to the garden and watching it grow and I can only imagine I will gain the same sense of satisfaction from animal husbandry too.
For some this weekends antics might have been the last straw - but for me it was just another glorious weekend on the homestead! so glorious we started it off with a broken lawn mower belt. That consequently is not fixed yet. The local JD dealership is coming to pick it up on Tuesday to complete the repair as my husband and I could not.
mower down.jpg
we tried to put the new belt on ourselves - not a very complicated task...but we were unable to get the very last bolt off the pulley way in the backety back. It sucks that we have to pay for such an easy repair. However, the ol' girl could use some TLC and a little tune up. I think the previous owners were a little rough on the old gal. mowerbelt.jpg
so since we could not spend the better part of our Saturday morning mowing I set about puttering in my garden and chatting with some family. I think my husband and the girls went back to bed to be honest.
This weekend I was able to harvest a little from our very young garden. Keeping in mind we moved to our new property mid June and here I am already harvesting some summer squash that we started from seed.
summer squash harvest.jpg
I even got a little eggplant and a few tomatoes. I think I am going to try fermenting the summer squash. I am not a huge fan of it cooked - so maybe a little kimchi style action will make it a little more palatable. :)

The highlight of the weekend was building a chicken coop with my youngest daughter. She really has taken to being my little farmer girl. she is always willing to help in the garden and has even said it will be her chore to make sure the chickens have clean food and water each day.
The two of us accomplished this with out the help of my husband too. we got out our power tools and made quick work of it.
Granted it is small - definitely something we are going to expand upon in terms of space for more than 2-4 chickens. But it is a step in the right direction. Next weekend we will be going to the local swap sale here in town to check out the chickie chicks - who knows maybe they will even have a goat too ;)
Amber coop.jpg

Happy homesteading my friends. Big or small - it all matters :)

Sort:  

Congratulations @bthompson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!