You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thoughts about comments in posts

in #thoughts6 years ago

To be honest, when I first joined, comments were everything... everyone seemed really engaged and positive, and I made so much more with my comments than I ever could with my posts... I would randomly get really big upvotes on comments that weren't even my best comments, just some random whale agreed with me...

People weren't just getting comments, but entire conversations were unraveling that were even more interesting than the posts themselves. Personally, I feel that all disappeared once people started investing their SP in Smartsteem, MinnowBooster, Bitbots and Dapps for tokens… along with autovoting for curation rewards. In my eyes voting has slid from engaging and rewarding to an investment...

Honestly, it feels like people barely read the comments of their posts let alone upvote people for the time they've spent on those comments... they're too busy pumping out content for their autovotes.

Sort:  

Interesting point @aussieninja

"Personally, I feel that all disappeared once people started investing their SP in Smartsteem, MinnowBooster, Bitbots and Dapps for tokens… along with autovoting for curation rewards. In my eyes voting has slid from engaging and rewarding to an investment..."

This is a two sided problem:

  1. ROI is the dumbest thing to look for on a social media platform. It's the number of genuine people you have in your network who are willing to engage and spread your content that matters. Look at which accounts have the most value in YouTube or Twitter. It's all about influence. To be honest, if the whales are busy selling votes, it makes it much easier for smaller accounts to pick up followers, so I am not complaining. When this platform grows, we shall see if I am right.

  2. Vote buyers are shooting themselves in the foot. They are essentially paying for votes that are due to them and rewarding users who have no interest in their content. Again, I may be wrong, but it will be interesting to see how this plays out.

I am not saying these tools have no place here on the platform, but i do think it's gone a bit too far.

@kabir88

Personally, I feel that all disappeared once people started investing their SP in Smartsteem, MinnowBooster, Bitbots and Dapps for tokens…

This is sad but true, combine it with the bear market and not many are around to give a shit about posts let alone comments.

it feels like people barely read the comments of their posts let alone upvote people for the time they've spent on those comments...

I hate when I see that, authors posting their regular shit, getting autovotes, bid bots or votetrades and not coming back til their next post. It's so disrespectful to ignore your comments especially on a unique platform that lets you reward your readers for their time. Pff.

Yeah, I totally agree.... I can't help but think those people that haven't bothered to engage or reply will be totally lost when their autovoters move onto whatever more-profitable tasty businesses rock up with SMTs... while those loved by their readers will still have friends to play with.

That honestly never occurred to me... but you're right, I can't think of any other platform that rewards a person's readers... apart from a worthless visual tick, thumbs up, etc.

I would randomly get really big upvotes on comments that weren't even my best comments, just some random whale agreed with me
Yeah I second this one - I am lucky to get 5 cents for a well thought out comment these days. It really isnt encouraging to write well thought out comments these days.

Not only that but as you said people I think are commenting and engaging less as they are busy with pumping out their own content. Sad really. I am lucky to get a handful of genuine comments from real people

Agree with this. Most of us are here for money, and vote selling made it easy.

Posted using Partiko Android

exactly! and in fact, perhaps all are actually here for money - just some are more HYIP-minded (and thus employ whatever means possible and available as bots, etc) and others are less. thus it makes people "Content Indifferent", as some rightly call it.

so, regarding the main questions asked in this post:

what do you think about comment engagement on the platform and do you think it being a blockchain is making people too careful about what they write? Would it be different if it wasn't on a blockchain?

what I think is, most (or rather all) people are first of all focused on earning, Content is secondary in best case. then a lot (or majority?) of people focused only on making money - thus Content is not even in their attention / focus at all: why bother, if it is not necessary condition to be able to earn more, but rather actually distracts and takes away time which can be used to earn more? :D
(or do some other things, like "offline" / in real life - and leave the "curation" etc. to bots)
especially since System is made in such a way that it kind of "encourages" that (if not almost forces)
so, it doesn't actually matter: whether it is on blockchain or .... on some similar HYIP-like based platform where people mainly focused on money making.
and I doubt it very much or perhaps even rather sure that most do not worry or fear of anything - they simply don't give a damn. LOL

So, that's my brief answer to these questions: "business model" or "ecosystem" is made in such a way that it attracts people with HYIP mentality and / or enthuses them to be more minded so.
(here is in a bit more details)

Facts! too much emphasis on rewards now.