You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 1982: Year of the crossbow - A story from my youth

in #thoughts4 years ago

If we'd know each other way back when (though from the sounds you're a bit older than me and I'm maintaining as peer rather than as a parent) I woulda whooped your arse crossbow notwithstanding XD

I also would have totally joined in your shenanigans (sans shooting birds unless you were also going to pluck and cook and eat it) because bows and crossbows are cool and you would have been the coolest person ever for making one XP

I didn't exactly get smacked much (the instances I remember I can count on one hand) but I didn't come out of it as well as you XD

Sort:  

You'd be welcome in my crossbow shenanigans anytime. I'm probably older than you (49) but that's ok right? Shooting that bird took me by surprise. I can still remember how I felt. Not good. I just didn't think I'd hit it and when I did...Well, the rest is history.

Give me a wuppin' huh? I deserved it and would have taken the punishment. This was far from the dumbest thing I did. In fact building that crossbow was kind of ingenious really, it was shooting the bird that was dumb...Or getting caught possibly.

I've been working on making a bow for a while actually lately. Not said anything about it on the blockchain yet in case it doesn't work. Had some failures. We'll see how it goes. Having trouble getting the wood to work as it should. It's not like yew trees grow around here much after all.

Hope you're well. We're about to sit down to a pizza and watch the Downton Abbey movie on Foxtel. Hope you have a good Saturdizzle planned. 🙂

I was never one to mind age differences (I noticed that some time after what people look like XD). Other people thought I was weird though XD

Would love to see how the bow is going if you ever feel like sharing it :)

I go ok for an old-boy...Could be worse.

Yeah, the bow...It's a work in progress. Been experimenting with some stuff, woods mainly, and have made a couple that broke and one that worked, but had no giddy up. Getting hit with it would be like getting flicked in the dick with a tea towel...Momentary pain...I'm going to monumental pain. :)

I may post about it sometime I guess. We'll see. I like to keep some stuff off the blockchain, no one needs to know everything about me.

LoL XD

Only if you feel like it. You probably post less stuff than most people throw at Facebook. You'll know it's too much when you're posting photos of your lunch every day instead of just occasionally to describe a day out XD

Haha...Yeah I know right? Worse still...Could be my boobs! Lol.

Apparently sex sells so maybe you'd do better?! O_O

Quite possibly...Look out for a boob-shot on my next post.