1982: Year of the crossbow - A story from my youth

in #thoughts4 years ago

Nothing much happened in 1982. People did stuff, some didn't and other things happened that, whilst possibly remarkable at the time, no one cares about now. But it was a momentous year in one small town north of Adelaide, South Australia...

Here's the story.


The crossbow bolt flew through the air, not on a totally straight trajectory, but true-enough to find its mark..."Thunk!" The innocent victim fell to the ground flailing in pain on the way down and, once on the ground, rolling about slightly until it finally it stopped. Dead.

I stood in horror staring at the dead thing. It was the first thing I'd killed larger than a spider or ant and I felt sick. The crossbow went limp in my hands as my arms dropped to my side and I just stood, mutely staring at my crossbow bolt sticking up out of the dead magpie.

From out of nowhere I could hear a banging, a persistent rhythmic drumming, and pulling my eyes away from the dead bird I turned to find its source...Oh no...Mum banging on the window of the kitchen to get my attention. This was not going to go well at all.


A few days early the twelve year old me had decided I just had to have a crossbow.

I had no need for it. I was not going to join the Balestrieri genovesi, the famous mercenary-force of crossbowmen who served Genoa and as paid-fighters in conflicts through the Middle Ages.

I wasn't even going to assassinate my father in a Tyrion Lanister-Game of Thrones power-play and neither was I Daryl from The Walking Dead. No, I was a pretty typical twelve-year-old country boy just making up my own fun - Fun which I had decided would come by way of a crossbow.

Back to the story.


I gathered the wood over the space of a couple days making sure that the pieces were going to work, the grains ran the right direction and there was no knots in the timber - There'd be some serious forced involved when firing I figured, although though probably not as much as I hoped.

Fortunately my grandfather was an expert carpenter and wood carving master so there was timber and tools all over the place. [He lived with us at the homestead]. Sneaking it would be the hard part, but my ninja-skills came in useful.

I toiled for a couple days creating [my own version of] dovetailed joints to connect the main stock section to the transverse bow section making sure there was enough strength to it. I had failures and had to adapt and change my design, but after a couple days worked it out in a way my expert twelve-year-old eye liked.


This process happened over a couple days and had to be done in secret or I would get a butt kicking...So, in secret it was. I employed every secret-squirrel-technique I had. It was made easier for the fact that as kids we'd often disappear on our property somewhere for the whole day playing, with mum and dad understanding we were somewhere. Different times I guess.

Back to the story.


We all know that a cross bow is simply a stock of wood [in ye olden dayes] and a transverse-mounted bow on the front with a sear to hold the string and a trigger to fire the bolt. Everyone knows that right? src

The problem was that at twelve the technology to make the sear and trigger work was above my intelligence and technical ability so I had to improvise. Which I did, ending up with no trigger and a sling-shot-style firing process - Crude, but it worked. Come on, I was twelve. Cut me some slack.

My test-firings were successful and, if I had a brain in my noggin at the time, I would have realised that I'd created a powerful weapon capable of killing someone...But I didn't at the time. I just thought it was fucking cool! It certainly wasn't as powerful as a crossbow I might buy today for instance, but it had some punch and was a dangerous bit of kit...In a twelve-year-olds hands.

I started with shooting bolts at tree trunks. [A bolt is what the thing a crossbow fires is called.] It was reasonably accurate with my shots hitting from what I would now say was about 20 meters on a tree trunk about 30 centimetres wide. This meant that at 20 metres it would hit a person somewhere in their chest, or face, leg or arm, fairly indiscriminately depending on where the semi-accurate bolt flew...All in the hands of a twelve-year-old.

It wasn't what I would call accurate but I was enthused by my initial field-testing and over a period of days found smaller targets to practice on until I become quite proficient.


It was during one of these practice sessions a few days later when I spied a live target and, in all my twelve-year-old wisdom felt that the right thing to do would be to shoot it. [I know, I know...Shame on me.] Quite obviously I wasn't smart enough to realise it was the wrong thing to do...Or to make sure mum wasn't watching. Had I been, well maybe things would have been different.

Back to the story.


Down went the hapless bird and for a moment I celebrated how good a shot it was...Then reality bit, hard, and I realised I'd just killed it. I don't know why I thought it wouldn't die before I fired...I guess in my defence I didn't expect to hit a bird way up in a tree in the first place. Now I'd been caught by mum and would have to face whatever was coming...

I stood in place, because mum motioned that I should do so and sure enough, a minute later out trooped mum and dad to rain on my parade crossbow-parade.

Dad grabbed the crossbow and mum grabbed me...I stood there trying to look innocent and well, not achieving it. I copped a smack to the noggin right then, and several more on the way to my room. [Not punches, just light-handed smacks which were punctuating the lecture I was getting.] This was back in the good-old-days when a parent could give their kids a smack.

I was locked in the dungeon my room and left for a couple hours to, "think on what I did". This was curious to me at the time as I had thought my punishment would be much more severe.

My true punishment was handed down later that night after a long lecture about what I had done wrong. I can't be certain but I think that might have been the first time I heard my mum's rule:

  • No guns or weapons
  • No tattoos
  • No motorbikes

Sorry mum, I had one of the three by the age of 20 (guns) and the other two at 30.

My crossbow was broken up, by my grandad, and destroyed and I was made to give the magpie a proper burial with words and all. I actually made a grave marker for it too. I was very regretful...But couldn't see why I couldn't keep the crossbow. I had privileges removed, chores loaded on top of existing ones and was placed under closer supervision for a time. It relaxed eventually though, and my creative ways came out again. And again. And again.


It wasn't until years later that I found out how impressed my grandfather actually was with the way I'd crafted that weapon; My parents too actually. Of course, they never condoned my actions and looking back now I wouldn't if I was a parent either. I'd administer many smacks.

My youth was spent doing stupid things like this and getting disciplined for it with smacks, denial of things like dinner, my Lego or my pushbike plus grounding which probably hurt the most. I also had to work harder. I deserved it though and am better for it; Meaning I understand responsibility, logic, ownership and the fact that few actions come without reactions.

I wasn't a bad kid I think. I was smart, played multiple musical instruments, read widely, played several sports, had manners and courtesy, patience and was generous and reasonably good-natured...I was actually a funny little kid too...Quick with a joke, or quip and easy to smile or so I'm told...But yes, I had my moments and shooting that bird wasn't my finest.

As a childless couple my wife and I will never get to discipline a child but if I did I think I'd do it in the same way my parents did...None of my punishments caused any real harm to me and I think I turned out ok. I'd also want my child to be as inquisitive and inventive as I was. As curious about things, all things.

I grew up ok I think. I have respect for life and when I take it there's no pleasure involved, it's just me doing a job. I don't use a crossbow these days but...I still want to build on...


Tomorrow isn't promised - Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default
Discord: galenkp#9209 🇦🇺

Sort:  

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 22000 replies. Your next target is to reach 22500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Good story @galenkp, your parents sounded like they were good at their job. A smack to the noggin was certainly in order. But I have to give you kudos for making that crossbow. Pretty impressive for a twelve year old.
It's funny, I came from a family where all the males hunted, mostly for deer, always for the food. Guns and crossbows were part of the deal in our clan. Yet, I hate guns, don't want one, but with all the stuff that is going on in this world, I may end up with a nice shot gun,one that won't miss if you mess with me.🤷‍♀️🙄

Yeah, I was an idiot at times...Deserved, and received, many a noggin-smack-attitude-readjustment in my day.

My mum was dead against guns and weapons of any sort and dad lived through the Japanese occupation of Malaya so saw a lot of violence first hand.

Me? Well, sure guns can be dangerous, but only when in a humans hands so...I guess it comes down to the individual. I have taught Faith (my wife) how to load, fire and make safe every single firearm I have and she can do it with ease and accuracy. I think it's important.

Thanks for your comment and reading my story...I have far worse than that...I was an adventurous youth. A pretty good one though I think in reality.

Yeah, I really think at some point we will have a few firearms also. We live in a pretty secluded area and I am not fond of being there alone, so at some point I am may give into them.

A shotgun, whilst fairly brutal on the user if fired enough times, can be useful. Throw some SG's in there and some solids, and you're good to go...But you know that already. I don't get into the gun debate as I'm a gun owner and no one's going to be able to convince me otherwise, however I firmly believe that in certain circumstances they are important to have. Remote or secluded areas are one such example.

Thank goodness for the rest of us you're parent brought you into line🤣

Haha...I think you might be right.

If we'd know each other way back when (though from the sounds you're a bit older than me and I'm maintaining as peer rather than as a parent) I woulda whooped your arse crossbow notwithstanding XD

I also would have totally joined in your shenanigans (sans shooting birds unless you were also going to pluck and cook and eat it) because bows and crossbows are cool and you would have been the coolest person ever for making one XP

I didn't exactly get smacked much (the instances I remember I can count on one hand) but I didn't come out of it as well as you XD

You'd be welcome in my crossbow shenanigans anytime. I'm probably older than you (49) but that's ok right? Shooting that bird took me by surprise. I can still remember how I felt. Not good. I just didn't think I'd hit it and when I did...Well, the rest is history.

Give me a wuppin' huh? I deserved it and would have taken the punishment. This was far from the dumbest thing I did. In fact building that crossbow was kind of ingenious really, it was shooting the bird that was dumb...Or getting caught possibly.

I've been working on making a bow for a while actually lately. Not said anything about it on the blockchain yet in case it doesn't work. Had some failures. We'll see how it goes. Having trouble getting the wood to work as it should. It's not like yew trees grow around here much after all.

Hope you're well. We're about to sit down to a pizza and watch the Downton Abbey movie on Foxtel. Hope you have a good Saturdizzle planned. 🙂

I was never one to mind age differences (I noticed that some time after what people look like XD). Other people thought I was weird though XD

Would love to see how the bow is going if you ever feel like sharing it :)

I go ok for an old-boy...Could be worse.

Yeah, the bow...It's a work in progress. Been experimenting with some stuff, woods mainly, and have made a couple that broke and one that worked, but had no giddy up. Getting hit with it would be like getting flicked in the dick with a tea towel...Momentary pain...I'm going to monumental pain. :)

I may post about it sometime I guess. We'll see. I like to keep some stuff off the blockchain, no one needs to know everything about me.

LoL XD

Only if you feel like it. You probably post less stuff than most people throw at Facebook. You'll know it's too much when you're posting photos of your lunch every day instead of just occasionally to describe a day out XD

Haha...Yeah I know right? Worse still...Could be my boobs! Lol.

Apparently sex sells so maybe you'd do better?! O_O

Do you have bodark wood there? I'll make a great bow if you can find some. The English long bow is laminated with several kinds of wood.

Enjoyed the story! We made long bows from Spirea bushes when I was a kid.

Sounds like you did a good job on jointery, build another....

:)>

It was a bit of a triumph of engineering and design I have to say...Especially for a 12 year old. I had every tool at my disposal though, and a fair amount of grounding from a grandfather who was an expert.

I've been playing around with making bows actually. I can't seem to get the right wood although after a few failures I've kind of let it lapse. I should get back into it. I have a lot of documentation (digitally) about all things prepping, survival, homesteading etc. and as part of it is a very in-depth instruction on bow-making and arrow-making. I've been using that. I'd like to get a little more active with it but can't really afford the time and to take on another hobby in a full on manner. (I'd need tools etc.) I will one day though as other hobbies run their course or interest in them wanes.

Thanks for reading. It was fun to write and remember it all...I had an interesting childhood. :)

Edit: I don't think we have bodark wood. The English longbow was yew though right?

Look for bowdark, it is the best for bows.

The long bow was three different woods, but I think yew was one of them.

Enjoyed the story for sure! Sorry you got caught....

:)>

Ok, I'll take a look. There must be some way to get what I need.

Edit: Getting caught sucked, but I took the punishment like a man.

Want me to look for seeds? Never tried looking for them before, but it is common here. Indians here made their bows from it.

Not much choice, but I think they should have let you keep it...with Restrictions of course. My dad would have had a sat down with me, and discussed the design; with possible improvements for better function.

He always treated my designs as important. He shredded them, but it always improved them; and me....

:)>

Seeds won't make it through customs, especially if it's a tree we don't have here. I'll see what I can find.

The thing with my parents is that they didn't like guns or weapons. My mum was so afraid of them. My dad went through the Japanese occupation of Malaya and saw many horrific and violent things so it makes sense he had an aversion. I guess if it was me as the parent (back then) I would have done the sit down as you mention then divert the lads attention and focus to designing and creating other things that may seem more relevant. (If it was me as the parent now...I'd be making the bow with him! Lol.

I understand the aversion, bad things happened there!

My Mother was opposed, nut my Dad didn't listen too much. I have a 7.7mm Arisaka that was surrendered to him in WWII. The last time it was fired, it was fired at a GI on Iea shima. It is the only firearm I own that I haven't fired.

My wife was opposed, but I got both kids their own single shot bolt action when they were seven, that they kept in their room!

I really learned from the design sit downs. Learned how to think, and I have several dozen patents from that thinking method. It has been a life changer....

I like the idea of working with them! That is the Best way to really Learn.

We'll have to see how small the seeds are....

:)>

Haha! Great story sir galenkp! Oh yeah, a crossbow that you would build today would be awesome! You could do posts as you build it so we could follow along.

I'd like to but would need a bit of gear and at this stage can't really warrant the additional money to start up a new hobby (woodworking tools etc. I mean). I think I will one day as it's also something my wife is interested in. We just don't have the luxury of time, or money, to take anything else on right now. Glad you liked the story...I enjoy writing those.

Wow sir galenkp your wife is interested too! That's really cool. I know you don't like youtube except for that one day addiction thing you went through lol...but do have you seen that German guy that has The Slingshot Channel?

Faith is interested in all sorts of things however at the moment we don't have the luxury of time and funds to engage in all of them all. We will do hobbies together in the future though, as we do now. I've heard about that YouTube guy, one of my mates told me about it. For me having a hobby and making something practical seems the way to go and so it's what I'll do. Will have a look for slingshot guy.

Yeah you could be the slingshot guy of steemit! lol..I've thought of that and I might get into it at some point down the line.

Man, I remember that feeling. It's true, you really don't expect to hit that first kill. You prepare for it, the shot that is, and you find the prey, you release or fire the projectile, but NEVER does it cross your mind that you are going to make contact. You watch as the projectile approaches - this happens in impossibly slow motion. Then, you see the feathers fly or what have you. The death scramble and roll. The choking and spitting. Only then, do you realize that you hadn't thought of what might happen if you did hit your mark.

Incredible! I think I experienced this more than once as a kid. I was thrilled to hunt something (and was asked to by the farmers around) but many of the initial kills struck me by surprise. I suppose that's because I had some desire to make the most challenging shots possible. I guess I just didn't feel right blasting them without giving them a real chance of surviving.

If they were going to die by my hand... It had to be an epic shot... One worth dying for, and worth remembering...

It all went in slow motion, although the walloping I got didn't! Lol.

Hahaha! I suppose not! Those are the moments when you wait for it, and it always comes right when you aren't expecting it - just when you're playing with the idea that you're in the clear, here comes another one!

I have super-human butt cheeks developed through many years of wooden-spoon attitude-adjustments. Lol.

Lmao! MAN OF STEEL!