You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 1982: Year of the crossbow - A story from my youth

in #thoughts4 years ago

Up to that point, I didn't know he had been wounded. He taught my Mom and Aunt to weld submarines, before he joined up.

The car is a 1967 dodge dart with a 318 V8.

dart 4.jpg

dart 2.jpg

Philip is rebuilding a 1973 Mercedes 280SE.

Resized_20191017_191624.jpg

He got if running about a month ago.

:)>

Sort:  

Sounds like there's a lot of history in your family.

Dodge Dart? Cool, I had a similar car. (1970 Valiant 770 coupe with the 318 Fireball engine) damn I miss that car.

There is some, LOL. My wife's Dad told my he didn't qualify for hazard pay on the B29s, because you have to be shor down three times for the extra pay grade. He was only shot down twice, so it wasn't 'hazardous' enough for the extra money....

He got to fly on Fifi, when she came to Tulsa; to coach her flight crew!

My Dad designed, built, and donated the blackout stove to the military. They still use it.

I had a 1964 Valiant that I rebuilt the motor in, when I went to school. I drove it for years....

That is the same engine, they were solid! Her first car was a 1960 Chevy Impala that we rebuilt.

My Son just bought a 2010 Dodge Charger police interceptor, that needs a valve job. He us excited because it has a blower, and will crank 360 HP! But the Mercedea is his Baby, and gets a lot of love....

♡♡♡♡

Lol, on the hazard pay thing...These days one gets it for standing at a road-side work-site with a stop/slow sign. Laughable really. Still, makes for a good story huh? "Oh yeah, I got shot down out of my B29 a couple times...Move along, nothing to see here." Tough and brave bastards.

I saw a special on Fifi only last year...Must have been amazing for him to get a flight...Brought back memories, good and bad, I'm sure. Pretty cool about the blackout stove too! Damn, so cool really! Do you have one the original ones?

I loved my Valiant, no digital images though, it was before digital cameras. I will see if I can dig up some photos and snap a pic of some. The 318 is a cool engine, smooth, a little bit punchy and it sounded good. I loved it.

My brother has a 1957 Plymouth Fury and a 67 Dodge Coronet. Both are pretty special but he built the Fury up from nothing...It's a show-winner in Europe. Here's a few pics of the Coronet. I don't have any good ones of the Fury.

IMG-20191018-WA0006.jpeg

IMG-20191018-WA0002.jpeg

IMG-20191018-WA0005.jpeg

I don't mind a classic car here and there. Doesn't matter what it is, I find something to like...Even if it's just the effort that went into it.

He had his flight manual, and went to visit Fifi. Apparently the flight manuals had been classified and then destroyed, so they had never seen one. So his flight manual is still flying on Fifi, and I bet a copy is on Doc now.

They put him in the flight engineers seat, and had him fly the bird, and filmed him while he did so. He showed them what a bunch of the controls they were unsure of actually did. Showed them how to lean out the engines, and make them run cooler. They had as much fun as he did, and every time Fifi was in Tulsa they sent him a pass.

She sold the Impala for school money. This one will take Years to finish, but it has great bones!

My project car is an 1983 944 that needs a valve job. When she ran she ran FAST, LOL!

These are nice pictures of a beautiful car! He did a great job restoring her.

:)>

What a cool experience for your dad! I think also a cool thing to have in the family history book. Nice!

You think the Coronet is good...The Fury is off the planet! It's a custom build though, not a resto. I'll see if I can dig up some pictures.

The old 944 huh? I will always recall seeing one in that movie Risky Business when Tom Cruise puts it in the lake after being chased by Guido the killer pimp. The repair guy says, "so, who's the U-Boat Captain." Gold.

Nice looking vehicle. Those Germans knew how to do it huh?

It has guts too, my wife had a car wreak; and I cranked it up to 160MPH to get back to her! That car Loved it....

They do know what to do to make a tough little car! For a U-Boat, that is. I totalled one got hit from behind) but it kept me alive, by letting me retain control after the hit.

I look forward to Fury pictures! I don't have any of my Valiant.

It was hard to get them to talk about WWII, so I felt honored when they did open up! Her Dad sold me my first Ham Radio when I was 12.

:)>

Wow! So, you knew your wife when you were only a young lad? I was 17.5 when I met mine but you must have known yours way earlier than that. I know you've been together for a long time but didn't know you know her from when you were a kid!