See My Thrift Store Finds From Thursday & Friday (10x Revenue On My Costs)

in #thrifting6 years ago (edited)

FullSizeRender (1).jpg

Sealed New Sony Microcassette Recorder
  • Bought for $6.52.
  • Easy sale for ~$135 within 3 weeks.
  • These are one of my favorite types of finds. It's the ideal pick.
  • I've sold similar new models for $200-$250. This was a mid-range model.
Excalibur Handheld Talking Chess Game
  • Bought for $5.44.
  • Rarer model will sell for ~$65 within a month.
  • Speaks in foreign languages.
Head Intelligence Tennis Racquet
  • Bought for $9.79.
  • Will sell for $75+ within 2-3 months.
  • A hard to find discontinued mode.
  • Has some chips on the frame or else it'd go for more.
  • Head intelligence racquets can go for up to $200 used for the right model.
NuFace Trinity Facial Rejuvenation System
  • Bought for $7.62
  • Tested it in the store, but realized at home that the battery doesn't hold a charge.
  • The cradle and power adapter will still sell for ~$40 within 1-2 months.
  • I'll sell the main device for $15-$20 for parts. (Update: sold the next day)
  • Oops, but still in the green.
New Poolguard Door Alarm
  • Bought for $8.70.
  • Will sell for ~$60 within a few months.
  • It's a seasonal product, but they sell occasionally and it takes up little shelf space to wait.
Sealed New Electricity Usage Monitor
  • Bought for $5.43
  • Will sell for $22 in a few days.
  • Small profit, but my strategy is for the ~$12 to offset my public transportation.
New Italian Platinum Silicone Ice Cube/Chocolate Molds
  • Got for $2.17 each.
  • Will sell for $30 each, but it'll take a while to move them.
  • A popular brand in Italy and a niche item in the US.
  • I was going to buy about 20 new cake decoration molds from the same store at the same price, but decided to take these as a test balloon. They were a good product, but would've taken forever to sell.

I didn't thrift a lot, but I was effective in the time I went.

Total spent: $50.
Total revenue safely expected: $500+ before shipping and fees.

I found a lot more hunting the curbs for free recycling, which far exceeds this amount. Stay tuned for that post soon.

I'm going out to hunt the curbs on a Friday night now... Not the coolest thing, but it's usually the second best night to go. Mondays are almost always the best. Free money while getting a good walk in is always worth it!

@steemmatt

Sort:  

ow dang!
you got a good luck with that huh! :D

Thanks for checking out my post and all of your nice comments.

sure man not a problem!
I do like your posts they make sense :)

I never understand why people buy those audio recorders. I see people buy those occasionally in my school departments or want to buy them and I'm like you do know you have an iphone right in your hand?

Some people are old school and also use the tapes in the transcription machines. They're probably thinking why we need our fancy iPhones in our hands in the opposite way. Others may simply be collectors or want to replace a broken unit they're attached to.

The people that buy these at my office own iphones and use them. So they weren't old school just not thinking straight. The software that they were using takes mp3 files so it's not like they needed a tape to do the transcription.

Hipsters man, hipsters

With all the people out there making cakes these days, I'd think those chocolate molds would be a good thing to sell. Looks like a great haul. I really miss quality thrift stores!! ;) Enjoy your posts like this.