MY YOUTH CORP EXPERIENCE…showing cultural diversity...(FUN TIME WITH @GEE1 #throwbackthursday series)

Hello fellow #throwback addicts. It all about FUN TIME WITH @GEE1 #throwbackthursday series and I am here again this Thursday to drop another throwback picture for you all to see. My #throwback for this Thursday will be similar to the one done by @gee. Is going to take us way back to the time I was serving in Calabar, Cross River State as Youth Corp member in the years 2006. But before that…

Like I will always say concerning this series from @gee1, it is an avenue for me to say THANK YOU TO LORD FOR THE JOURNEY SO FAR. Doing a #throwback is the same thing as saying I am grateful because am not a great fool, only a great fool will not be grateful. Grateful to @gee1 once again for coming up with this laudable and interesting concept for some weeks now. Keep shinning girl.

So here is my entry today;

MY YOUTH CORP EXPERIENCE…… showing cultural diversity.


IMG_20180517_170639.jpg
CULTURAL NIGHT AT NYSC CAMP, OBUBRA in August, 2006

It was during the platoons cultural dance competition on camp, and it was also an opportunity for me to be picked among those that will form NYSC cultural troupe. Since a lot of Youth Corp members wanted to be posted to the State capital, we have been told by a friend that one the easiest way to achieve that goal was to perform very well at the cultural night competition because the Director in charge of the State troupe will be coming around to pick the good ones to join the other batch that came before us at the State Capital.
So I was so tensed that day because I wanted to make sure that I put all my best so that I would be picked. Luckily for me I was picked, and I later became the Artistic director for that set. It was such a wonderful experience for me.

IMG_20180517_170500.jpg
Before one of our performance @ the State Cultural Center, Calabar

I really enjoined every bit of my stay in Calabar, and I will always cherish that moment for as long as I live. I also remember I was the only Youth Corp member that can play the talking drum (called GANGAN) in the whole of Cross River as at that time. So, you will always see me at so many Yoruba speaking Churches especially RCCG and other functions. I really made a lot of friends during this period.

IMG_20180517_170619.jpg
During Yoruba Day Festival (I am the guy from the right)

I remember playing at the Yoruba day festival that year and it was such a fun doing it. I became so popular to a very good extent. Sometimes, people that I don’t know will just greets me along the way, and I will begin to wonder where I actually knew them from. Calabar is a place I would love to visit again and if possible live there. So, that is the story behind my #throwback pictures. I hope you love it?

If you want to be a part of this series, then use this click here. We will like to hear your own story.

I want to say a big thank you to @gee1 for making this possible through this series and if you like my throwback story, don’t forget to drop your comments and resteem as well.

Thanks for taking out time to visit my blog page, I hope to drop another epic throwback picture next Thursday. Till then, have a wonderful week……

@optimistdehinde logo.png

@optimistdehinde love you all.

Sort:  

My gan-gan playing genius friend. Really nice throwback!

Thank you dear. My ever green fan since 2002. Waoh! such an honor for me. Keep shinning dearie.

Yes ooo! Thanks love.

Congratulations @optimistdehinde! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!