Herbs For Your Pets.

in #till7 years ago

My K9 (Gustav) constantly dig up my garden in search for roots and now finally I know why, he is looking of a natural remedy for whatever is bothering him. Wish I learned this years ago as I always thought he is just a menace to have, getting very annoyed with him every time I discover a new hole where there once used to be the most beautiful plant. I tried everything, water bottles, his own dung and even twigs with thorns on to stop this his digging sprees but at last, nothing seemed to work. The saying “Where there is a will, there will always be a way” was true to him.

20170621_131304.jpg

While waiting at the doctor’s rooms, I came across this very helpful article on herbs for your pets by the herb fundi, Jane Griffiths from South Africa. She has a great wealth of knowledge on how to grow and use about 80 different herbs. This blog has a reference guide to healing plants and recipes for cooking, healing, cleaning, pet care and feeling good.

http://www.janesdeliciousgarden.com/the_books/about_the_books

Our constantly grazing pets are in need of plants and grass to settle their stomachs and to heal themselves. We as loving owners can assist them by adding a home-grown medicine chest in our garden for our pets.


Image Credit

Image Credit

Turmeric:

Is a beautiful herb for your garden as it has a lovely flower and strappy green leaves. It is easy to grow if you have proper fertile soil and water it regularly, especially during the summer season. You can buy some roots and plant them 20-25cm apart in wet soil, 6-7 cm deep. Turmeric is part of the ginger family and known for fighting diseases and is an anti-inflammatory and gives arthritic relief mixed in with other herbs. Not only is this plant ideal for you but also for your K9 chomping away on its roots.


Image Credit

Image Credit

Catnip:

Your purring friend will find this herb irresistible as it contains Nepetalactone which affects about 30% of cat’s pheromone receptors senses. Serves as an excellent insect repelling herb and it is part of the mint family. Humans can make a warm minty tea which will help with sleep and relieve from cold symptoms. This herb is easy to grow, has a beautiful purple or white flower, tolerant of drought and enjoys some shade. It is a fast-growing plant and needs to be cut back regularly.


Image Credit

Image Credit

African Wormwood:

It is one of our oldest indigenous medicinal plant with anti-inflammatory, antiseptic and antidepressant qualities. They use this herb to treat malaria and an infusion of the leaves can be used to treat coughs, colds and flu. If this is so excellent for humans can you imagine the benefits your pets can get from it. It is a very attractive plant with feathery grey-green leaves. It grows in full sun and is tolerant to drought. Also fast growing and needs to get cut back in the winter months.


Image Credit

Parsley:

This little herb is not only for decoration and flavouring your food but is also a breath freshener, especially for our K9's. It is packed with green pigment and is high in vitamin K, C, A and iron. It has diuretic abilities which will assist in urinary tract infections. Parsley is the most used herb in the Kitchen and a biennial plant. You can keep them indoors where it is warm (sunny window) or plant them outside between other plants like roses as they enhance the roses health and aroma.

Arthritic relief for dogs:

75ml of each dried alfalfa and clover
60ml dried parsley powder
60ml turmeric powder.
Mix all the ingredients together and give dogs half a spoon mixed into their food in both the morning and evening.

Homemade Flea Powder for your K9:

5ml of each dried, rosemary, Africanwood, catnip, tansy and fennel leaves.
125ml cornflour.
Crush all the herbs together to make a powder and add it to the cornflour. Sprinkle this over your pets bedding every 2 weeks.

If you want to keep your K9's coat shining, save the oils or salted water of your tinned tuna and pour it over their food. My mom used to also cook the skins which of course is the best part of a vegetable for our dogs.

20170621_131006.jpg

Keep loving, smiling, reading, writing and voting!!!

Sort:  

Fantastic post, very informative ☻♥ beautiful dog ♥ resteemed ☻

Thank you very much patrickmohr. Our pets are sometimes worse than our own children but I absolutely adore this dog of mine.

I unfortunately don't have any kids.. but it sure feels like it sometimes with my dogs ☻♥☻♥

It's funny how when i read the title, I immediately think you let your pets smoke marijuana :)))

I was waiting for this comment tman6495 as my son came in 10 min after I posted and told me the Americans might think I am doping my pets. I was told to change it immediately, guess I should have listened.

My friends dog snatched a bud right out of my hand and ate it when I was showing him the bud, and that dog wanted that for sure! haha. ((Im in a recreational state))

So that is why our cat used to eat the lawn. LOL

I always knew they eat grass to help with their digestive system which sort of made sense if you take we need fiber in our diets. This article has opened up a whole new world for me, I cannot wait to see what this man of mine will think of the ginger and turmeric roots, maybe he will leave my plants alone.

In fact, there are the same plant we use in daily cooking!

Very true hebro. I love my garlic and herbs in my food and seems like I carried that same love over to my children.

Our dogs used to dig down to the clay and eat it. We later researched and found that clay has detoxifying and stomach settling properties. Now we supplement our puppies' food with bentonite clay.

Thank you for sharing this information with us jaredcwillis. Glad to see you are still with us. Mine I know for sure are after the roots mostly. I know that is why children and even some adults eat sand or stones, they crqave it due to a lack in their own bodies.

Well I will definitely be adding some of these to my garden. Ours eat roots too. They especially like the roots from our camellia bushes!

Can u please follow me back and upvote my posts

following! i might have to plant these. my cats and dog both love chomping on grass. they have a balanced diet but figured they must like the texture! they seem to like chewing on different parts of it with their teeth.

On the photo at the top, I have a patch of mint leaves in my front garden. When my dog goes out he will run for this patch first to go eat some greens. I can only imagine how healthy he would be if I give him more nutrient plants to chew on.

This is excellent! I recently created a recipe for a natural analgesic and anti inflammatory for my dogs and a couple of the ingredients I included were my homegrown catnip (great for pain, inflammation, and also a natural sedative to dogs and humans) and turmeric (which sadly, I have yet to be able to successfully grow in my area). I also added ginger, moringa, and cinnamon to the blend and it works very well and is also quite healthy for the pups :)

Thank you for sharing this raincountry, I hope you will post this recipe and tell us more about it. All good stuff even for us humans to consume.

I certainly will be posting it soon, maybe later today or tomorrow :D Glad I found you through a resteem, so great finding more that love the wonderful properties of natural herbs!

Great article! Herbs are wonderful! :)

Lovely, thank you for this :)

Animal and speciallyl our pets are need our special care....This article will help many peoples to deal with their pets...

Health is the greatest gift, contentment the greatest wealth, faithfulness the best relationship.
mydog will be happy to feel the new food

Wise words spoken here abbeymelchizedek, thank you.

you are welcome
kindly visit my page and upvote any article you like

Aww so nice this is excellent, i am gonna follow you.

Please follow back if you see it suited... https://steemit.com/steem/@eltooni/so-close-to-my-100th-follower-1st-milestone

I'm doing a 30 day fast right now. Day three was yesterday:

https://steemit.com/health/@crewjohn/my-fasting-journey-day-3-weight-238-body-fat-31-diagnosis-fat-boy-tummy-is-slowing-down-its-grumbling-and-let-s-talk-about-water

Are these herbs decent for humans? I know tumeric is, but I'm not sure about the rest. I'm trying to completely change the destruction I've done to myself over the last few years and am seeking wisdom.

Thanks,
John

John, I am very proud of you, although I do not agree with a 30 day fast as I have read a lot about the negative effects a lengthy fast can have. All these herbs that I have mentioned are safe for human consumption and quite beneficial to your health. My mom at age 78 makes a tonic in the morning consisting of a pinch of dried ginger, 2ml turmeric, and Luke warm water. It helps with arthritis. She starts her day with apple cider vinegar and Luke warm water in the early morning.

I've never gave my dog herbs before but after this I may have a go.
Thanks crazymumzysa

You and me both arckrai. I am definitely planting more than just mint in my garden from now on.

Thanks for writing this up, excellent info. Hey @justsailey I thought you'd dig this piece. :)

Judging by your username paleotreats, I might gain some useful insight from your posts. Thank you for stopping by. You are followed

Sure hope so! We have a good size blog over on the paleotreats.com website with lots of Paleo info, but I'm happy to answer any questions you have here on Steemit. :) To health!

thank you for good posting.

Very cool post, nice!

Thank you correctdrop, anything to improve the lives of those we love even our pets.

Wow, this changes everything! Upvoted and followed!

Thank you carry0n. I truly appreciate your support.

Crazymumzysa, you are a wealth of knowledge! I love animals so your article was fascinating and very helpful. I am planning to resteem because this will definitely help other animal owners. I have to make sure to take notes on your article to promote a healthy garden environment for our dog. Again, thank-you for sharing this very valuable article!

Ai cabbagepatch, you are one in a million, thank you. I wish I had more time to do better research but I am sure those that truly care will now be motivated to look into planting more herbs, not only for themselves but for their pets too.

very nice post...!
good info...:P
have a nice day..!

Great information and beautiful dog. Rocket will be following your advice.

Congratulations @crazymumzysa
You took 82 place in my Top 100 of posts