Time Management Technique


Well, they say Francesco Cirillo invented this process in the 1980's. My question to Francesco, is just what were we doing with our time before that? Or, how did you decide that this is your term to coin?

In Italy, a majority of what we call egg timer's are shaped like tomatoes. In Italian, a specific type of tomatoe is called a pomadoro. So, he named it after that timer. Maybe if it was coined in America, it'd be called the egghead technique? Who knows?

So, this process involves a few simple steps:

  1. decide what task you want to accomplish

  2. set your 'pomodoro' to 25 minutes, and get cracking!

  3. if after 25 minutes your not done. Take a break for 5 minutes. Then move back to step 1.

  4. Move back to step 1. Or, revert to your old ways of utilizing your time in some other way.

If your anything like me, you might be transfixed with the ability to sit on a computer, and type things faster than you could ever hope to on a touch screen. And, absorb knowledge at an alarming rate when compared to the old days of dial up. Still, some of us choose to use our time to watch cat videos, or the cute little goats wearing pajamas running around having a party.

such cute little goats

This is also a way of limiting the time you spend watching those videos and scrolling endlessly through your Facebook feed. Or in this case, Steem. Which may or may not be your project for your productive section.

It also helps to prevent that burn out phase. Enabling us to continue blogging at high efficiency, or maintain our best day trading game face.
these guys clearly need more pomodoro in their life

For these and more tips towards living your life, or doing things in ways that you may already be doing. Make sure and stick around here at the @vigilantrespawn super happy fun time blogsplosion!

Sort:  

Very interesting and am always personally keen to try different ways to manage my time. I'll give this a shot :)

I find it might be a bit of a niusance at some times, like when I'm writing. I like to let the words flow, but there's certainly times where time management would play a key factor in productivity!

Yes, you're right. The major things that have worked for me are only working on the top 1 or 2 things of the day and closing my emails. It takes a lot of discipline but only checking emails at specific times of the day make a big difference in terms of my distraction.

Another thing I struggle with is my messenger apps. Just this Sunday evening, I sat down and decided to leave those things alone and enjoy a little quality time with Netflix. It was kind of liberating to not have those other distractions I've built in my life, to chew up my time.