You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemWorld ~ Some thoughts on the CSI...

in #tools6 years ago

I'm still messing with my curation strategy because I actually want to make it profitable as well as promote quality content. What I've settled on so far is to find a couple authors that regularly get high rewards to try and get some of the rewards pool, and a few smaller minnows/whales. In all cases though it's people whose content I like and generally agree with.

In a way I think of it kind of like Patreon, I'm supporting an author I like rather than individual posts.

After having a few authors in that category I'll be trying to manually upvote a couple posts a day... but honestly it's hard to actually find good minnow content. It gets difficult to sort through everything to find the actual good stuff... and here's the thing: It's not rewarding really. I can spend an hour going through different categories hoping to find something that looks interesting, then see if it's well written... then upvote and in a week get 25% of the value of my upvote since they probably didn't get much more.

And that's if I don't get bored or run out of time...

I haven't thought of a way to fix it yet, but the curation system is fundamentally broken. It rewards self-voting, chasing whales, and bots rather than rewarding actual curation and finding of new content.

Random thought before I head to bed... maybe it needs to be tied to resteem somehow. I mean, it is indirectly because of course if you resteeming a post gets it more votes you get more reward.

I don't know... I need sleep, maybe I'll think of something...

Sort:  

I have a different story. I came here just to reward one person because he showed me how to earn on cryptos. Now I'm thinking on reward poll raping by self voting as well.