SteemWorld ~ Some thoughts on the CSI...

in #tools6 years ago (edited)

CSI - An indicator with different meanings for different people. You can call it as you desire and it could be a shortcut for "Community Support Index/Indicator". Some people think that communities don't exist and I must say that the meaning of the word "community" can vary very much for each individual in the world. A community for me is a group of people that my focus is attended to more than to other groups which I may even not know exist.

While I was working on the calculation for the CSI I came to the conclusion that it also could be called "Curators Support Index". However we want to call it, important for me is that it is being seen as a number that helps us determining how much a user is giving back to the people around him. When I use 10% of my weekly available voting power (VP) for upvoting myself it is a fact that I can give exactly 90% of my VP for supporting other accounts. With that in mind it should make sense that a user with a self vote rate of 0% will in most cases have a higher (more positive) CSI than a user with 10%.

But...

The question for me currently is if a self vote of a user with one million SP should be seen as less negative than one from a user with 1000 SP or if they should be seen as equally "bad". Fact is that huge stake holders are a significant reason for having enough STEEM bound to the system that is feeding all of us and without them the lights could go off faster than we may have thought. If that is true the next question for me is: "Where is the line?"

How much self voting should be considered as "okay" and how much of it should have a negative impact on the CSI?

Many minnows argue that they would not earn enough without their tiny self votes and therefore they have a right to have a much higher self vote rate. What I have seen since my beginning on Steemit is that it is more important to write good comments and to support other people because it increases the chance drastically for getting back great support.

Why the CSI just indicates what already is

When I read a good article on Steemit and I know that the person who wrote it upvotes himself more than the people around him I don't give any or just a small upvote regardless of how good the content is and I know that many people act in the same way. That means a smaller self vote rate leads to more/stronger upvotes from his audience and may even lead to higher rewards. We should keep that in mind and I hope with these words I can bring some light to the unknown darkness in which the CSI currently resides. It is meant to be a help for us and nothing else.

Some words on the negative impact of always upvoting the same people

Of course there are ways one can have a self vote rate of 0% and still upvote mainly oneself by creating multiple accounts and upvote them instead. Therefore the CSI calculation looks for outgoing votes to the same accounts which frequently occur. Most of us have some favorited authors and of course that is fully okay but here the same question remains: "Where is the line?"

Some people said that their "community" just consists of 3 people and therefore they can only upvote the content of these accounts. I don't believe that one can find only 3 people on Steemit who share the same thoughts or are creating things which are interesting for them. But if that should be true they have a good explanation for their low CSI and should not see it as a badly calculated result. There are curators on Steemit who support hundreds of people on a daily basis and as one might guess their CSI should of course show a higher value.

It is only an indicator

The CSI is an indicator that can indicate strange voting behaviour but of course it can not tell the whole story of a person. Nobody should undertake any negative action like downvoting someones content only by taking a look at the CSI. For such a purpose it is not there. It can help curators to decide if they should do a small or a strong upvote for example.

You may have noticed that the CSI on SteemWorld is "currently NA" and the reasons for this are some important questions for which I don't have an answer yet. Until I am not fully satisfied it will remain not available. Maybe the red and green colors have irritated some people and I should just show the value without doing any further rating so the people can decide for themself if it is good or not. I will think about it and I hope we can find a solution that will at least be acceptable for most of us.

In the meantime...

I have added a new feature on SteemWorld that shows us a list of our top 250 upvoted accounts of the past week:



Thank you for taking the time to think about all this! Please leave me a comment with your thoughts ;)

Sort:  

Btw, thank you for the detailed voting top list! 👍

Some more ideas:

  • Top list of who are voting for me (could go in the line of "Reputation" to see who helped me, so I can help them out, too)
  • There are some nice helper libraries that create a nice wizard that can guide you through all the buttons and tabs and show what gems are hidden there. So, you could create a big red button that a user can click to go through if she is lost. And for every new user visiting your site, this wizard is showing what's in here. And as well a what's new is welcome, too. Because I did not notice this CSI "Detailed" button.

Thanks for your great ideas and your upvotes!

Top list of who are voting for me (could go in the line of "Reputation" to see who helped me, so I can help them out, too)

I thought the same yesterday ;) The line showing the reputation would really be a nice place for that button. I'm still thinking about a short label for it. "Details..." as in the line of the CSI would fit but may be a bit confusing. "Incoming Votes..." is too long because I want the buttons to have the same width...

TOP supporters could be a nice name for it.

I've added a new button "Supporters..." ;) Maybe I'm going to rename it later.

The percentage is currently only calculated by the use of the vote weight not the amount. I think that should be configurable. In the coming days there will be a new button in the voting details dialog to switch between amount/weight.

That was fast! 👍

I think it is a good idea to remove the color coding of the CSI, since this implies a qualitative measure for an indicator that will always be interpreted on a subjective level.

I personally would anyway prefer the display of actual data (like % self-votes, or number of accounts voted in the last x days, etc.) as opposed to an indicator that is derived from data sets. Because then, it already becomes subjective since a decision has to be made which kind of data gets included and how it is weighed.

Yes, after thinking about the effects the color could have especially on minnows I tend to go in the same direction and remove the color completely.

Furthermore I have planned to add some more details (number of accounts voted, number of votes in general and maybe some more about account activity) as you've stated. I also want to add a possibility to be able to display the data for 30 days or so.

I still like the idea of having a number that can represent all the data in a more "compressed" form :) But maybe it should be placed elsewhere so that the people don't concentrate too much on their index. Of course there are more important things in life... ^^

You're such a busy man - and we all appreciate what you are doing here. I have perhaps a silly question - but am I missing the bandwidth information? I keep a tab open with steemd just to see that one piece of information.

I began studying your first post which outlines information still very useful. It got me appreciating that I will always be scratching the surface of the power of this great tool, while lacking the full comprehension of it. If I may make a small suggestion - that you add a link back to the earlier posts so whenever we resteem your update post, that our followers can find everything easily.

Thanks for your kind feedback!

I keep a tab open with steemd just to see that one piece of information.

That one got me. Some details about the bandwidth can be seen in the "Account Details" at the bottom but it seems not to show all the relevant data and it's being displayed without any progress bar. I will try to add the bandwidth information. May take some days until I find time for it.

You're right, I really should add some links to the earlier posts.
Thanks for your very helpful suggestions!
That's worth a 100% upvote ;)

This is good stuff you are explaining here.
Most upvotes were made in effort to get a vote back.

I can see some steemians were kinda struggling to get upvote and now of all sudden they are making thousands. They are getting upvotes even after three days. This is consistency.
I consider self vote a way to stay afloat on steemit.
If you are earning good reward for whatever you post, you do not have time to selfvote.
I am completely agree, we all need to be fair and just.
We all need each other.
Keep on steemin'

I use the site daily and really appreciate the work you put into it.

I'm curious as to if you are going to add some variables there. I'd like to be able to see the # of times someone voted vs weight.

Of course there are ways one can have a self vote rate of 0% and still upvote mainly oneself by creating multiple accounts and upvote them instead.

I've got several I've added to mack-bot that have contacted me claiming not to know "who" owns the other 50 to 1000 accounts that follow around and upvote only their posts or a small group of posts exclusively.

I find the idea of the CSI helpful. Maybe having just a number without a color? I personally don't rely on numbers by themselves. They are an indicator as you said but I look at the accounts before making decisions.

Thank you @patrice!

I'd like to be able to see the # of times someone voted vs weight.

I will add the number of votes there in an extra column next to the weight. Maybe it would also make sense to have a "by number of votes" option in the second select box.

Yes, I think as an indicator the CSI can help to detect strange accounts faster. But as I've seen it's difficult to make a judgement based alone on that number and therefore I will remove the color so that the value will always be displayed in black. I hope that I will find time in the coming days to finish the algorithm.

Maybe we will need an extra tab for the voting activity in future because there is not really much space for more details available. Some new ideas came to my mind recently regarding voted tags and a few other interesting things that could be shown there but that will come later.

If you should need any special feature for your investigations in the tool, let me know! I really like what you are doing here ;)

I LOVES me Some PATRICE!!!
Thanks for the new account, I did not see any new posts to upvote when you first made it for me :* :D :)
Love You PATRICE! :D

Resteemed

Another great improvement of your impressive tool, thank you for that. I know Christmas is over but I would like to have, in addition to the ever changing $ value behind the posts and/ or the votes I give, some fixed value like a percentage of my SP, which does not change with ever changing Steem/SBD or Steem and SBD to US$ or BTC or whatever the reason for those fluctuating $ amounts in your tool is.
Because with each upvote at 100% I give a certain percentage of my SP which I guess does not change, just the value in $ changes.
If you ever get bored and have programmed everything you could think about into your tool, maybe that would be a feature to implement. Cheers!

I like the idea of the CSI, and I also think that the red and green coloring implies negative/positive connotation, so people will naturally take it as good/bad.

As an analyst, I would think metrics like #/% of self-votes & #/% of same-user votes, and also the same by vote value rather than counts would all be very useful stats. I really like the pie chart too, because graphics are always good to break up all of the various stats. Having more graphs/charts would also be useful, like daily/weekly/monthly votes metrics and whatnot plotted on a line graph. I'm a data junkie ;)

I think it all depends on the time frame you base it on.
When I intend to use the Steemit Blockchain for an unknown amount of time, my behavior will change within the events arising. I will first try something out and then try out something else. I will listen to opinions as well as to provided analysis.

What makes the Steemit universe for me so interesting is the vast variety of provided content and also how people publish to deal with it. My decisions can be made by my mood within a second and also by the thorough consideration which show my basic tendencies but I would say, do not provide an overall picture of me. The overall picture might be taken place when

a.) I die (virtually or in real life)
b.) less drastically: I decide to leave the platform and never come back

Success and flaws can be measured from my point of view in retrospective and also it lays in the eye of every beholder what is defined as success, bad behavior and enhancing or harming the platform (other participants).

My success or my popularity and unpopularity is visible to me in the form of votes, revenues and the direct contact with humans in the form of communication through the comment section and the attached chat platforms.

Altogether, I do not care so much for self-voting and do it only when I think a comment of mine should be placed for some good reason. Otherwise, I forget about it or find it myself a bit distasteful when I notice it in others to an overly stretched degree. But this could be seen as stupid, also. Well, that is not my concern.

I think of a funny function, like "deaths" of users - you only would know, if someone announces it, right? As one cannot announce his or her own death, this must be made by another befriended user. As long it is only a virtual death, a visible measurement of this "dead user" might be of interest. Because, there a time frame is "finished". .... I really don't know. It is just a thought which may be of use or not. As you never know a deceased can also resurrect and come back. :)

#1 Your Analytics are THE BEST I have seen, my new FAVE!!!
#2 *& I see you trending this way) Just present CSI for what it is, WE the PEOPLE will judge if it is a new minnow or a greedy whale abusing the system...
#3 Most folks online these day know how to interpret Analytics, Just ROLL WITH IT, Baby!!! :D

Love the service, It is the first one I refer my newby minnows to use if they seem to be "web savvy" or #2 if they seem to be not so "web savvy" but needing more info. I LOVE IT!!! :D

Hi @steemchiller,

hab dich ja schon ein paar mal in Kommentaren erwähnt, aber das hast du bisher leider nicht mitbekommen/reagiert, deshalb schreib ich dir hier einfach nochmal :)


Letztes mal unter nem Post von @oliverschmid, der mir dann auch empfohlen hat das ganze Mal bei dir als Kommentar zu hinterlassen, damit dus auch siehst :)

Ja da hat der @steemchiller echt wahnsinnig tolle Arbeit geleistet!
Hab ich auch immer nen Tab mit offen, sonst ginge gar nichts :D
Wär aber cool wenn man da die Bandbreite auch sehen würde :)
Aber das ist dann schon jammern auf hohem Niveau^^


Außerdem am Sonntag in @double-u's Kneipe als es um meine Sidebar ging:

Ja Steemworld kenn ich schon, da hab ich auch nen Link in der Sidebar drin um schnell abspringen zu können. Ist aktuell das wichtigste Werkzeug für mich! Danke dafür @steemchiller :)
(PS: Ich hoffe natürlich es ist ok für dich, dass ich dein Logo und Link eingebaut habe. Aber falls du doch was dagegen hast gib mir bitte einfach Bescheid, dann bau ich das sofort wieder aus! Wäre nur schade, weil ichs, wie gesagt, selber sehr gerne verwende um auf Steemworld zu kommen :) )


Hoffe du meldest dich (vielleicht magst die Sidebar ja auch mal ausprobieren! :) )

Danke und Gruß,
Martin

Hi! Ich schaue aktuell nicht so danach, ob ich erwähnt wurde, da es mich zu viel Zeit kosten und meinen Fokus vom Ziel abbringen würde :) Da ist so ein Kommentar wie deiner hier auf jeden Fall besser geeignet, um mich zu erreichen.

Die Bandbreite wird bald angezeigt. Das scheint wirklich vielen Minnows zu fehlen, daher habe ich die Priorität dafür etwas erhöht. Ich denke, in den kommenden 2-3 Tagen sollte das drin sein.

Deine Sidebar schaue ich mir bei Gelegenheit mal an ;) Ich habe selbst ja auch mal etwas in der Richtung mit meinen SCT entwickelt. Falls du SCT noch nicht kennen solltest, kannst ja mal reinschauen:

LG, Chiller

Kannte ich tatsächlich noch nicht!
Sieht sehr gut aus und ich werd auch sicherlich mal im Coding ein bisschen spicken :)
Waren ein paar Sachen dabei die sich jetzt fast schon essentiell für meine Sidebar anhören^^


Man entdeckt wirklich jeden Tag tolle neue Sachen hier auf Steemit :)

Ja, das kannst du gerne machen. Eine Sache solltest du in deinem Skript möglichst bald ändern:

https://steemworld.org/favicon.png

Du kannst das Bild gerne verwenden, aber bitte downloade es und integriere es in deinem Skript als Ressource. Kannst ja sonst bei mir reinschauen, wie ich das gemacht habe. Ich würde dir das für alle weiteren Bilder auch empfehlen.

Du kannst auf https://www.base64-image.de die Bilder in base64 umwandeln, so dass du sie z.B. direkt im CSS (background) oder als Source (src) in Image-Tags definieren kannst. Das reduziert die Zugriffe auf fremde Server.

Ist jetzt nicht super wichtig, aber kannst ja mit dem nächsten Update mal ändern...
Danke ;)

Danke für den Tipp! :)
Allerdings ist für später geplant das man die einzelnen Absprünge usw. selbst einstellen kann, da kann ich dann nicht fest Bilder hinterlegen...
Werd mir das dann wohl irgendwie selber alles raussuchen müssen und dann in base64 umwandeln und im storage speichern...
Achja immer soviel zu tun^^


Aber ja werd mir da generell noch Sachen überlegen müssen um die Zahl der Zugriffe möglichst gering zu halten :)


Wobei ich mir nicht sicher bin, wie oft dann tatsächlich ein Zugriff erfolgen würde, habs mal kurz getestet und er scheint zumindest nicht jedesmal beim navigieren oder refresh nen Request abzuschicken, muss das aber nochmal ausführlicher testen. (Achja wo bleibt mein Wochenende, ich brauch mehr Zeit^^ )


Auf alle Fälle danke nochmal für deine Zeit, will dich nicht zu sehr von der Arbeit abhalten :)

Wie gesagt ist es nicht so super wichtig und wahrscheinlich werden die meisten Browser beim erneuten Zugriff auf den Cache zugreifen. Trotzdem kann das je nach Browser/Einstellungen zu vielen Zugriffen führen.

Das schöne an den Userscripts ist ja, dass man Daten auch permanent speichern kann. Du wirst früher oder später wahrscheinlich nicht um die "GM_"-Funktionen herumkommen. Da solltest du dich mal reinlesen, denn die sind wirklich super praktisch ;)

Du brauchst im Header dann ein paar "grants", also Berechtigungen, die der User bestätigen muss:

// @grant GM_getValue
// @grant GM_setValue

Damit kannst du dir die Cookies sparen und die Daten gehen auch nicht verloren, wenn die Leute CCleaner oder so durchlaufen lassen.

Ich mache das ja z.B. so:

setCookie: function(key, value) {
    GM_setValue(key, value);
},

getCookie: function(key) {
    return GM_getValue(key);
},

hasCookie: function(key) {
    return (SCT.getCookie(key) !== undefined);
}

Das speichern mit den "GM_"-Funktionen hatte ich schon vor ner Zeit gefunden, habs auch als todo in meinem github ;) Trotzdem danke für den Hinweis :)

I'm still messing with my curation strategy because I actually want to make it profitable as well as promote quality content. What I've settled on so far is to find a couple authors that regularly get high rewards to try and get some of the rewards pool, and a few smaller minnows/whales. In all cases though it's people whose content I like and generally agree with.

In a way I think of it kind of like Patreon, I'm supporting an author I like rather than individual posts.

After having a few authors in that category I'll be trying to manually upvote a couple posts a day... but honestly it's hard to actually find good minnow content. It gets difficult to sort through everything to find the actual good stuff... and here's the thing: It's not rewarding really. I can spend an hour going through different categories hoping to find something that looks interesting, then see if it's well written... then upvote and in a week get 25% of the value of my upvote since they probably didn't get much more.

And that's if I don't get bored or run out of time...

I haven't thought of a way to fix it yet, but the curation system is fundamentally broken. It rewards self-voting, chasing whales, and bots rather than rewarding actual curation and finding of new content.

Random thought before I head to bed... maybe it needs to be tied to resteem somehow. I mean, it is indirectly because of course if you resteeming a post gets it more votes you get more reward.

I don't know... I need sleep, maybe I'll think of something...

I have a different story. I came here just to reward one person because he showed me how to earn on cryptos. Now I'm thinking on reward poll raping by self voting as well.

I think the CSI is a fair tool - but I think that it is difficult to get into one number all of the information. If you are a big whale, you will just not care. You will have a friend or a number of 2nd and 3rd accounts and they will all work with each other. It is big money involved and the work they need to do is minimal. Let's assume you are a whale with 1m steam power and you think - I know its not good for the network, but as long as I am the only one, it will not matter. And if all do it and I am the only one not doing, it will not help. So he could just comment 10 times a day and up vote his own comments in the last minute. He would lose his curation awards, but that is it and not even down voting can help. I

Also, I think that delegating voting power to an up vote bot is also not good as it means that the votes do not go where content is good but where the money is.

My idea would be to consider limiting the maximum vote value - e.g. to 1 USD. If a big whale had a vote of wroth 100 USD, he could only vote with 1%. That would make a lot of the things more difficult for them. What do you think?

The funny thing is that when you do not have money, you think on how generous you would be when you get it, but when you finally get the money you have hard times on not touching it for your own good. Just few clicks per day and you have earned a monthly salary with it.

Vielen Dank für die CSI-Funktionalität. Das hilft eindeutig. Allerdings steht da momentan, wo bis vor ein paar Tagen noch ein farbiger Wert stand, jetzt [ Currently NA ].

Nachtrag: ich sehe du hast dich im letzten Abschnitt dazu geäußert. :-)

It’s a great tool, but it doesn’t need a color. You aren’t judging the CSI, you are just presenting it.

it seems off you know

top 250 upvoted accounts of the past week

Really useful to know who is "eating" my votes ... apart of myself 😎

The csi of a bid bot should be very high I guess. Not sure if that is a good sign:)

Since bid bots are being used by the same people again and again the CSI is not as high as that of a manual curator who supports many different people daily ;)

It will only be dealing with upvotes or will there be some downvotes listed? Just my stupid mind thought!

The CSI and "Voting Details" are dealing with upvotes only. But it would be nice to have something similar for downvotes too... Maybe I am going to add a button for downvotes in future.

One more important thing that still is missing is an overview for votes in the opposite direction (incoming votes). That will definitely come soon ;)

I visit your site just as much as I visit steemit!!!

Here's a few suggestions for SteemitWorld:

  • A "Coming Curation Rewards" tab would be awesome. It would show your expected payouts and what percent of the curation rewards you are receiving.
  • Could you move the SBD and Steem to USD prices to a more prominent place on the page?
  • I'd also suggest you list SteemWorld on http://steemtools.com/ if you want more people to see it :)

Thanks for all your work on this. I've been spreading the word about it!

It's done, for who want a Portuguese Translation:

CSI -
Atualizações na amostragem

Thanks for all your work and the great service which helps to stay on track of all upvotes etc. I'm not sure if this is already in development or if it's possible at all:
Sometimes I see my follower number increasing and wonder who decided to follow me.

Is there a way to chronological order the "followers"?

Thanks in advance :)

There will come a similar feature in the planned desktop notifications module. I want to display new followers also as incoming account operations ;)

Anyone who see's a red or lower CSI should ask themselves what they can do to make their score better. That really holds true for any members of a curation guild or a group that has delegation for community support. This could also be a feature for those wanting to delegate SP to use to see who spreads the love more or those who trail users.

Maybe you can add a list of users that the person has never voted on so they can check out some new talent, just a thought.

Also adding a color code for people powering down would be awesome as well. Again just a thought, keep up the good work!

I loved more the 'Details' one, than just the number.

This way, we can see who we are supporting and help people.

P.s.: i'm doing a portuguese translate of this article, when done i comment here with the link.

Yeah the green and red colors were annoying, Thanks for removing them. Hope you will soon come up with something for Currently NA Cheers :)

Some really interesting insights into the Steemit platform which I also noticed in using it. So thank you for your helpful post. I learned much from it.

Steemworld is now a site that I visit way too often. Thanks? I really need to get a life.

Don't ask me how often I visit it... ^^ Still a lot to do. Life has to wait a bit...
But eventually it will lead us to a better life when STEEM hits the 100 USD ;)

Hey I love your tool, it is very helpful.
I was wondering if it would be possible to add a decimal place on upvote value as some are less than 0.01 and show as 0.00.

Not about the CSI stuff, but having a really weird bug. Changing the node didn't do anything about it.

This is my profile.

This post I published a couple of days ago doesn't appear under "Recent posts", though if refresh "Coming Author Rewards," it appears there.

The Steem JS API returns the posts sorted by edit date, not creation date. Therefore and because of the default limit of 5 items your post is not visible (because you edited an older post after creating the moon post).

I've found a temporary solution by increasing the limit and sorting the results before they are displayed. It should work now after you've refreshed the page ;)

Hi @steemchiller.

The further I delve into steemit, the more questions. Here I am again...

Do you think it would be possible to implement "Coming Curation Rewards" just like there are "Coming Author Rewards"? There are many tools which predict the Autor rewards, yet I did not find any for the curations. I guess if I am right that would be a very unique feature of your tool!

Keep up your great work.
Moritz

Thanks, yeah it's already on my list but will have to wait until my Web API is finished ;)

Cool. I use http://steem.supply, but like your setup a lot more.. Will you also make precise predictions of earnings with all the rewards splitting? or will it be a pure sum up like in your current "Coming Author Rewards"?

I think there could really be displayed some more details. In the "Coming Author Rewards" too. Will see...

YESSSS! I am such a sucker for data analysis, and visualization! Extreme sucker! haha

As @shaka says stick to the facts, people can decide for themselves. I have a question unrelated my apologies, but when you calculate the upcoming rewards the amounts shown in $ is exactly that an estimate of US dollar and not steem but you then show (~ 100 USD) which is not correct since the dollar conversion has already been made?

The $ values on Steemit and in my tool do not represent USD.
$1.0 with 50/50 rewards is ~ 0.5 SBD + (0.5 / Median Price) SP... :)
1 SBD is currently 7.15 USD worth ;)

Are we talking about the same thing ? I mean the $38 in the pic is just that $38 since the $ represented on votes are already converted to USD. I will check again but that is how it seems to me.

Your coming rewards are ~ 154.97 USD. Curation is already excluded. As long as you've chosen 50/50 payout you will receive 50% in SBD.

The $ for votes are not already converted to USD.
As I said: 1 SBD is currently 7.15 USD worth ;)

Oh shit you mean the $0.00 on posts is SBD and not USD?
My bad

Yo! Now you know. We all once have been minnows when we started our journey on Steemit. Nothing bad, all good :)

Unrelated. is steemworld open. Chatting in steemit.chat and one guy asked if could contribute somehow? also I would like to know if that is possible?

Hi, I wanted to scrape some data from steemworld (about self upvoting) ;) for users of polish community, but as you know one can't do it because site is in js. Any way to get around this? maybe some small static api? ;) or it would be faster for me to make steem.js based on my own

I would recommend you to use steem.js (getAccountHistory):

steem.api.getAccountHistory(account, from, limit, function(err, result) {
  console.log(err, result);
});

and then filter by op "vote". I've never used SteemSQL but that could be another fast option. I think SteemData Web API would also work but in my tests the performance wasn't stable enough to use it as a reliable service.

If you only need the data for details about self upvoting you could also use getAccountVotes, but I'm not sure about the limit and performance for very active accounts:

steem.api.getAccountVotes(voter, function(err, result) {
  console.log(err, result);
});

If the whale (or any other user) upvotes just his posts, it is ok, in my opinion. Every user has a different frequency of posting, so i think that CSI doesn't say much about the user. Somebody posts 5 times a day and for example I post about 6 times a month, so I have better CSI and I dont really think I am more generous.
The only think I do not understand (in overwhelming majority of cases) is selfupvoting in comments. I really dunno what I should think about people who do this.

Self voting with a tiny percentage may be used to move the reply higher in the list of replies, at least before the spammers.

This is possibly why you have upvoted your own comment.

I upvoted my own comment because of my sense of humor. But you are right. I have to do that sometimes, too. Thanks.

Good job! Thanks to @vladimir-simovic you have planted 0.13 tree to save Abongphen Highland Forest in Cameroon. Help me to plant 1,000,000 trees and share my Steem Power to the others. Selfvoting is prohibited, but that should be the reason to spread the world to protect our precious environment. Check out profile of our conservation association @kedjom-keku and the founder/coordinator @martin.mikes to get more information about our conservation program. My current SP is 14511.94. Help me to plant more trees with your delegated SP.

Thanks a lot,
your @treeplanter
www.kedjom-keku.com

Regarding the red and green indicator, would it be possible to let each user choose the threshold themselves?

hey buddy, thanks for giving a quick overview over this new feature... great tool to play around with.

Just a quick quession which came to my mind: how do you distinguish between "actual" selfvotes in form of a user upvoting its own comments and between a user who is "JUST" posting a lot( assuming pre defined 50/50 evaluation on a post). I´m not sure but that might be indicating a lot of user being statistically high in selvoting eventhough they actually jsut post a lot of content... not sure whether that isn´t really what you had in mind here as that would "put them a price tag on their neck"so you sepak...

Just my thoughts on this... would be great hearing what you thinking about that.

Thanks alot

warm regards,
Martin

The new feature is great!! Thank you.

My CSI was working but now it shows a score of N/A due to 0% of my votes going to self-voting? Might just be my account or browser, I've noticed the site works better on my phone than on Safari.

Thanks!

          I like the addition of the vote wheel. It is a tough call about getting the number right. I think that under accounts under the minnow vest level 1,000,000.000000 that the adverse effects of self voting should be a lot less percentage wise than a minnow level account. The reason is because these are the new users, and until they obtain a (the) vote slider they should have a little bit of leeway. Now with that being said, I think that should also be only for the first 4 months. (that is about what it should take someone to find an alternative vote slider like yours).
          But yes a very very tough call to make. I certainly do not envy you this task you have taken on, because you simply will piss some people off. Accusation of weighting in favor of the Whales, of the Orcas, of the minnows or of whatever group. You will always be the reason for their piss poor CSI level. But I like the vote wheels did I mention that?
          As for the distribution of a person's votes very tough call once again. Since I learned to use your vote slider, I still get to give my favorites the vote that I want to, and now I can divide the remainder up among a lot of other people. This is a good thing since I decided to try and help @mudcat36 and @davemccoy with their newbieresteemday initiative, so thank you so much for educating me about your manual vote system. I think more people need to understand it, and I have tried to spread the word about it.

thanks for new feature :D
More power!

Wao great work keep it up

@resteem.bot
Resteemed to over 10300 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.100 Steem or 0.100 Steem Dollar and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.

We are happy to be part of the APPICS bounty program. APPICS is a new social community based on Steem. The presale was sold in 26 minutes. The ICO will start soon. You can get a account over our invite link: https://ico.appics.com/login?referral=1fRdrJIW

@resteem.bot

Hello today as every day in the use of your tool I found a bug that I report below, this has been when and wanted to make a manual vote:

13 N5boost16exception_detail10clone_implINS0_19error_info_injectorISt12out_of_rangeEEEE: unknown key unknown key: {"author":"beveryting","permlink":"please-allow-me-to-introduce-myself-i-m-a-man#@beveryting/re-networker5-re-beveryting-please-allow-me-to-introduce-myself-i-m-a-man-20180131t230651117z","what":"unknown key"} th_a database.cpp:385 get_comment {"o":{"voter":"networker5","author":"beveryting","permlink":"please-allow-me-to-introduce-myself-i-m-a-man#@beveryting/re-networker5-re-beveryting-please-allow-me-to-introduce-myself-i-m-a-man-20180131t230651117z","weight":1600}} th_a steem_evaluator.cpp:1504 do_apply {"op":["vote",{"voter":"networker5","author":"beveryting","permlink":"please-allow-me-to-introduce-myself-i-m-a-man#@beveryting/re-networker5-re-beveryting-please-allow-me-to-introduce-myself-i-m-a-man-20180131t230651117z","weight":1600}]} th_a database.cpp:2893 _apply_transaction {"trx":{"ref_block_num":8399,"ref_block_prefix":2037807672,"expiration":"2018-01-31T23:11:12","operations":[["vote",{"voter":"networker5","author":"beveryting","permlink":"please-allow-me-to-introduce-myself-i-m-a-man#@beveryting/re-networker5-re-beveryting-please-allow-me-to-introduce-myself-i-m-a-man-20180131t230651117z","weight":1600}]],"extensions":[],"signatures":["1f1d142b5d93ac76ad9526dde36101a7986b7543f88071439271e723b67df35fe70590c9f26c8e4a9bb7660aa1c06385479b4bdacbd4b7ebb0de22513d193c134d"]}} th_a database.cpp:2897 _apply_transaction {"trx":{"ref_block_num":8399,"ref_block_prefix":2037807672,"expiration":"2018-01-31T23:11:12","operations":[["vote",{"voter":"networker5","author":"beveryting","permlink":"please-allow-me-to-introduce-myself-i-m-a-man#@beveryting/re-networker5-re-beveryting-please-allow-me-to-introduce-myself-i-m-a-man-20180131t230651117z","weight":1600}]],"extensions":[],"signatures":["1f1d142b5d93ac76ad9526dde36101a7986b7543f88071439271e723b67df35fe70590c9f26c8e4a9bb7660aa1c06385479b4bdacbd4b7ebb0de22513d193c134d"]}} th_a database.cpp:660 push_transaction {"call.method":"call","call.params":[3,"broadcast_transaction_synchronous",[{"ref_block_num":8399,"ref_block_prefix":2037807672,"expiration":"2018-01-31T23:11:12","operations":[["vote",{"voter":"networker5","author":"beveryting","permlink":"please-allow-me-to-introduce-myself-i-m-a-man#@beveryting/re-networker5-re-beveryting-please-allow-me-to-introduce-myself-i-m-a-man-20180131t230651117z","weight":1600}]],"extensions":[],"signatures":["1f1d142b5d93ac76ad9526dde36101a7986b7543f88071439271e723b67df35fe70590c9f26c8e4a9bb7660aa1c06385479b4bdacbd4b7ebb0de22513d193c134d"]}]]} th_a websocket_api.cpp:124 on_message (see err.payload for the full error payload)
Ok

"Unknown key", looks like the key seems to be unknown :) Do you use your private posting key in the tool?

Edit:
The permlink you used is invalid and I can't even open it on Steemit. Please copy the permlink for comments from the incoming account operation on SteemWorld. That should always work.

If I use my private publishing key, maybe I'll copy the link wrong, thank you I'll try again.

You posted this 7 months ago and I benefited from this today. Thanks for sharing this info :)

I think there should be no distinguishing changes to the CSI based on rep/Sp or any other factors. Like you have said many times "CSI is an indicator" and should be used as such.

I didn't upvote my self often but since finding this project a few weeks ago I have changed my game plan a lot. Actually trying to find more content to support other than my own. And my upvote isn't worth much. I have not up voted my self in almost a week now. I feel this could be a movement as it really brings awareness, or could bring awareness, to how us self voting affects the platform.

Steem is a community. Whether one is part of a smaller niche micro community or not. We all have one common goal and dream and that for steem to thrive. For that we need to support quality content that is not our own. For this we need to use our upvotes. And in return we bring in more writers, investors and just a better image.

I really like what you are doing here and I hope others get a little shock from it.

My experience was practically the same.

If you have not tried steemworld's manual vote slider it is not that hard to do, you can give 4 or 5 full upvotes for your favorite people, then you can set the slider to a level of 25% 50% or what ever on other content you like thus expanding your voting reach and range. new users are happy, (like me) to get any vote any value, it does not need to be a 100% vote of $0.100 a vote of $0.030 or any other number is equally valued. 5 people 10 cents, then 10 people 5 cents and still just at or very close to 90% vote level for energy renewal.

@nicnas
Why is there a flag in your comment?

He is mad that his account is useless

 6 years ago  Reveal Comment

Danke dir für den Hinweis! Das liegt an der .htaccess und der Art wie ich den Usernamen darüber auslese. Aktuell mache ich das mit:

RewriteRule ^@(.*)$ /index.php?name=$1&%{QUERY_STRING}

Werde ich bei Gelegenheit mal prüfen. Passieren kann da nichts und selbst wenn jemand dadurch Zugriff auf Root-Verzeichnisse bekommen könnte, würde das nicht viel bringen, da ich die Original-Skripte nicht dort liegen habe.

 6 years ago  Reveal Comment

Die Verzeichnisse sind geschützt, aber schön ist sowas natürlich trotzdem nicht. Ich wollte dir ja sowieso noch einen geben letztens. Wieso hast du eigentlich so gut wie deine gesamte Power an Booster verliehen? Hättest du das nicht gemacht, hättest du sicher ein paar mehr 100%ige bekommen... ^^

 6 years ago (edited) Reveal Comment

Ja, das mit dem Created Date wollte ich sowieso nochmal überarbeiten. Da genug Platz für beides ist, werde ich das dann wahrscheinlich nebeneinander anzeigen (d,h,m | date).

Wenn ich deinen Post resteemen würde, würde ich mindestens 3 Follower verlieren... ^^ So gut ist der auch nicht und sowieso hast du doch mehr Follower als ich ;) Die meisten Leute auf Steemit sind mit Mainstream-Geschichten übrigens nicht so wirklich zu beeindrucken (viele sind ja von anderen Plattformen geflüchtet, um diese Scheiße nicht mehr sehen zu müssen).