You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: There Are Only LOSERS In A Trade War

in #trade5 years ago

Ahhhhh, of course, that makes total sense. I'm sure I would have worked that out if I really thought about it. I guess it makes it all the more risky though... if you don't sell all your stock, you're pretty much operating at a loss. I guess though, it means that bigger companies can eat the tariffs themselves if they don't want to lose market share.

Hahaha, anyone that uses tariffs doesn't understand economics..... but I think in these cases it's not at all about economics, it's a superpower boxing match. Looks like the overall global economy might take a huge hit in this battle though.

Sort:  

Glad it made sense.

It sure will. It's the world putting itself under embargo. We'll be poorer as a result. And yes, bigger companies can operate at a loss while it makes it much harder for startups.

If more people understood these things, they would not be cheering for them (right now segments of the Chinese and American populace are cheering them on). They think it's horrible when tariffs are placed on them, but oh so necessary and a "good thing" to do them to others.