You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing our first Crypto Market Scanner

in #trading7 years ago

Hey Luc, did you see my post on your other thread? I released my own market scanner yesterday, I'd love to get your feedback on it. It's a bit different to nervisrek's (great job btw!) but it gives you the ability to filter by a specific change threshold, so as to only show coins that have dropped 5%, 10% etc. in the given time period. In the near future I'll be adding the ability to filter out specified exchanges and markets as well.

You can find it at cryptodrop.net or read my full post at https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@bulk-coinz/cryptocurrency-market-scanner-now-live-cryptodrop-net :)

Sort:  

im watching it now.. does it only refresh every 5 minutes? it says updating every 5 minutes.. our other scanner alerts seconds after a move happens, and often thats even too slow to react.. every second counts with daytrading..

Hey Luc, there are some other refresh periods in one of the two dropdown boxes at the top of the page. The way it works at the moment is that whatever lookback period you select, it will refresh after that period of time and then look back that many minutes to check for changes. So for example if you choose a lookback period of 10 minutes, it will look at the last 10 minutes of data for each symbol, compare that against the change threshold field, and display each symbol that has changed more than that amount in the last 10 minutes, then wait 10 minutes and do that again.

The shortest refresh period at the moment is 1 minute - I can definitely make that shorter but the question is how far back should it look for data? If it refreshes every 5 seconds but only looks at the last 5 seconds of data, it's unlikely that any symbols will have changed more than 5% in 5 seconds. Perhaps we should have two fields, one for the refresh interval and one for the lookback period. What are your thoughts on that?

I'm still new to this, but I'm guessing Luc will tell us that the refresh can always stay around 1sec (or as short as practical), and shouldn't be related to lookback period. Maybe I'm missing something though. Is there a reason you linked them together?
Noticed the alert noise and "mark as seen" have been added. Thanks very much!
Side note- your scanner just alerted me of 2 huge loads dumped so far at BTRX XLM/ETH just now. I made a trade on the 2nd one, hoping for a 3rd dump. Worth keeping an eye on

I'm glad to hear the site's helping you find good trades! Originally I had the lookback period and refresh interval separate but I combined them for the sake of getting the site up asap. The problem arises when a duplicate entry is formed, ie. when a symbol is displayed and then on the next refresh it is also displayed again. What should happen in this case? I'm thinking that it should replace the original entry if it has dropped by MORE than was shown in the the original entry, otherwise the original entry should remain. But then at what point should it not be shown anymore? When the user marks it as seen? After a certain period of time?

Once I know what's preferred I can get started on implementing it :)

Hi Luc. About Nervisrek Scanner. Awesome and thank you for sharing. Please, I have a question. When there is a considerable drop of one of the altcoins, would you place instantly a limit order slightly above the dropped price reached? So when it bounces back or pullbacks, you would buy almost buy to the lowest price? Thank you very much!!!! Or what would you do?

Thank You!!! Best Regards Rodolfo