You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Godhood Is Boring: Thoughts on Radical Life Extension

in #transhumanism6 years ago

Wow your insights are so thick with contemplation, I would have to write a whole nother article to express my thoughts. Praying we get a chance to discuss it all in person soon. See you at Sonic Bloom?
For now, what has been on the precipice of my consciousness for some while is this quote, "'All scientifically possible technology and social change predicted in science fiction will come to pass, but none of it will work properly.'
– Neil Gaiman's Second Law"
I've been saying this a lot recently. I was just not including the second part, "but none of it will work properly."
I wonder what he means by properly...
I've been holding this notion in a way that I must accept this as inevitable and only do my best to steer my interaction with new technology in a beautiful direction in my own transhuman experience.
It's quite the balancing act~~~

Sort:  

Hey Alex! I won't be at Sonic Bloom this year...really moving out of music+camping festivals, as they aren't a sustainable business model and it's a problematic culture in general (in spite of how fun they can be – see my most recent post for more, if you like). YES to Gaiman's second law! I was just quoting it the other day while futzing with a lousy Skype call...
Thanks for the read and the kind words!