Impressions from the Moscow Metro

in #travel6 years ago

I recently spent some days in Moscow - what an impressive city! So in my upcoming posts I will share some of my impressions with you. I will start with the Moscow Metro, which is a very special one.

It was opened in 1935 and today has 207 stations and a route length of 349.4 km. Many of Moscows Metro stations are very deep in the ground, as they were conceived as shelter in the case of air raids. 

But what makes the Moscow Metro really is its beauty. Many Metro station look like palaces, theatres or opera houses, full of marble and lusters. 

This was probably one of the few good ideas of Communism: to make something that is used by the normal population every day as beautiful as the house of a noble man.

Most of the Metro's architecture looks very bourgeois. But every now and then you see a piece of Soviet design.

So when you are in Moscow, don't miss to explore its Metro!

Sort:  

Wow So beautiful ,amazing click I hope you enjoyed to much... Small follower @amitraj

I live in Moscow.I was almost in all countries of Europe but in my opinion the most beautiful metro in Moscow!

Good work my frends

wonderful metro in moscow.
i like it. keep it up.

Great pictures, thanks for sharing. I love photography too and talking about life, let me know what you think of my posts. @diljeetdil. Would be great to get your views x thanks.

wonderful post. thank you for sharing. You've told moscow metros up to every detail.@aaronkoenig

Awesome city

this post very nice..and great photography...i appreciate your contest..carry on my friend!!!!!!!!!!

Such this city is impresive city my dream i am spend some time this city
Your writen skill too good
Good luck

Wow this is amazing. I am from Bali where we don't talk about Russia as much so this was very culturing for me. Thank you!

I read an article about Moscow metro stations, and writer said: "The most beautiful metro stations are in Moscow. And also your photos prove that. Nice shot!

Wow , what a beautiful city! Thanks for sharing us your travel memories.

stay blessed in travel

wow....!!! nice travel @aaronkoenig....thaks for sharing.. Impressions from the Moscow Metro
post...i like your post to much

Historical place makes a great story by you & your photography.
I love trave by an DSLR with capturing photo and photography.
great to share.

This is an art to show your vision, sharing how deep you see the cats and their natural laziness which makes me smile? thanks

these are interesting shots..

Glad to hear this things being shared on steemit .
You have a very interesting way of presenting things , it makes me understand the entire story . Your taughts that are presented are so connected one to each other , it makes me understand the context and points . I appreciate for how fluent you are and the passion to share with the community .

Nice photography!!
its cool!!

Life in Moscow I think will be great.

Wow Moscow one of my favorite place, you must had a great time there.
Didn't knew about the deeply built metros, the metro station looks so nice. I guess you got a lot of others places you will visit there right?

I wanna see more of Moscow if you go somewhere there. 😊

enjoy traveling

If I go to Moscow, I will go to the first metro. Thank you for informing and sharing.

such historical sites need to be preserved.

Nice places, nice photos, nice country. Thanks :)

Now i wanna go to moscow, lovely place.

i m a huge fan of subway station. that looks really impressive!