What Makes Me Go Back to Bukidnon Again and Again?

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Since childhood, the place Bukidnon has always been ringing on my ears. My aunt's hometown was in Maramag, Bukidnon. Thus, it's her custom to visit her family during summers. I heard about its farms, its cold weather, and its cowboys. However, it was only in 2015 when the chance to visit this beautiful province came. My first encounter with this place was memorable. But that first visit didn't end. Since then, I kept coming back to this place.

IMG_0496.JPG
Caption: When I'm away from Bukidnon, I think of you!

Here are the reasons why I keep coming back to Bukidnon:

SAM_1250.JPG
Caption: Mornings in many of the places in Bukidnon are really cooler than in cities.

1. My Love for Nature

A landlocked province in the Philippines, specifically in North-Central Mindanao region, Bukidnon is known for its rich agricultural economy. To be honest, when I stayed in Bukidnon for I year and a half, I did miss my the smell of the oceans and the seafoods! Even though, we can't see seaports in Bukidnon, we can see many forests and lakes.

SAM_1211.JPG
Caption: Nature is one of the many ways God expresses His love for us.

Bukidnon means "mountain dweller". Well, the name of the province itself gives us a clue of its geographical features. Bukidnon is a mountainous region. With its vast forests and lofty mountains, it's really fit for those who love adventure. I love nature and of course that makes me love Bukidnon. This place brought me amazing scenes of the countryside with its clean and fresh air, delicious fruits, cool weather, rich flora and fauna, etc.

malaybalaysept17 (1).jpg
Caption: This was in a park in Malaybalay City. It's a great place for jogging or walking.

I still have to visit so many places in Bukidnon. I want to climb the Musuan Peak, Mt Capistrano, Paminhawa Ridge, and more! I also want to drop by Dahilayan Forest Park Resort, Cafe Bukid, Lake Apo, and so on.

2. My Sweet Friends

"We're forever friends, bound by love that time can't take away..." , this song reminds me of my sweet friends in Bukidnon. Meeting them always fills my heart with joy.

29683633_1799313346796417_7989018885908249737_n.jpg
Caption: This photo was taken during a convention at Bagontaas, Valencia City, Bukidnon. Oh, how joyous we are!

Because of the student organization I'm active with and the people I met in my school, I met many nice friends in Bukidnon. They're so hospitable and warm. Whenever we see each other, we do not just greet but we do hug (of course, with females only).

Execomm_cmu.july18.20.15 (3).jpg
Caption: At Central Mindanao University

Like for example, I've got a friend in Malaybalay who welcomes me every time I drop by to her city. She toured me around the Kaamulan Park amidst the chilly breeze. Another set of friends are those studying in Central Mindanao University. Although, we only see each other during conventions, congress, or church visits, the bond between us keeps getting stronger through the years. Lastly, the people I met in Mountain View College. Although some of them are not in Bukidnon anymore, we still communicate via social media.

3. My Mission

I am an advocate of students' holistic development. Our meetings are held in different places in Northern Mindanao. From Gingoog City to Iligan City, we visit campuses and churches to promote holistic growth among student missionaries. Some of these Executive Committee meetings are held in Bukidnon. Some in Malaybalay City, Valencia City, and Maramag, Bukidnon.

pls upload (2).jpg
Caption: I believe that we should be a blessing to each other.

NBD meeting july 15.16 (1).jpg
Caption: Traveling becomes a delight especially when you are with your co-workers!

During our meetings, we talked about how to help students develop holistically. We are not college faculty members nor educational experts, what we aim is to simply encourage students to excel academically without compromising health principles, community involvement, relationship with their families, and communion with God. We also resolved some issues on organizational protocols.

Bukidnon is a great place for a retreat. During our trips, we often do exercise outdoors and breath some fresh air. We also do walking around the campuses to gaze at the verdant trees and beautiful flowers. We did some morning devotionals while sitting on the grasses with the sky as our roof. How awesome!

Excelsior forevermore!
Please continue to support @surpassinggoogle
If you haven't vote your witness yet, vote Terry now!
Write @steemgigs >>>https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Oh, don't forget to vote for @paradise-found, @bayanihan, @allaz, @arcange and @yehey, @yabapmatt @teamsteem @bayanihan @jerrybanfield @hr1 @acidyo @blocktrades @curie @cloh76.witness @rcarter.witness @reggaemuffin and @arcange, too!

@abigalloveremo

new-grateful-vibes.gif

steemitfamily.jpg

abilove.png

Sort:  

we are going to bukidnon by october but since our flight schedule has been changed by cebpac, i am planning to move it to august because its free.. would that be a good idea? or october is a better sched? we want to go to dahilayan. i have not heard of Cafe Bukid yet..but i want to add it on my list of places to check

Oh! Hmmm. it's cooler in bukidnon during the "ber" months. If it's in august, that would be the rainy season, right? :) I think in October you may see lots of fallen leaves (so it's like autumn...) @junebride.
God bless in your trip! :)

I liked all the images you have captured I liked nature very much as you like but missed in this city life its all in the village I missed my village life
thanks for sharing @maujmasti

Oh, thanks a lot @maujmasti for dropping by. :)