My Japan Journey: Tokyo

in #travel7 years ago

Hi folks,

Since I am currently travelling through the Beautiful country of Japan I thought I would share my travels, thoughts and photos with my fellow 'Steemers' .

Day 1: Narita Airport to Asakusa, Tokyo.

The journey from Narita Airport one of Tokyo's main airports to Asakusa took just over an hour mostly consisting of rice fields and residential suburbs of Tokyo. At 9am in the morning it was already 70°F (21 celsius) ! Being from the UK this was new for me.

Once arriving at my hotel I am shocked to find the view looks straight onto the 'Tokyo Sky Tree' which is the tallest tower in the world at 634 Meters and only the second largest structure in the world behind the Burj Khalifa in Dubai.

20170428_084512.jpg

After having a coffee to perk myself up after the long flight I went for a walk around the Asakusa neighbourhood and ‘senso-ji’ which is the oldest Buddhist temple in Tokyo built in 628AD. Apparently 30 million people visit senso-ji per year.

Asakusa Neighbourhood:

20170428_090752.jpg

Senso-ji temple:

20170428_091441.jpg

20170428_092604.jpg

Hunger strikes! Before coming to Japan I had read about a fast food noodle restaurant called ‘Ichiran’. These resturants are dotted around Japan and serve some of the best ‘tonkotsu’ ramen around although you do have to order your food on a vending machine and give the tickets to the chef!

20170428_123943.jpg

One of the best meals I've hands down ever had (or maybe UK food sucks?).
They need Ichiran in every country!

If you enjoyed let me know and i'll continue the blogs.

Adam.

Sort:  

On day 1 you might love the food and say UK food sucks but after a couple of weeks of it you will change your mind (if you're anything like me) haha... or maybe not! Love the picture with the Skytree in the background, I would recommend going up it if you get the time.

Definitely on the to do list! Thanks for the up vote.

You're welcome! Looking forward to seeing some more pics from your trip

Look amazing. I want to know more about the trip

I'll continue the blogs then. :)

Congratulations @adammac! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Congratulations @adammac! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!