Adsactly Travel - The Paradise Across the Fishing Village

in #travel6 years ago

Attachment-1 (34).jpeg

It was my first trip of the season to Koh Chang a couple months ago and I was at the right place, at the right time. It was the beginning of the rainy season so Chang Island wasn't raining daily yet and there wasn't the congested traffic of the high season. The conditions were perfect with the ideal small amount of rain every four days or so and most of the resorts had already closed for the rainy season.

Koh Chang is directly translated in English as Elephant Island but a fun fact is all the elephants on the island came from the Eastern part of Thailand, such as Surin, Thailand. The reason the island is named Elephant Island was due to its size. The island was big enough to shelter ships on both sides through monsoons and the islands rainy season hundreds of years ago. When the island became a heavy tourist attraction, they brought the elephants over to fit the name of the island and appeal to families.

The Fishing Village and the Feast

Attachment-1 (27).jpeg

When you hear the words fishing village and island together, 9 out of 10 times, there's going to be a seafood feast around the corner. We managed to book our rooms at the Salakphet Restaurant and Resort to be closer to our goal. The goal was to reach the unnamed beach known to everyone as the Long Beach resort. It was already late afternoon so we decided to make it an early dinner full of seafood.

Attachment-1 (37).jpeg

We sat down and started drinking a bit. The next thing I know, I was in a full seafood feast. We ordered steamed female crabs with the eggs and the seafood dip was made to perfection. The crabs were medium size but the crab meat was thick and had a sweet taste to it.

Attachment-1 (39).jpeg

Another amazing crab dish was our deep fried crab hoi jor which in English is called deep fried crab meat roll. The plum sauce was mildly sweet, the ideal taste of the dip for a premium cooked crab hoi jor.

Attachment-1 (38).jpeg

We moved on to fish because staying in a fishing village, it's already a must. I was in love with the fried grouper fish in garlic and chili sauce. I'm a grouper fan plus I love garlic so I didn't mind the sweet part of the sauce. It was perfectly blended with the garlic. There was this amazing scallop and ginger stir-fry dish that woke up my senses. I like taking big bites of ginger so that natural spiciness it delivers makes me inhale from the hotness.

Attachment-1 (36).jpeg

The local sashima was sliced to perfection and seemed to melt in our mouths with the taste of wasabi exploding through our nostrils.

Attachment-1 (28).jpeg

After dinner, we moved our drinking party of four to the resort's family room we were sharing. We set up our remaining food and beverages on the tables of our room's balcony.

Attachment-1 (32).jpeg

The layout of the room made me imagine that a lot of their guests must be from tours and tourists with their families. The double king beds in most of the rooms were perfect for a family of 4 to 5.

Attachment-1 (29).jpeg

The single rooms that were closest to the edge of the pier were perfect for honeymooners or young lovers running away from their problems together, for months at a time.

Attachment-1 (40).jpeg

Every room had these adorable daybed nets that couples up to 150 kgs collectively, can lay on and cuddle the morning away. At first, there's that fear of falling through but then logic kicks in and the nets become quite comfortable.

Attachment-1 (31).jpeg

I'm not much of a drinker so as my awesome party of 4 began enjoying themselves, I walked around the fishing village to enjoy the landscape that Salaphet had to offer.

Attachment-1 (25).jpeg

I took several pictures of the landscape and came back to order more food before the kitchen closed.

Attachment-1 (30).jpeg

They have a saying in Salakphet as far as feasts are concerned. Don't come to a fishing village and order chicken. We ate so many crabs I almost smelled like it in the morning.

The Paradise Beyond the Fishing Village

Attachment-1 (26).jpeg

Across the Salakphet fishing village is a priceless unnamed bay of paradise that is known to the locals as Long Beach Resort. The reason for this is because they were the only resort ever opened there, and now the Long Beach Resort has been closed since 2013. There are rumors that they open the bar and the restaurant in the high season but by the looks of the cottages, they've been uninhabitable for a few years. We wanted to take our 2 Toyota Fortuners so we could pack our equipment and do some exploring. A better mode of transportation from the Salakphet Village would be to hire a boat to take you over there and back.

Salakphet Fishing Village is on the undeveloped side of the island so the road to Long Beach Resort wasn't a far drive but very complicated. The roads are very steep and worn through Ban Chek Bae with one road in and one road out. I've been there before on previous trips years ago, and some parts of the roads got better while the good parts on prior trips, got worse. When we arrived at the Long Beach Resort, I made sure to spray my whole party down with all natural insect repellent on our bodies and the chemical stuff on our paracord bracelets.

Attachment-1 (22).jpeg

We walked down the unattended stairs to the beach and when we got to the sand, the entire ocean seemed to shine emerald green. It was a piece of paradise waiting to be rediscovered. We found a camping point next to a huge tree with a broken swing and rusty nails to put down our stuff. I couldn't help but quickly put down my things and run straight into the clear emerald waters of the Long Beach Resort.

Attachment-1 (23).jpeg

I dove in and swam towards the currents and when I emerged from the water and looked back onto shore, it was like reliving moments of paradise. I knew at that point I wanted to experience more moments like these during my borrowed time on Earth.

Attachment-1 (21).jpeg

I spent long moments in the clear emerald waters and when I was finished, I grabbed my phone and sat on the white sands. I began recording a hermit crab trying to sneak past me, and as I was recording, I felt some stinging on my back and thought it might be from the salt water. Nevertheless, I managed to get great footage of my new hermit crab friend in a green shell. We had spent several hours there exploring the beach and taking photos of the landscape. Our appetites were huge by this time so we all decided to head back to our rooms and have another feast.

The Price of Paradise

As I finished showering the ocean waters off me, I sat on our rooms fishing nets and was enjoying the view when my significant other cried out, "O.M.G." She reached out and rubbed a knot on my back and asked, "Does this itch?" Maybe it was mind over matter up to that point but as soon as she touched it, it started to drastically itch. All 28 of them did.

Attachment-1 (24).jpeg

The stinging sensations I felt sitting on the beach were from sandflies biting me because I washed my insect repellent off in the ocean and my sprayed paracord bracelets were with my backpack closer to land. Heed my warning when I say, "Never underestimate Mother Nature on secluded beaches." We need her to survive and not the other way around. I found out that day that my carelessness in the field, resulted in learning how much the price of paradise can really be.

Authored & Photographed by:

@stewsak

Click on the coin to join our Discord Chat



Go Adsactly

Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!
Witness proposal is here:


Witness Proposal
Witness Proposal Update


Go To Steem Witness Page
In the bottom of the page type: adsactly-witness and press vote.
witness vote.gif
Use small letters and no "@" sign. Or, click here to vote directly!
Thank you!


Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

The Tlingit village of Angoon lies just across the harbor from Whalers Cove Lodge. Longtime Captains Garfield George and Kevin Frank both grew up in Angoon and have been fishing the local waters since they were able to walk. Tune in and see how this extensive knowledge leads to exciting times for their lucky clients. The bite is on and it’s the local hero’s who know where to find it

The fishing village was quite impressive and the locals were awesome.

"Appreciate you coming along on the adventure..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

The conditions were perfect with the ideal small amount of rain every four days or so and most of the resorts had already closed for the rainy season.

That’s exactly when I try to plan any of my vacations or short trips. Just before or after the season. The place feels like you are almost the only one there. Your seafood feast looks really delicious. I would love to have a taste of it 😆.

“melt in our mouths“

That sounds even more tempting. I do love garlic mixed with food as well, especially knowing it’s great and healthy benefits. I love the way the room are close to the water. I love to swim, so I would spend most of the time in the water. The water is amazingly clear for diving. I’ve never heard of sandflies, that would scare me off a bit since I don’t like to put any chemicals on my body. Anyway, great trip @stewsak!

An exceptionally lovely place. You superbly pick places for your rest, I like. The dish you have tasted looks heavenly and mouth-watering. I trust that their appearance is completely advocated by the taste similarly as scrumptious as it is lovely. Based on your depiction, it's extremely tasty. Above all else I loved crabs and fish in the last picture.

The rooms look present day and comfortable. What's more, the system looks great, I believe it's extremely agreeable to rest there :)

The fundamental fascination of this message is the shoreline and the ocean. White sands and emerald waters are a formula for joy :) Excellent shots. Simply judging by the most recent photographs bear in mind to disregard the risks of lost spots. I trust you immediately recouped.

Superb correspondence, much obliged!

Loading...

The team begins cruising through the stunning islands of southern Thailand, AKA Phad Thai Paradise! We swim through a give in to a marvelous Hong, find The Beach made so well known from Leonardo Di Cappuccino's motion picture, look at the insane party spot of Koh Phi, and douse up the chill vibes at Koh Lanta before setting sail to Phuket.

The Tlingit town of Angoon lies right over the harbor from Whalers Cove Lodge. Long-lasting Captains Garfield George and Kevin Frank both experienced childhood in Angoon and have been angling the nearby waters since they could walk. Tune in and perceive how this broad information prompts energizing circumstances for their fortunate customers. The chomp is on and it's the nearby saint's who know where to discover it..

A very beautiful place. You perfectly choose places for your rest, I like. The dish you have tasted looks delicious and appetizing. I hope that their appearance is fully justified by the taste (just as tasty as it is beautiful). Judging by your description, it's really delicious. Most of all I liked crabs and fish in the last picture.
The rooms look modern and cozy. In addition, the network looks good, I think it's very comfortable to sleep there :)
The main attraction of this message is the beach and the sea. White sands and emerald waters are a recipe for happiness :) Excellent shots. Just judging by the latest photos do not forget to forget about the dangers of lost places. I hope you quickly recovered.
Excellent communication, thank you!

So glad you enjoyed the post. The resort's food was really great, they have really good staff there. Thanks for coming by and have an incredible weekend.

"Appreciate you coming along on the adventure..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

Seems like an amazing travel experience with those awesome clicks, they really are astonishing, depicting the amount of leisure, fun and excitement one would have at such wonderful places, across the globe, except for the fact that the sandflies perhaps acted as the spoilsport and the itch n pain must be unbearable.

@adsactly wow amazing hello 👋 sir,, I think somewhere we all go around, so you're traveling in a different place, so much fun, I think you are very enjoyable, the most fun thing is so beautiful Island surrounded by water and the house, and so beautiful Beautiful fish meal I think you enjoy your first trip

very good

Wwow, very nice pictures and a nice description. I much like the swing on the beach, I wish I could take that to my home :)

The swing looked like it's had some great days back in the days :)

"Appreciate you coming along on the adventure..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

Love it there one day I will make it down to that area. What is the language Tagalog, Visaya, Cebuano? Love the sunset on the beach. Wish I could be transported there right now. Love it and the two of you take care.

It was an amazing place. You would love the locals. Thanks for coming by and have a wonderful weekend.

"Appreciate you coming along on the adventure..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

Nice! Love your perspective. Enjoyning what is before you and taking it all in. Manatee love? Yes! Biolume! Glowing Entrails! Yes! Gotta add this place to my bucket list. Damn. The more I cross them off the more get added! Hoooya!

The secluded beach was paradise until the sandflies got me. LOL.

"Appreciate you coming along on the adventure..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

You are right sir 9/10 times we think what you written and by the way this is awesome place to visit happy journey @adsactly

Next time, I won't let my guard down on the beach around those sandflies.

"Appreciate you coming along on the adventure..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

The island looks beautiful... That could be the best place for honeymoon... But your back looks bad.

you are very looking beautiful

Thank you Yogesh :)

The back healed and ready for another adventure...LOL

"Appreciate you coming along on the adventure..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

Waiting for more of your adventures :) All my best wishes :)

The itches look really bad. But everything else looks awesome.

Amazing pictures :)
We've also been to Koh Chang but not to the part where you stayed. We were close to Long Beach.
Koh Chang is definitely worth visiting!

I need your support by upvoting me,please kindly upvote me, I have sweet stories on my update.

Thanks for stopping by.

"Appreciate you coming along on the adventure..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

WOW, that's amazing! The pictures make it look abandoned in my opinion! Would you say there were quite a bit of people that were visiting there? Also, you could play "Connect the dots" on your back! lol, I'm definitely adding it to my travel list destinations! Nice post!

I was there at the beginning of the rainy season so all the resorts on the island closed until Oct. We had the resort to ourselves and my back itched like crazy for days...Arrrgh! LOL

"Appreciate you coming along on the adventure..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

By reading your article,I think I would go there?

You would love it :)

"Appreciate you coming along on the adventure..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

Great photo excursion of your travel there! The prossaic expression of events is equally splendid.
Keep availing us your brand.

Hello Sir @Adsactly.The crew starts sailing through the amazing islands of southern Thailand, Aka phad Thai Paradise! I loved your photography. Your article is amazing, I want to travel with you. By reading your article,I think I would go there..Very tropical.Thank you for sharing the information. I really love traveling,It is interesting to learn new places. Have a nice day! Love it. Upvoted.Sir @Adsactly.

What an awesome report of an amazing trip! And OMG - sandflies? That looks seriously painful :(. Did the bite marks (and itching) go away fast?

Sandflies are pretty brutal...LOL. It took about a week or so but I'm pretty used to them. Just let my guard down and was careless. But that beach was super worth it :)

"Appreciate you coming along on the adventure..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

Judging by the pics, the beach was totally worth it!

Amazing article...
i didn't see 77 reputation before...
Great ...

So happy you enjoyed it and have a wonderful weekend.

"Appreciate you coming along on the adventure..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

You all post inspire me a lot.

Thanks a million!

"Appreciate you coming along on the adventure..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

Great experience, similar in west africa Ghana I visit 2013 call Nzulezu.

Would love to visit Ghana sometime this year.

"Appreciate you coming along on the adventure..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

WARNING - The message you received from @coconut-chanel is a CONFIRMED SCAM!
DO NOT FOLLOW any instruction and DO NOT CLICK on any link in the comment!

For more information about this scam, read this post:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@arcange/phishing-site-reported-steem-link-premium
https://steemit.com/steemit/@arcange/anti-phishing-war-the-crooks-continue-their-bashing-campaign

If you find my work to protect you and the community valuable, please consider to upvote this warning or to vote for my witness.

I have water 😋 in my mouth after watching these yummy fishes.

The fish were mighty scrumptious :)

"Appreciate you coming along on the adventure..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

Ohhh! Woou I loved your photography. Your article is amazing, I want to travel with you. LOL

So happy you enjoyed it and hope you have a lovely weekend.

"Appreciate you coming along on the adventure..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

i like to travel

Traveling is pretty awesome :)

"Appreciate you coming along on the adventure..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

@Fishing Village paradise..

We simply comeback the front this piece of paradise, With plenty of reminiscences to share and one hundred`s of photos to treasures the beauty of the location,it seashores ,it human beings, will hold in drawing us returned yr after year,
Nevertheless the allure of a fishing village ,however with a fast peace of the many people from around the sector that come right here to have a danger to go into the emerald green Caribbean in any form of vessel to enter the country wide park of the east, especially to Saona Island,and it fantastic beaches,Or to locate just a quiet not to crowded corner of the Island Like we did...by way of going to the Canto de l. a. Playa, The trip in horses to the underground river , the journey to Catalinita island inside the chanel of saona, The walk across the parks and visit to some of the swimming hollow ,all this are unforgettable, that is why we deliver Bayahibe the first rate score...As we additionally give to Eco Natura excursions global. Our more honest thanks you for creation of one of these lovely location and be there for us ......

@Upvoted

The fishing village of Salakphet was really welcoming. Love them all.

"Appreciate you coming along on the adventure..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

Really a heavenly place. Excellent pictures. Seeing your back reminds you to bring enough insect repellent :D

Always have to keep that insect repellent on deck...LOL

"Appreciate you coming along on the adventure..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

That deep fried grouper fish topped with garlic chili sauce is really mouth-watering!!! Thai food is just always full of great explosive taste, super like it!!!

This looks like an absolutely gorgeous place to visit. Paradise for sure! :) Thailand is definitely on my bucket list!

very good place and nice showt picture taking wonderful work.@aryaan

Great pictures! Your pictures really are able to tell a good story.

wow, that's great I like living near the sea, the green scenery of the sea make me enjoy.

Please follow me.1080full-celine-farach.jpg

@adsctly very nice picture..loved it..thanks for sharing

You know, I've been living in Thailand for 4 years and I've never been to this amazing place. Now I want to go there even more.

It is really soo Beautiful amazing post

In China,we also steam crab,but we eat them with vinegar.Somtimes we cooking crab together with beancurd.The food looks delicious and the landscap is beatifully.Thank you for you sharing。

this is so amazing! i love the ambiance around. i wish i live here

So beautifullllllllll
Travelling is my part of life....

This place is definitely a paradise. moreover the way you described it and those images are breathtaking , and you got amazing skills buddy, keep growing.

Stunning area! the best and maximum beautiful things inside the global cannot be seen or maybe touched - they have to be felt with the coronary heart. the vicinity is incredible, and the photos are the first rate.

So beautiful you are best photographer amazing. Nice pictures i like it very much
Nice to meet you ! I am colorme from VietNam. I am new on Steemit.
I want to share with you about "Short space of time to Phú Yên in Vietnam"
https://steemit.com/travel/@colorme/short-space-of-time-to-phu-yen-in-vietnam

Oh my goodness this place would be my absolute heaven.I lvoe everything about it. From the luxury to the seafood to being on the water. I'm sure you had a wonderful time there. I need to add this to my travel bucket list.

Owo Beautiful Place ...!! if any body need Relax they are going that place

wow very nice post

There are 2 pages
Pages