#1 Travel Log - Journey towards the Sun

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

On the Road

Summary

Route: Helsinki -> Turku
Distance: 190 km
Duration: 3 days + 1 day in Turku
High Speed: 59 km/h

IMG_20170518_210530.jpg

Day 1

All technical struggles with the bike have finally been resolved.
It time to start the trip, after finishing my introduction post on Steemit and getting some food, I finally start driving. The clock shows 5:30pm already but it’s Finland, the sun doesn’t go down until 10:30, so I’m good to go. The distance to my daily goal Nuuksio National Park is just a comfortable 30km.
During spring, not many people are in the Park at night time, so I just choose the central camping ground of the Park and except for me there is just two girls at the fireplace. They are really nice and we share drinks and grilled chocolate bananas. We sing some campfire songs together, while one of them is playing on a Ukulele.
IMG_20170516_220122.jpg
Then it’s time to put up my hammock for the first night. I find two suitable trees and go to sleep. Admittedly it is still really, really cold, but I survive my first night. :D
IMG_20170522_173303_676.jpg

Day 2

I befriend three local Park Scouts, leave my luggage with them, and start exploring the park on foot.
FotorCreated2.jpg
IMG_20170522_172914_541.jpg
After hiking around for some hours it’s starts raining a bit, so I get myself a coffee and chat with the scouts until the rain has faded and start heading out. Direction: Somehow to the west.
IMG_20170518_210709_HDR.jpg
It quite late already, so I am always directly facing the sun. A recurring scenario for the next days. Luckily, I have (awful looking bicycle) sunglasses. While I make a short break by the road, two other bike tourers come up two me. They are Russian and barely speak any English. But we are all heading towards Turku so we decide to team up. They had already chosen a camping location at a nearby lake. In a matter of minutes, they put up the tent and erected a cooking place on a campfire. They are clearly more experienced than me, and I can still learn a lot from them, in exchange I teach them some English.
t1.jpg
It will rain this night, but since my new-found company happens to have a three person tent, I decided to put my tarp to test at a different time.

Day 3

This will be the first real challenge. We’re planning to go all the way to Turku which is about 120 km. I have never cycled that far in one day before. We make some breakfast and hit the road.
IMG_20170517_191335.jpg

After some breaks we finally at the break of dawn (around 11pm) we arrive our goal a beautiful lake closeby Turku. A local recommends us a place to camp and we cook some dinner and go to bed.

Day 4

Very early in the morning the others are going to catch the ferry from Turku to Stockholm. I continue to sleep in my Hammock and enjoy the beautiful view and amazing weather.
IMG_20170519_090827_334.jpg
Around noon, after doing some Yoga at the beach, I head into the lovely city of Turku.

Turku

I can stay with a relative of a friend in Turku, so I’ll spend the day in the sun exploring the city. The mood is great, everything feels alive. Since the day being one of the first really warm ones this year, everyone is outside and having a good time.
IMG_20170521_210402_527.jpg
When I am about to meet up with my host for the night, I get to know a local passionate traveler and we exchange contacts. Then I meet my host for the night with his girlfriend and after finally enjoying a warm shower again, I go to sleep on an inflatable bed.

Day 5

On the next morning, I meet the local from the day before. The day is just as sunny and we go sit down by the river, watch people on water-jetpacks, exchange travel stories and she helps me plan my trip to Åland.
IMG_20170520_121306.jpgIt turns out to be more complicated than expected, since the main season hasn’t started yet and there are way less ferries running. When we eventually finished planning everything it is already too late for me to reach the ports for the small Archipelago ferries, so we have food and I start cycling on a scenic route to take the ferry on the next day.
PANO_20170520_190228.jpg

Sort:  

Very nice pictures my friend, thank you for sharing your experiences with us. Beautiful the place that you visited, I would love some day to know that magnificent forest. I hope you have an excellent weekend!

Welcome to steemit @artesian.life I have an advice for you., if you have any way to verify your profile, do it first. verified profile will help you a lot! The steemit community is full of excellent users and all are exigent. This will help you avoid any future problems.

If you have any questions, you can go to steemitchat.com, use the #general channel.
Or if you have any particular doubts, feel free to ask me. Good luck.

====> @jessy69 <====

Hey @jessy69, I did a verification pircture in my introduction post.
Is there anything else I should do?

Awesome shots. Looks like an amazing journey :) I follow you to see more :)

Thanks :) I try to keep up with posting. I'm in the middle of the next chapter already