My first time in Surigao City (Part 1)

in #travel2 years ago

mabua.jpg

After feeling exhausted from a 3-hour bus ride, and 5-hour sleep in a cramped up bedroom, I take a deep breath and prepare myself for the first day of our itinerary. I pause for a few minutes waiting for my turn sitting in a small living room with a freshly brewed coffee, feeling the day wondering what is going to happen. I gaze around smelling the sad state of a new place uncertain and excited at the same time. I’m not ready but I am feeling optimistic.

surigao 4.JPG

I barely know some of my roommates, I have no idea about the city and will surely have to make up with the adjustments. As I fixed my coffee I heard one of my roommate approaching, I look around and he gives me direction, asking me to hurry up. I agreed and quickly settled myself and finished the shower in just 20 minutes.

surig7.jpg

We had a delicious $1 breakfast at a small eatery just a few blocks from our homestay and spent 10 minutes in traffic before we arrive at "Luneta Park" our first stop. Yes they have Luneta Park, because why not.

surigao 2.jpg

It has manicured garden and lots of benches and lovers too. Every corner has huge hardwood trees shading the park. In front of it is St. Michael Parish church with devotees crying for help to the patron saint. On the other side of the park are the street vendors, fruit stands and food stalls. Near to the church are a group of blind masseurs waiting for customers. There are also several establishments, restaurants, schools and, department stores surrounding the area. The tourism office is also located inside the park ready to assist wandering travelers. After almost 2 hours of walking along pebbled path and red bricks I somehow appreciated how the city center is set-up with easy accessibility to almost everywhere.

surig12.jpg

Actually, this is my second time in Surigao City, the first time was just a quick bus stop. So, basically everything to me is first here. Although the city has the same set-up like every cities in the Philippines, Surigao is a little different because of its unique "Visayan" language. The people speak “Surigaonon” apparently, and they speak so fast you can barely understand them. The city is considered as the “city of island adventure” with so many unique attractions (which I will discuss later in my next post).

surig5.jpg

It was past five-thirty as we headed out waiting for a ride. The sideways are crowded with people glancing in every direction. We fit ourselves in a 6-seater tricycle, traveled across a small alley and catch a glimpse of sunset before it fades as we reach a bridge connecting the next Barangay. Underneath it is a makeshift port for local fishermen from nearby islands buying and trading stuff in the city. We arrive at our homestay almost dark and spent a few minutes outside at the corner of a broken streetlight catching up. It wasn't bad after all. Like love at first sight, I fell in love with Surigao City.

surigao.jpg

Disclaimer: This happens pre-pandemic so mandatory face mask is a thing of the future. The photos are not in particular order and may not be accurate in the present as I took it several years ago.

If you have something to add please do not hesitate to leave a comment. Thanks for reading and do upvote if you find it interesting.

Sort:  

Congratulations @baninan! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2021 - Become an Orca!

thanks

You are welcome @baninan! It is great to see you are doing your first steps! Great work!

Traveler man diay hehe

Before pandemic heavy gaal

Haha karon?

Carcar to cebu city and vise versa on a daily basis, 😅

Hahahaha mao ka

Start pa lang ni haha . can't wait to share your travel photos and stories 😍

d jud mo apil si tin kay kapoy daw suwat2 ahaha

Hahaha 😂 Let's enjoy hive nlang. Apil s xmas party ba 😊

I will check my schedule charr

A nice place wow..

Na excite na daun kos "on my next post" ferrnnn haha

Available na sya hahaha