The Amazing Craftsmanship of the Sanctuary of Truth

in #travel7 years ago

Work began on this all-wooden temple in 1981, and it won't be finished for another 40 years, its easy to see why.

The Sanctuary of Truth


The Sanctuary of Truth, which is also known Wang Boran (ปราสาทสัจธรรม), is being constructed on a jutting point at Naklua in Thailand. Accordingly, it has been designed and built to withstand the harsh weather conditions that it will encounter in its life on the ocean front.


Witnessing the Sanctuary in real-life, it truly is spectacular. The top of the building is over 100 metres high, and everywhere you look the monstrous structure is immaculately detailed. It is constructed entirely out of timber which has been cut, shaped and engraved with a variety of traditional Buddhist and Hindu designs. it utilizes Khmer style architecture similar to that you would see at any of the famous Angkor temples in Cambodia.




According to the their website, its purpose is to use art and culture as

"a reflection of the Ancient Vision of Earth, Ancient Knowledge, and Eastern Philosophy. Within this complex, visitors will understand Ancient Life, Human Responsibility, Basic Thought, Cycle of living, Life Relationship with Universe and Common Goal of Life toward Utopia"


To Get There:

It can easily be visited in a day trip from either Bangkok or Pattaya.


Below are my images of The Sanctuary of Truth. I honestly think they don't do it justice, it was a bright day with lots of glare and many of my pictures were over-exposed. It is for this reason I have also included some professional photos of this amazing place. It's definitely worth spending a few hours wandering around in awe at the workmanship that has gone into the construction....And its not even half finished yet!


My Images


Additional images from:
http://arounddeglobe.com
www.sanctuaryoftruth.com
www.thailandtoursonline.com

Sort:  

Wow, it looks amazing! This is definitely on my to-see list for Thailand ;)

its well worth a trip if you are near Pattaya.

I've been to this temple, it really is very special and unique

Some really great shots of this location, this is on my list of things to see next time I am around.

WoW! This looks amazing!

This post received a 50% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @bkkshadow! For more information, click here!

Beautiful journey!

thank you

You're welcome.

how beautiful it is

its even more beautiful in real life

80 years for a building project.. that is crazy. Looks fantastic though!

Its one of those projects that I think will never be finished. By the time it is complete they will need to go back and start repairing the first bit again :)

Reminds me of the La Sagrada Familia in Barcelona. Such projects fascinate me, where the initiators know from the beginning they will not see the final result.

I'm fillowing you please follow me @puffin and give me upvoted

It looks like a very impressive and detailed building. This style of architecture seems different to most other temples in Asia, it's unique!

I agree, it is a very unique style for sure

beautiful..just upvoted and followed u...plz follow me back...i will be really glad

thank you, I will check your posts now :)

looks unreal I hope to see it one day

Beautiful @bkkshadow i'm following you please follow me and give me upvoted

What an amazing looking site - thanks for sharing this one - a definite must visit!

I've never been to this part of thailand but someday hopefully i could visit this. It looks amazing!