Melbourne

in #travel7 years ago

Like many cities, Melbourne is filled with curious beauty if you're only willing to look beneath the surface.

One of my favourite elements of the design of Melbourne's buildings is the heavy art deco influence that can be found throughout the CBD.

Here are some examples from a little walking tour I took myself on today...

Landsdown St.jpg

I must have walked down the opposite side of this street at least a dozen times, but today I thought I would take a different route - when this caught my eye. I don't know the origin of the building or the design but I don't think that changes its impact.

Newspaper Building.jpg

This is the Newspaper Building on Collins Street, it's my favourite example of art deco that I've found so far. It looks better in spring, when the trees are green and the sun is shining. Even today though, when it was 8 degrees and threatening rain, it still looks beautiful.

fire man.jpg

This is in a random foyer on William Street. Again, I don't know anything about the building or the art work (seriously, someone should write a history about these. I'm surprised no one has) except that it's completely breathtaking.

globe man.jpg

I've long been meaning to take a photo of this guy, who may or may not be based on the whole Atlas Shrugged thing. Today wasn't so busy, so I finally got my chance.

I am sure there are more examples than these out there - I just haven't discovered them yet. Stay tuned over the next few months for more, as I continue to explore the sights and sounds of Melbourne, all on my own.

Thanks for reading...

Next week I'll be interstate at a work conference - so we'll take a look at the sites that Brisbane has to offer. It's really a very different city to Melbourne in every way imaginable.

Racheal

Sort:  

Real art in Melbourne!

haha! Yes, it's everywhere :) A beautiful city

Enjoyed this little tour! Thanks for sharing :)

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.
Check out the other content resteemed by @resteembot.
Some of it is really cool!