Exploring the capital of India - New Delhi! A traveller's perspective. A must visit on everyone's bucket list

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Snapdeal it was!. Finally it was ‘THE END’ to the 'HECTIC’ placement season( HECTIC is an under statement. I really can’t express how hectic it was :P). The most exciting part was when we were told the training would be in Delhi. I would get to travel, explore a new place, new culture, food and meet manyyy people. My joy knew no bounds. The travel buff in me had already started making infinite plans. Every second a new place was added to my extremely lenghty bucket list. It was the beginning of an exciting new journey.

   Time flies! I had been waiting for this day since I joined engineering. Every year when I would see my seniors graduate, I used to wonder when that day would come when I would be independent and start earning. Woah! I would finally start earning. Waiting for your first pay check is probably one among the best feelings in the world. I had a long to-do list, many places to visit and was eagerly waiting for my first pay check.

    It was just the beginning of June and I had already started packing my bags. Trekking shoes, travel bag, goggles, blah blah blah. “Neethu! Are you off to a trip to Delhi? :P You remember it’s a training ?”. “Amma! RVCE has taught me how to survive!. I am sure the training won’t be hard. We will travel during the weekends and study all week.” Little did I know that we would have training on saturdays and even some sundays.

June 30: 10:59 a.m : Indira Gandhi International Airport

    It was Delhi! India's national capital. The hot air slammed my face and gave me a sense of Delhi’s weather, and how I would have to survive the heat for the next 2 months. It was a horrible scorching 42 C.

    The shopper’s paradise, swallowed up by an ocean of people, the hustle bustle, unrelenting traffic, daily fight with the auto rickshaw drivers and the extreme temperatures. That’s Delhi.

     My itchy travel feet refused to stay imprisoned within the four walls of the guest house. Everyday a trip was planned to explore the beauty of the place, experiment new cuisine and meet people. No matter how hectic the day was, how early we woke up or how late we slept, we always had plans and we made sure we executed them. There were days when we spent the entire day travelling.

     To be frank I never found Delhi or Gurgaon unsafe. Every place on this planet is safe if you know how to stay safe. That’s my motto. I think in some ways Delhi hardens you, and makes you stronger and bolder.  I learnt to not be surprised by anything and to deal with things that happen with patience and humour. It empowered me. It’s the unexpected things that will make you love Delhi, even though they will make you crazy!

    The beauty and charm of the city inspired me to explore the hidden treasures of this amazing city. Days flew by and I was in love with this amazing place.

    There’s lots to see and do in Delhi, and many reasons to love the city. The metro makes travel hassle free and easy to get around the  city in air-conditioned comfort. Travelling in Delhi is  inexpensive and fun. You just don’t have to worry about traffic.

    Delhi is way too big to tackle all at once. We used the 'Divide and Conquer’ approach to visit places. Each day, we picked an area and went exploring. There is no end to the historical sites, markets, restaurants, parks and lively street scenes you will find.

Here are a few of my favourites

  1. Cyber Hub-Gurgaon: I just love this place. Called as the 'Mecca for Corporates’, this is my favourite place in Gurgoan. I haven’t seen another place with such great ambience. I can’t express! One has to experience the awesomeness of this place. All I can say is this place is heaven for foodies.

  2. Hauz Khas Village

  3. Shopping at Janpath, Sarojini and Lajpath Nagar- This place is more about bargaining than shopping.

  4. Parathewaali Galli, Jalebiwaala and the cycle rickshhaw rides in Chandni Chowk

  5. Cafes at Connaught Place

  6. India Gate, Qutub Minar, Lotus Temple, Jama Masjid

These are a few places in Delhi I enjoyed the most.

     Delhi is the best! Be it street food or fine dining. The roadside Parathas, sweets at haldirams, Lassi, Jalebi, Dahi Bhalla, RajKachori, Dahi Papdi Chat, Kesar Kulfi, Rasmalai…the list is never ending.

    I love the markets of Delhi. Shops and stalls filled with clothes and jewelry. It’s a paradise for shoppaholics.

    Delhi is a glorious City and endlessly fascinating. All this made me fall in love with Delhi in a very short span of 2 months. Life was fun. You don’t visit Delhi! You experience it. The city that will make you cry when you land, when it rains, and when it’s hot. You will also cry when you leave it. It’s been three weeks since I left Delhi. I still long to visit and explore the place again.

11846548_752081728236499_2309649892607357326_n.jpg11870784_756956791082326_7788851044298124910_n.jpg

Sort:  

Great post!. Really beneficial since I will be travelling to Delhi soon. Keep posting. :)

Thanks a lot @vcgadiyar :) Welcome to Steemit :)

Hi Niveditha,

Beautiful pictures!

I tend to be very interested in things many people find boring, and as a result, I am fascinated with the events around the changes to currency in India. In your time in the markets, did you see anything that might be relevant on this topic? How are traders in the streets transacting?

Thanks so much for your post!

good work! keep it up :)