You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Taking To The “Friendly” Skies Again

in #travel2 years ago

It's crazy how much flying has changed in just the past couple of decades. When you look back to advertisements to the 70's, it is hard to image we have gone from there to here. Besides the no smoking thing, I don't know if all of the changes are necessarily good. I saw Miami of Ohio is going to require masks due to a recent Covid uptick, so you might want to keep that on your radar. Hard to say if it is just localized or if we will see clumps here and there. Sad thing is, even if you decide to do a carry on only, there is nothing stopping them from saying the place is overloaded and making you check it at the gate anyway!

Sort:  

Totally, it used to be more of a luxury experience even if you flew coach. They served real multi-course meals and everything but the tickets were also much more expensive. Now, the experience makes you feel like cattle. Oh yes, the Covid numbers are exponentially up in some regions. We'll be masking up through the airports. I need to keep a really close eye on Canada's test requirements too. I've heard of some instances where you have to buy an at home test and do a video call to show an agent your negative results before they will let you cross the border. I just opened a new tab and ordered more in-home tests while I was thinking about it. The whole luggage situation is my main concern and it really will be a crapshoot from what I understand. The only thing on our side flying out is it's a SUPER early flight so it isn't full.

Yeah herded like cattle is such a good comparison! That is cool that you ordered more tests. My wife and I sign up for the free ones through the post office when they are available.

That certainly is what it feels like sometimes. Yes, that's where I ordered from last night. You can get up to eight at a time.

It is a shame that more people are not taking advantage of it. Even my parents haven't bothered to get their free tests. I keep bugging them though.

I know! They're good to have on hand, especially if you're in a high risk category or traveling. I have a feeling they'll be in demand this fall during traditional flu season too.

You are probably correct. It will be interesting to see if the schools starts offering testing again when classes pick back up.