Taking To The “Friendly” Skies Again

in #travel2 years ago (edited)

A lot of things aren’t as they once were before the pandemic but air travel is probably close to the top of that list. A friend (@luckyfellow) and I have been doing a buddy trip every year since the year 2000. In those 22 trips around the sun we’ve only skipped two vacations, once because of my friend’s heart transplant and the other one was in 2020 due to the pandemic.

Juan and I are traveling to Montreal in about a month and planning the trip this year is taking a little more work. The airline we booked with, Air Canada, has been in the news a lot lately because of canceled flights and lost luggage so we thought it was a good idea not to check any bags and just take carry-ons.

This seems simple enough on the surface, right? Except Air Canada happens to be one of the most strict of airlines when it comes to carry-on size requirements. Most of the carry-on luggage brands that I’ve researched varies just ever so slightly from the dimensions listed on their website.

From what I've learned, if the bag’s dimensions vary even slightly it depends on the mood of the airline employee who’s processing you through the airport if they make you check your bag or not. Both of our bags are slightly larger in one or more of their stated dimensions (by a fraction of an inch) so, basically, it’s going to be the luck of the draw. I’ll have an AirTag in mine so I can track it just in case.

Activities

We always have a great time in this city. People call it the Paris of North America and for good reason. French culture permeates every facet of Montreal. This year we decided to add a couple of Airbnb experiences into our itinerary.

Ax & Knife Throwing

&

Paint and Wine in an Artist’s Studio

Aside from these two things I’m going to be trying something I've always wanted to experience, the water circuit at a local Montreal spa. This water circuit is like the modern equivalent of a Russian Banya or sauna. It gives you a huge adrenaline boost and is also supposed to work wonders for your immune system.

We’ll also sample plenty of the local food, check out the live music scene, and some of the local farmer’s markets and festivals.

This annual trip has become very restorative for the both of us. It’s kind of like a “reset” in our busy lives and I feel very grateful to have been able to do this so long and with such a good friend.

This will be our fourth time back to Montreal (2017-19, 2022) and will likely be our last. Here are some videos of previous trips. Next year we’ll be trying a different destination.

It’s so very important to, every now and then, take a pause and celebrate life’s little victories and successes. Memories of moments like this will someday be all we have left so be sure you’re making lots of them. Oh and please wish us luck with Air Canada, I am afraid we might need it.

~Eric Vance Walton~


(Gif compliments of Giphy.com.)


alt text

Poetry should move us, it should change us, it should glitch our brains, shift our moods to another frequency. Poetry should evoke feelings of melancholy, whimsy, it should remind us what it feels like to be in love, or cause us to think about something in a completely different way. I view poetry, and all art really, as a temporary and fragile bridge between our world and a more pure and refined one. This is a world we could bring into creation if enough of us believed in it. This book is ephemera, destined to end up forgotten, lingering on some dusty shelf or tucked away in a dark attic. Yet the words, they will live on in memory. I hope these words become a part of you, bubble up into your memory when you least expect them to and make you feel a little more alive.

Pick up a copy of Ephemera today on Amazon.



alt text

Most of us have experienced a moment of perfect peace at least once in our lives. In these moments we lose ourselves and feel connected to everything. I call these mindful moments. Words can’t describe how complete they make us feel.

These moments are usually fragile, evaporating in seconds. What if there was a way to train your mind to experience more of them? It’s deceptively easy and requires nothing more than a subtle shift in mindset. My new book, Mindful Moments, will teach you to be much more content despite the chaos and imperfect circumstances continuing to unfold around you. Upgrade your life experience today for only $15.99 on Amazon.com.



Let’s Keep In Touch

www.ericvancewalton.net

Sort:  

It's crazy how much flying has changed in just the past couple of decades. When you look back to advertisements to the 70's, it is hard to image we have gone from there to here. Besides the no smoking thing, I don't know if all of the changes are necessarily good. I saw Miami of Ohio is going to require masks due to a recent Covid uptick, so you might want to keep that on your radar. Hard to say if it is just localized or if we will see clumps here and there. Sad thing is, even if you decide to do a carry on only, there is nothing stopping them from saying the place is overloaded and making you check it at the gate anyway!

Totally, it used to be more of a luxury experience even if you flew coach. They served real multi-course meals and everything but the tickets were also much more expensive. Now, the experience makes you feel like cattle. Oh yes, the Covid numbers are exponentially up in some regions. We'll be masking up through the airports. I need to keep a really close eye on Canada's test requirements too. I've heard of some instances where you have to buy an at home test and do a video call to show an agent your negative results before they will let you cross the border. I just opened a new tab and ordered more in-home tests while I was thinking about it. The whole luggage situation is my main concern and it really will be a crapshoot from what I understand. The only thing on our side flying out is it's a SUPER early flight so it isn't full.

Yeah herded like cattle is such a good comparison! That is cool that you ordered more tests. My wife and I sign up for the free ones through the post office when they are available.

That certainly is what it feels like sometimes. Yes, that's where I ordered from last night. You can get up to eight at a time.

It is a shame that more people are not taking advantage of it. Even my parents haven't bothered to get their free tests. I keep bugging them though.

I know! They're good to have on hand, especially if you're in a high risk category or traveling. I have a feeling they'll be in demand this fall during traditional flu season too.

You are probably correct. It will be interesting to see if the schools starts offering testing again when classes pick back up.

Haha! Good luck with Air Canada! I like them normally. I am not ready to fly yet. :( I wish I was, but, just not there yet. Both of my sisters went on vacation and came home with Covid. Now, I know you can get it in the supermarket, but, they didn't.

I have two friends and we go on vacation every year, even pregnant. I know, but, it has been fun! We didn't plan this year yet! We didn't go in 2020 0r last year.

Airlines can do what they want. Good luck! I think you will do great! Kiss Montreal for me!

Thanks Denise! I've always liked them in the past too but the recent challenges have hit them extra hard for some reason. I just discovered we also have to register with ArriveCan and go through verification and/or Covid testing 72 hours before we travel. You would think the airline would inform you about this.

Oh no! That doesn't give me confidence about traveling. This variant is just so contagious. Juan just had it about three weeks ago and it was mild in his case.

I'm glad you have the same tradition with some of your friends. You all will appreciate it even more when you can resume. We'll be taking every precaution we can during the trip but I guess you just never know, some things are left to fate.

I cannot believe I forgot to upvote you. Pfft.

I cannot believe the ridiculousness we are still encountering two and a half years later. :( I am not a negative person at all, but this is starting to, you know... stink a bit.

I am so jelly, but, so very happy for you. I will surely appreciate it when we can do it again!

Planning the trip is fussy and time consuming but also very exciting. I wish you good luck guys and that nothing will change your plans this year.

Yes, it takes some research to set up a good trip but I also like to leave a lot of it unplanned and allow for spontaneous things. Thank you @zirochka, I hope things are improving for you over there. We just saw in the news that ships full of grain have left Odessa for the first time since the war began.

Yeap, and if inspection will be passed, the next one will go today. Still can't believe it.

I remember my first trips, I.always plan it myself. And I tried to do and see as much as I can. Because, I was always short in time (and money, to be honest). And after few years I realized that I'm missing something important, a spirit of the place, its taste. I cannot feel it in haste. Now, I love to have a free time, unplaned opening for anything I want, adventure, strolling around, relaxing somewhere of even sleeping in a hotel 😊

A lot things including prices are not the same before the pandemic. I haven't been able to go abroad in 2020 and 2021 due to the pandemic, and this year due to inflation. Even domestic travel is expensive.

I hope things will be better in near future. Have a good trip mate.

I'm sorry to hear you haven't been able to travel. Airline ticket prices were a lot more expensive here but are coming down now. The ticket prices weren't that much different here in North America. We're also taking advantage of the favorable exchange rate one $1 USD is worth about $1.30 CAD, so this is really going to help with expenses. Thanks!

The problem before than ticket prices is visa for me. It would cost about $125 for the Schengen area.

Also, we are taking disadvantages of exchange rates. Our currency has been devalued more than double against USD in two years.

I guess the pandemic has really quite changed a lot of things I must confess which was not as it was before. The price of traveling ticket has soar high and it seems even things price has soar high using my country as a massive example

Definitely! Prices are sky high here on some things, other items are coming down in price (finally).

Looks like you are going to be having so much fun except for the airline restrictions.

Well, I like your idea of having to reset and celebrate life.

I just might not like the idea of trying new food.

I am quite picky.

I hope you have so much fun..

Cheers

Thanks, I'm really looking forward to it. Schwartz's Deli is one place I'd like to try, they're supposed to have world class smoked meat sandwiches. There's also a lot of really good French and Asian cuisine there. What kind of foods do you like?

I've been saying it a lot lately, but Covid changed the world in so many ways, we would never have believed things that's been happening and still are!
An almost deserted runway and airport was unheard of before Covid, but it's common these days with late flights. So many local airlines have folded and many travelers have lost money on flights.
I do hope your trip goes smoothly Eric and that your luggage passes the size test:)
I'm sure that you'll have a great time trying out those new experiences as well!
It sounds wonderful, enjoy the trip!

Thank you! Oh, my friend, tell me about it. Although I appreciate some of the freedoms and normalcy we've gained back we still have a long way to go. I haven't drawn in years but I'm looking forward to the art class, it begins with meditation and they serve wine throughout the two hour class. It's hard to say what my painting will end up looking like...probably pretty "abstract". Lol.

Well you never know what hidden talent you have, you may become known as EVW author/artist 😉

That "artist" title would be used very loosely in my case. : )

It’s so very important to, every now and then, take a pause and celebrate life’s little victories and successes. Memories of moments like this will someday be all we have left so be sure you’re making lots of them. Oh and please wish us luck with Air Canada, I am afraid we might need it.

As I see it, the luck is mostly needed with the bag size, so good luck to you. Especially with that. Hopefully they will allow your bag. Enjoy your travel, and everything else too. Both the water circuit and the new foods sounds interesting and exciting.

Have a nice day. All the best. Greetings and much love from Hungary.

Thank you for the good luck! Maybe I'll bring some chocolate for the airline agent, that improves everyone's mood. Lol. Thanks my friend I wish you a wonderful week!

Things are really getting higher day by day after the pandemic and this really needs to be looked it before we experience another inflation crises

Yes, food is especially pricey here in the US. Gasoline prices are finally dropping a bit though.

Congratulations @ericvancewalton! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 50000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 51000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the August 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-07 - Winners List
The 8th edition of the Hive Power Up Month starts today!

Of course it is very nice to travel with a loyal friend. Indeed, sometimes we always miss a place even though we have visited the place regularly. May your days always be beautiful, Eric.