Family Trip to Laguna Beach, California - An Artsy, Seaside Town With a lot to Offer!

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

As none of you remember (my bad, shout-out to the one upvoter), I asked for some suggestions on where to go with my mom and sister in southern California. We finally settled on Laguna Beach and absolutely fell in love with it. But heads up, if you want to go, don't fly into LAX. Choose John Wayne airport or even Long Beach or San Diego - they're not kidding about that LA traffic!

I almost wish I watched MTV's Laguna Beach and its spinoff The Hills, but maybe it's better I didn't because I had zero expectations upon arrival. All we wanted was a peaceful, beachy spot where we could settle in and relax. Laguna Beach delivered 100% and if you haven't been, I'd highly recommend it - I'm already planning my trip back. 

It's a picturesque seaside town with a distinctly artsy flavor. Filled with boutique clothing shops, jewelry nooks, art galleries, and home to several arts-focused festivals, Laguna Beach celebrates artisans from all trades. If you want to surf, hike, or practice your om, you're in luck, as the town offers numerous ways to stay physically active while visiting. (I did a spin/upperbody class at Rhythm Ride as well as a yoga class with my sister and mom - her first time, newbies welcomed - and loved them both.) My only regret was not getting out in the water to try stand-up paddle boarding (SUP) - the current and waves were "too rough" (according to several vendors, so I suppose there was some truth to it).

But when it comes down to it, we loved Laguna Beach because it was a perfect backdrop to our family vacation. As mentioned in my original post, this was a special trip for me, my mom, and sister, marking the one year anniversary of my mom completing cancer treatment. It's an understatement to say it was a grueling year, but we have much to be grateful for. And there was no better way to appreciate our current situation and my mom's improving health than by being together for a few care-free days.

So if you're looking for a quaint town offering enough entertainment within walking distance to keep you occupied for days, while providing an oasis for relaxation on the beach, definitely consider Laguna Beach. We particularly loved where we stayed: The Retreat in Laguna Beach. It was a collection of private "villas" (be generous in your definition) with a kitchen (this was imperative in our case given my mom's eating restrictions as we had to prepare most of her meals) located across the street from the grocery store (which had a pretty amazing deal on wine and beer, I might add) with easy access to the beach down a few flights of stairs, free wi-fi, free parking, free beach chairs/umbrellas, and within one-half mile from the main center of town. We couldn't have asked for more and recommend it without any reservations!

Sort:  

Hey @cehuneke, looks like you had a wonderful family vacation. I like Laguna also and yes, welcome to Los Angeles traffic. I have never lived in NYC but L.A. traffic is just miserable. I dread going to LAX for international flights. I think you did the right thing, not to watch MTV the Hills or Laguna Beach period : )

You're probably right about the tv shows :) I'm guessing you live in CA then, @runrudy (also based on your Clark Griswold post)? This was my first time out there, but I'm hooked!

I am born and raised in San Diego. All of the coast is pretty nice going up the Pacific Coast Highway. Cheers.