Early morning hike to ancient ruins of 13th century fort - Torna

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Dear friends,

In this article, I will share with you all my experience of hiking a beautiful fort located in the central part of India. As an amateur, I started hiking and exploring local places before starting hiking in Himalayan ranges as it needs significant experience and endurance level.

Below are the pictures of early morning hike to this fort called ‘Torna’ located in Maharashtra state of India. It is located on top of a hill and has an elevation of 1403 meters above the see level with a great views of small towns around and the Western Ghats. We can still see the ruins of fort that is said to belong to 13th century and was later in 16th century governed by the famous Maratha dynasty.

There are lot of photos that were taken all along the way and I have posted them below. These are my own photos and are not taken from anywere 😊

IMG_6841.JPG

IMG_6845.JPG

IMG_6847.JPG

IMG_6849.JPG

IMG_6850.JPG

IMG_6860.JPG

IMG_6861.JPG

IMG_6862.JPG

IMG_6866.JPG

IMG_6869.JPG

IMG_6874.JPG

IMG_6875.JPG

IMG_6888.JPG

IMG_6890.JPG

IMG_6892.JPG

IMG_6893.JPG

IMG_6896.JPG

IMG_6900.JPG

IMG_6962.JPG

IMG_6969.JPG

IMG_6992.JPG

IMG_7003.JPG

IMG_7006.JPG

IMG_7008.JPG

IMG_7011.JPG

Hope you enjoyed photos. If you have any questions related to the post, feel free to ask below.

Thanks for reading the post. Your comments/opinions are welcome. Please follow for more posts and updates.

Spread love 💖
Chaithra Bhat

Sort:  

Wonderful pictures - thanks so much.Upvoted you. what sort of singing do you do (I saw in your profile...)

@katythompson - Thanks for taking time to check out my post and appreciation :) Well, as I am originally from India, I learnt classical carnatic music ( A form of classical music originating from southern part of India). I also love to sing romantic melodies in Hindi and kannada (Languages from India, as you know we are very disverse! ;)) Since it is an international platform haven't uploaded any, but may be soon will upload some of my recordings.

Lots of good photos.

Thanks for your compliment :)

Your welcome)

Great pictures on mountains and the nature.

Thank you! I tried my best to capture the beauty what my bare eyes could see.

My friend, a kind reminder here.
#cn tag is stand for chinese.
However, no chinese was detected in this article.
Please use wisely for your tag,thank you.

That's quite a fantastic view of the hills! I love the western ghats! I haven't done a lot of treks but have toured around a bit on my motorcycle in these parts in the past. What are you going to be writing about next? :)

Thanks @firepower :) Tell me which post you would like to see next, I will plan my next trip there! : p Just kidding. Working on my Himalayan trek and would upload soon. On the other hand, have few trips from Europe. Will be posting one by one! :)

I would actually love to read story and see the pictures from your Himalayan trek first. I miss the mountains so much! It's been a while since I moved back home to Mangalore from Delhi, and I've travelled a fair bit when I lived there. I'm sure it might bring back some memories and possibly inspire me to write another travel story. :)

Travel is one of my favorite tags on Steemit and I'm always on the lookout for interesting places to visit and things to do.

@firepower - If so, then next will be my first exploratory Himalayan trek :) Will try my best to portray the beauty of them and hope will inspire many of them out there to go back to mountains ;) Hiking in Himalayas is like an addiction, once you start you will go back again with time. Same for me and lot of other people. So much of postive vibes there which will call you back after a while of mundane city life :)

Tell me about it! I still remember the time, 5 years ago when I quit my job in digital advertising and hit the road not knowing where it was going to take me. I think I should write about this soon. What a liberating feeling that was!

Now you've got me all pumped up to read your next piece! :D haha!

Haha :) Yes, you should write about it. I am sure it will be a great story!

I am very happy to read your post.

Elrond Huston Aka ehuston

Really beautiful photos, congratulations!

I love how you captured the beauty of nature and the "mystery" of the ancient ruins.

Congratulations once again for such beautiful photos! :)

Thank you for your kind words! :)

Amazing photos and what a place! Where in MH is this exactly? I went to Lonavala recently and there are some great hikes there as well.

Added this to my bucket list! Thanks for sharing @chaithrabhat! :)

Thanks for compliments @droidsid !
Yes, it is a great place to go hiking. You will love it!
It is pretty well known and largest fort in Pune district. Leave Pune and drive in Pune -Satara highway, after around 50 kms you have to take a diversion right to Sahyadri ranges at a place called Nasrapur. More details please refer the internet as from here you leave the highway and go through few villages before starting your ascent up. Also, if you are up for it could try this more adventurous route. Night trek from Rajgad Fort to Torna Fort all the way through many mountain ridges. Check it out. Hope that helps! :)

You're welcome! :)

Thank you so much for the info! I will definitely do this trip next time. Me and my friend didn't go to Pune last time. Will check out the night trek as well, sounds awesome!

Glad to meet a Mangalorean! :D

Same here :D

Almost a year since our last roadtrip Sid! GTFO of your house, we need to hit the road once again dude!

Damn this is beautiful! The western ghats have always been mesmerizing!

Thanks @sanjayjkamath. True, there are so many hidden beauties and great treks with number of rare species of flora and fauna in western ghats. That is why it is one of the UNESCO World Heritage Site! :)

This beautiful views, truly amazing. It seems like travelling at higher altitude and capturing the stupendous views is in your veins. :)The southern part of western ghats is also amazing especially Kodiakanal , Coonoor, Idukki and Munnar, if you haven't visited yet then do pay visit you'll love it. :)