Traveling around the world is my dream

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

 Why do I like traveling?

If we look to the world map, how many countries on this universe? There are 195 countries in the world. Do you think, you can visit all these countries in your entire life? Of course not ! Many people living on this planet, they could not even afford to pay for a holiday in their own country. 

 I grew up in during the war and in a very poor family in Battambang city, Cambodia. When I was 3 years old, I always heard many shooting gun and bomb every day. In the morning, I saw many dead bodies were lying on the ground. My world was very small and full with Horror. I never think that, I could even survive until now and have my own family. My father was always kept telling me and my two younger sisters, when we were in the banker. He said, It will be fine son, if you are looking up to the sky, you can see the world is big. 

   

There are a lot of things to see and to learn. You should never give up in your life and always follow your dream and love what you do. I knew, he kept telling me that, because he did not want us to be scare, but I realize that it is true what he said to me. 

 My parent had 9 children, but 4 children die in during the war. They are older than me. I never seen them before, even their picture. 

 You do not even have money to support your family, how can you manage to travel?

We should never give up in life and always look further. Most important thing you can do is, to make a clear decisions. Keep asking to your self, what do you want for your future? 

 You like to have an expensive mobile phone, a fancy car, a big villa, to travel around the world? Of course you can, if you are rich. Otherwise, you need to make a choice between buying an expensive car, better buy a cheaper car and keep the money for travel.

Lets me tell you, how did I manage with all my travels.

 After my father died, I was a big brother in the family. I could not finish even high school. I had to make money to support the whole family and I still had my dream, that I wanted to travel around the world. In the years of 2000, I became a motor-taxi driver in my home town called Battambang in Cambodia. At that time, the tourists started to come to visit Cambodia. I decided to learn English from a monk in a pagoda. Only 6 months, I could communicate with tourists already, but I could not write any English yet.


https://postimg.org/image/sot7e538d/ab78ec2d/

I heard lot of nice stories from tourists with their traveled experience, made me feel that, I could not wait anymore to discover the world. 
I moved to live in a city called Siem reap. It is very touristic place in Cambodia and it is a place of my first traveled. I was a motor-taxi driver and a tour guide over there. I lived there for two years, then I got a job from a big tour company. I became a tour leader for four countries. Cambodia, Laos, Thailand, and Vietnam. With my job, I met many people from different countries around the world. 

 Of course, as nice single guy like me, I met many beautiful tourists girls with different nationalities across the world. 

 In the end, I met the right one for my whole life. 

I met my girl friend in Cambodia, when she just finished with her study and she traveled around Cambodia. We felt in love and we have been living together in Cambodia for a year. One year later, I moved to live with her in the Netherlands. We have two beautiful daughters together. Me and my girl friend, we have the same dream. We love traveling.  

 Cheaper way of travel

First make a plan, which country you would like to go and visit. Then, book the plan ticket or a hotel three months before. If you get a chance, better travel in a low season, when there are not much tourist in a place that, you wish to go and everything will be cheaper for you. If you want to buy something or eat something, its should be in a local area. Do not buy or eat something in a touristic place, because the price can be double and you will know nothing about local life.

 If you are traveling around Europe or in an expensive country, a cheaper way to sleep in a hostel or go for a camp. If you have no money to travel, you can try to find a job in a place that you wanted to go. That's what I did.  When, you are traveling a lone will not make you feel happy. Mostly you feel very lonely. It is good to open your self to other traveler by having a chat with them. You can even share a room together if you are feel close together. 

 How many country, I have been already?

First, I have been around in my own country Cambodia, then to Thailand, Vietnam, Laos, Netherlands, Germany, Belgium, Switzerland, France, Luxembourg, Slovenia, Italy, Austria, Spain, Japan, Greece, Poland. Total 17 countries. I don't know, if I can traveling around the world in my whole life, but it is always still in my dream.

 Please always follow your dream and love what you do and never give up in life. 


Thanks readers, I hope you enjoy with my dream of traveling around the world.

Greeting from @chanthasam



  


 

Sort:  

Very inspiring and real . For a lot of us its just enough nudge to ubderstand how life is , how wonderful. Thanks for the stories . You are awesome . Photos are antique .

Thanks for a nice compliment my dear friend @doctalk. Have a great weekend. Greeting from @chanthasam

WARNING! The comment below by @rikirz leads to a known phishing site that could steal your account.
Do not open links from users you do not trust. Do not provide your private keys to any third party websites.

War and poverty during your childhood taught you many things and a good experience on life and the world. That's why you're open-minded @chanthasam

Thanks, my dear friend @mimbel. What you said, it is true. I am a open mind person. I do have a lot of friends in every place I go, like I have you now as my on steemit. Thanks my friend. Greeting from @chanthasam

a very good and sad story, hopefully my friend @chanthasam remains excited about the passion right now .. success always make you friends

Thanks for your supporting me my dear friend @putraabdal. I wish your dream become true. Greeting from @chanthasam

I am sure your dream will be come true.
Greetings @rithysakkim

Thanks @rithysakkim for your supporting. I wish your dream become true too. Greeting from @chanthasam

Happy family

Thanks my dear friend @chanmaly. Have a great weekend. Greeting from @chanthasam

Wow great family, Thanks for sharing.

Thanks buddy.

You are most welcome.

Wow, great story and nice advice to reach your dream to traveling around the world @chanthasam, I hope i can reach my dream too

Thanks for nice compliment my dear friend @akar-rumput. I wish you dream become true. Have a great day. Greeting from @chanthasam

Good post, I like it

Thanks @aqilafatan. Have a great weekend. Greeting from @chanthasam

Good post, thanks for sharing

Thanks for sharing, I like it

You're welcome my friend and I am happy you like it.

what an inspiring story. courage and commitment always helps. keep it up. bye the way you shared some great tips on saving while travling around world.

Thanks my dear friend @mateen come a long. Happy to know that, this true story inspired. I hope tips that I shared, can help all the traveller. Have a great weekend. Greeting from @chanthasam

Looks like we share the same dream my friend
And one thing i'm sure of, is that you're capable of achieving this one

Oh really ? You do have the same dream like me? That is really cool my dear friend @morocccantoughts. I wish your dream will become true. Have a great day. Greeting from @chanthasam

Wow, I have been wondering how you met your girlfriend. You know, my parents lived in Battambang at one stage. I was born in Australia, so I don't know what it was like and I have never visited Cambodia before. But they have told me stories about how they lived, the war and what they were forced to do to help each other survive. My whole family could have been blown up if it wasn't for some particular incidents that occurred when a bomb had blown up near them. I would have never been born if that was the case.

Anyways, on a lighter note, reading your story and seeing your photo about how you met your partner is really touching.
Thanks for sharing!

Wow, really? Your parents lived in Battambang in during the war in Cambodia? I think, they must had a hard time. Are they Cambodian? Or Are they Chinese Cambodian? Yes, I knew that kinds of feeling, when the bomb blown up close to you. Your heart started to jump very fast. You always praying to god to stop the bomb. Mostly it did not work, you had to find a place to hide, like a banker. It is really amazing that, your parents could survived from the war. There are 2.5 millions died in during the khmer ruge regime. You should visit Battambang, if you have a chance. You can find very friendly people with open minded in Battambang. I still had a bad memory in the past, but I see more positve things in Cambodia. People became more intelligent then before. Thanks my dear friend @supersoju. I wish all your dream become true. Have a great weekend. Greeting from @chanthasam

Yup they lived there during the khmer ruge, my mum was heavily pregnant with my sister at the time and still had to work hard long hours, all for a small bowl of rice. They did lose some siblings through the war. There was even a photo I saw of the torture/humiliation before death of my mum's family member. Where they placed the him between two wooden planks that had holes for your neck and wrists. Then they put the planks together and locked it and made you walk the streets to say goodbye to your family.

Anyways, on the a lighter note, my dad is half Cambodian and half Chinese. My mum I thought was full Cambodian, but I found out a few months ago she is half Chinese and half Vietnamese but she was raised in Cambodia and she speaks Khmer. She learnt to speak a Chinese dialect through my dad whilst bringing us kids up. I do hope to visit Battambang one day. I want to go with my parents so they can show me around tell me stories of their past. But my mum doesn't want to travel much anymore because she gets tired and sore. Maybe one day she will change her mind.

This is a beautiful and powerful story.
You have had a hard life, and many sad things you have experienced in your family.
But you're positive attitude and spirit have lifted you and keep you motivated. Well done
I can also see you're father in you. Thank you for sharing such personal photos and your story with everybody.

Thanks my dear friend @sanddrift for a nice compliment. It was sad story, but it was telling about true life. I think people in the world has a differents life experience. We will always have sadness and happyness together. That is the way of life living my friend. Follow our dream and keep everything positve. It is a way to solve the negative a way. Have a great weekend. Greeting from @chanthasam

Thank you so much for sharing your story. I hope you are able to one day see the whole world :) I love to travel too!

You're welcome my dear friend @wierdomagnet. Thanks for come a long my friend. Have a great weekend. Greeting from @chanthasam

I would very much like to visit the world. great photos . It is so nice that your girlfriend likes to walk like you

Yes my friend @chanthasam does not give up, life does not accept defeat, effort and perseverance are those who make success, live with hope and challenge difficulties, I liked the topic I spoke about your resume. Thank you for that @aherbil

Hello friend @chanthasam what a beautiful story and very sad at the same time, you lived hard and painful moments, but your always positive attitude and the desire to keep going took you far away, you have a wonderful family and a very nice wife, thanks for having shared some of your life, happy afternoons

Thanks for your support my dear friend @glorarbolivar. I would say, I fight to survived in during the war and keeping follow my dream, but I am happy what I have now. Have a great time and Greeting from @chanthasam

Real your story you were inspired to tell us a bit about your life and your family thank you for sharing, you are a warrior you have had a very difficult life but you overcame the obstacles with your faith and your positive attitude you went ahead, my admiration for your courage, thanks for sharing your story and your beautiful photos. greetings @chanthasam

Thanks for a sweet compliment my dear friend @betaniaj. The most true story of life can inspired people, because the writer wrote from his heart with his emotions. Thanks for come a long. Have a nice weekend. Greetings @betaniaj

Great post! thanks for stopping by at my post aswell, very inspiring! hope you can travel as much as you can, just keep up the hard work

Good to see you here and thanks for a nice compliment my dear friend @heyitshaas. No need to say thanks my friend, I love click on your post and read it, if I have time. You are a good blogger. Keep it up too. Have a great weekend. Greeting from @chanthasam

Good post, good life,,, success for you..

Thanks for came a long with a nice compliment my dear friend @inoer. Have a great day. Greeting from @chanthasam

When I was in Bhutan, a restaurant owner once asked me why do I like traveling so much?

I replied, “I love to eat so I travel to taste what they are known for”

Haha, me too, Every country I have been, I always had to taste a local food in that country. Have a nice day my friend.

I love to travel because salade nicoise, salmon jerky, irish butter on irish soda bread, hot cherry peppers on a Pat's Philly Cheesesteak, and deep fried lobster in Puerto Nuevo, Baja California. And, then, a nice walk on a brisk day in each of these lovely locations. Now I feel like I completed it.

@chanthasam 😊.

Kali ini saya berkomentar dengan bahasa saya 😊. Perjalanan anda sangat menyenangkan, soal foto bersama di atas, itu foto baru atau foto lama @chanthasam? Soalnya saya perhatikan anda seperti kaku sedikit he he he 😂😂😂. Tapi sangat ganteng 😊🤗👍👍👍

Brother @chanthasam
You are incredible, have traveled to several countries, I have not one country I visit,
How are you, long wait for your new post this time I can see it! 😊