Travel Diaries: Exploring Florence In The Rain

in #travel7 years ago

Hello all, I'm finally back from Florence after taking a three day break from Steemit. I've never been away for so long from this wonderful platform and boy did I miss it. As I stated in a previous entry, the reason that I couldn't post while I was away, was because my trip was very short and we wanted to make the most out of the time we had in Italy. But don't worry, as promised I'll be telling you about what I got up to whilst I was away and filling you in on my adventures.

So, let's start with Day One: Traveling to Florence and what we did on our first day.

Me and my mum got up at 4.30 in the morning and traveled to the airport by car. After finding our parking space and gathering our luggage together, we headed into the airport and began the long and tiresome process of going through customs. I won't go into too much detail about this, as if you've ever traveled by plane before, you will know that going through customs is extremely time consuming and very dull. We did have a quick look in duty free and picked up a pair of sunglasses and a lip gloss. I slept for the majority of the flight, which lasted 2 hours. When we arrived in Pisa, we then got a bus to Florence, which took another hour and ten minutes.

The first thing we did when we arrived in the city was to check into our hotel room. The hotel was beautiful, however the one downside to it was that the view from our window wasn't all too picturesque:

We didn't want to waste any time, so we immediately did a bit of exploring and had an ice cream! For the latter half of the afternoon, we climbed up a beautiful tower next to a huge and intricately designed cathedral. There were beautiful views from the top of the tower, which would have been even better if it hadn't been tipping it down with rain. We had to wait almost an hour to actually get into the tower because the queue of tourists was so long. Luckily we'd packed an umbrella just in case, but I wasn't wearing any warm clothes, as I was expecting the weather in Florence to be a little better. (Luckily it picked up for the other two days that we were there).

For dinner we ate at a lovely restaurant (which I can't remember the name of). We ordered so much food as we hadn't had much to eat for lunch. We ordered some Foccacia bread to start, as well as a Mediterranean style platter. Of-course being in Italy, I had to order a pizza for my main course, which was absolutely delicious. For dessert my mum had a panna cotta and I had a fresh fruit salad.

During that evening I got a message from an old friend of mine who I hadn't seen for a few years, saying that she was also in Florence. It was odd but also very nice to hear from her, and If I'd have had a bit more time, I'd have loved to meet up with her whilst we were both out there. Strangely enough, another of my friend's from my old sixth form college was also out there at the time on an art course!

We had a bit of an early night on the first night as we were very tired after our early start to the day. If you want to find out what we got up to on our second day, make sure you follow me as I'll be posting another entry very soon! I hope you enjoyed reading this, please upvote and resteem if you did and maybe leave a comment down below! As always, have a great day and thanks for reading. (All of the images used in this post were mine except from the one below which I found on Google Images).

Sort:  

Love the pizza. I am a turtle man.

Looking forward to reading about day 2, I hope that the weather picked up :-)

Thanks! Yes it did. Day 2 should be up either later today or tomorrow :)

Looks like you had a good time in spite of the weather. Awesome pictures!!

Thanks Alice, yeah it was great. Wish I could have stayed for a bit longer!