Worldly Wanders #8 - Hello again Cape Town, South Africa

in #travel β€’ 7 years ago (edited)
image

Cape Town - I’m baaaaack πŸ˜ŽπŸ˜† I loved my last trip to the Mother City so much that I then already booked my flights and accommodation for this trip πŸ˜‰ Fortunately this time my wife and son were able to came along!!

We left home SUPER early in the morning (3 AM to be exact) and drove to a friend’s place in Jo’burg where we left our car. Our Avis chauffeur was waiting for us as we arrived (thank you FNB and eBucks Lifestyle) 😁 Fortunately we were ahead of the traffic and thus made it to the airport with loads of time to spare.

image

The only niggle was that the Slow Lounge at OR Tambo is currently being revamped and thus they are turning people away as the lounge reaches capacity quite quickly. Fortunately we made it into the lounge though and were treated with some divine snacks and cappuccinos β˜•οΈπŸ˜‹ I’m sure the slight inconvenience will be well worth it once the revamp is complete.

The traffic control tower was experiencing some hiccups, but after a short delay we were airborne - yeah!! Goodbye Jo’burg πŸ›«πŸ˜

image

image

After a few chapters of my book and a quick snooze, we arrived in Cape Town πŸ›¬πŸ‘πŸ» A little hazy today and some clouds - but I guess that’s expected of the Cape hey πŸ˜‰

image

image

image

image

It is so green here compared to back home! And I absolutely love the colours of the buildings - a real rainbow nation 😁

image

To top it all off - this little guy got to fly the plane!! 😳 Whahaha!! Not!! πŸ˜‚ The pilot was kind enough to let us take a pic of him in the cockpit πŸ“ΈπŸ˜Ž Just look at that expression - he was so excited!

image

Well, we have a busy schedule ahead of us! We planning on doing as much as we can whilst also relaxing a bit (not sure how we’ll balance that though yet). So stay tuned as we share this amazing trip with you...

cheeto.blue
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Please upvote if you liked this post, follow if you want to see more, and let me know your thoughts in the comments.

Equipment used:
Canon 6D
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM

Sort: Β 

superb pics. Great travel post :)

Thanks a mil 😎

:) welcome

Welcome to you & the fandamily!! Awesome stuff :) I'll catch up with you in the chats:):) Cheers!

Thanks man!! Been loving it here... Just struggling with your Cape weather a little hey ☺️

Awesome!! Yeah, in for a little cold weather and some rain tomorrow. I haven't checked the full report however I'm sure it'll clear up a little:):)

Gosh, had sunsine, rain, cloud, sunshine, rain, cloud, sunshine, rain and clouds - and all that before midday 😳

Bwahahaa, you really caught CPT at the 4 seasons in a day time. All before before midday, lol.

Most certainly did!! Was still amazing nonetheless 😁

Woohoo πŸ™Œ! Great photos of Cape Town from the air. You've captured that feeling of approaching the Mother City in a plane so well, and gee, your son looks excited. Lovely to meet Mrs cheeto.blue in photos.

Thanks for sharing the journey from early start to airport to flight to...hey, did you land? πŸ˜‰ Hope the rest of your trip is super exciting! Have fun! 😊😊

Hehe - thanks so much 😁
Been hoping to post some more but been getting home so late every night!!! Hopefully soon 😁

Oh, boy - can I relate! Plan: post a short, wonderful post every day after selecting best photos. Reality: get back at 10:00 and fall asleep immediately. Repeat next day to make sure post doesn't happen. Here's a thought, though - I've managed to write quite a few posts on Jhb-CT and CT-Jhb flights. It's a good time span for putting together text and choosing photos, even for several posts. Not sure if that's so easy travelling with family, though! Enjoy Sunday in the Mother City.

Oh...my...word!! Can so relate to this - that was my plan!! But yip, got home so late each night that we all just fell asleep...
Now sitting in the Slow Lounge trying to catch up replies at least...

Aaaaaand I can relate to that too...safe trip back....πŸ›«

Thanks a mil πŸ˜πŸ‘πŸ»

😊😊

Enjoy your trip to the fullest. I am amazed at the quality photos your camera takes!

Hehe - thanks @marcel1965 - having a blast!! πŸ‘πŸ»

Lovely family you have @cheeto.blue

Thanks @pandamama - they really mean the world to me ☺️

Awesome pics! Cape Town is beautiful

Thanks @drewley!! I love the Cape - so different to the rest of South Africa!!

@cheeto.blue got you a $7.49 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@cheeto.blue got you a $7.49 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cheeto.blue from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

You take the young one up one of the hills?

We were actually planning in climbing Table Mountain but my son got sick just be fore left home and is now on an antibiotic - so strenuous exercise is out πŸ™
Maybe next time though πŸ˜‰

Ooooh, sorry to learn 😒

Thanks - he's actually doing ok now... Weather not to greatest to climb the mountain though 😣

Well, it'll give you a good reason for going back. At least there's plenty of other interesting stuff to do in CT if you can't play on the mountain!

True that!! Did so much here - and have to go on a diet when we get home 😳

Oh, are you still there? Lucky fish! Enjoy 😊😊

And I'm glad he's doing ok now....

Thanks - he's waaaaay better! I got sick yesterday though but staring to get better too 😣

Oh no! Glad you're starting to feel better. No fun getting sick on holiday, but hard to avoid picking up the bugs from the kids....😷😷

Sorry to hear next time it is.

Yip, hopefully 😎

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.18$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

This post has received a 1.27 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @cheeto.blue.

Eyyy awesome stuff brother! Welcome back :D

That camera is BEAST! I love it. I can surely see the quality in the pictures.

Thanks @enazwahsdarb!! Good to be back in CT - I certainly missed this place hey 😁
Yip, save up your SBD and buy a full-frame camera hey πŸ“ΈπŸ˜Ž

Dude how much is that 6D :D

By the way, I posted my milestone post a few hours ago. See you there :)

Awesome man!! Will check it out!!
A 6D body is around 20k last I checked. There is a newer 6D mkii that just came out too though 😁

Nice photos from the plane!
I wish I took one of us flying in over False Bay. There was a Kulula flight in front of us and there were columns of clouds everywhere. It still fascinates me that we can fly.

Enjoy your trip!

Ah, that must've looked amazing!! Yip, still can't fathom that one hey πŸ˜‰

Gorgeous photos Cheeto! Cant wait to see more! Have a safe trip you guys!

Thanks so much @bearone 😁😁😁

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.18$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

I love Capetown. Cant wait too go there again. Enjoy

CT is amazing!! Feels like a different world almost 😁 Where in SA are you from?

Hey . I am from Richardsbbay been staying hèrr 28years and you?

Wow, I keep forgetting who is where 😜
I'm from Limpopo. Dis leaker by die see πŸ˜‰

Yep dit is ja! Maar dis net so lekker daar in die bosveld , was nou net die naweek daar bo in Thabazimbi en dit was n awesome naweek!

I thought u live in cape town!.. how arrogant of me . have a great time over there and can't wait to see more pictures.

Haha!! I live quite far north in South Africa - VERY different to Cape Town πŸ˜‰