Cheers to the Wild Women

in #travel6 years ago

I lost my grandmother today. She was 98 years old. After her husband passed away quite young, she traveled the world alone - making it to all seven continents. When I was young, she used to bring me home all sorts of trinkets - leather came figures from Egypt, roaring lion statues from China, blue tiles from Greece and a mini thumb piano (Mbira) from Africa. I know my itch to see a little slice of our planet came from her inspiration.

As she started to lose her memory, I would make her little photo books of all the trips I took, and she'd make me read them to her over and over again when I'd visit. Cheers to the wild women and those who love travel - and to those who pave the way for this generation to make it a thrilling lifestyle I'm forever grateful to experience - and carry on in her honor.

IMG_7345.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @crookedflight! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @crookedflight! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!