Sort:  

That's awesome, what incredible views over the mountains from the top and it's funny how monks have their own bathroom, why is that?

I'm not 100% sure. What I know of Thailand is that Monks are highly respected figures in society. Its likely to give them their privacy and/ or to show respect. In some places, you can find bathrooms exclusively for ladyboys too!

I loved my time in Chiang Mai and also visited and hiked up and down those stairs twice. Its some serious exercise and something you feel in your legs the next day! Did you see the people in the traditional costume towards the bottom of the steps?

Yes! I did. We actually went to the village and my photography professor snapped some pics of my classmates in the traditional garb. Wish I could find those photos to share...

Sounds like some awesome memories!

They totally are. I'll be back one day. Can't beat a $7 massage ^.^