Quote of the day: "Not until we are lost do we begin to understand ourselves."

in #travel6 years ago

Dear Steemit friends and followers,

With the weekend being over soon and the new week ahead of us, let me take this moment to share one of my favorite travel quotes with you.

KuEYXD1-1.jpg
Source: inspirational.ly, author: Henry David Thoreau, famous American essayist, poet, philosopher and naturalist


"Not until we are lost do we begin to understand ourselves."


What is your opinion on this interesting quote, my fellow Steemians? Do you also see any relation between getting lost somewhere and starting to understand yourself? Have you experienced something like this on your travels?

Let me know in the comments below, I am looking forward to your stories :)

Have a great start to the new week and Steem on!


Please feel free to check out some of my other recent posts.

Czech Airlines celebrating 95th anniversary: come to enjoy special sightseeing flights!

Collection of some of the most amazing photos from Prague/Czech Republic submitted recently by your fellow Steemians

ColorChallenge - Indigo Saturday - @stabilowl in 7 World's Continents Photo Challenge!

Prague/Czech Republic - Saturday photo challenge - share your personal pictures from your visit to the Czech Republic!


Tomas
CEO & Founder of CGH

logo.jpg


upvote follow resteem.gif


Sort:  

Really it s a great quote...I think it's about lettings go of who we thought we are, and letting go of the fixed attitudes that keep us in the same psychological place, which will inevitably leave us in a place of not knowing who we really are, which would feel like being lost. There has to be a relatively neutral space into which real understanding can enter.

You never know how strong you are until have experienced failure,dissappointments,loss and all the myriad of things that can take a person to the lowliest of lows. It is in this situations we learn more about ourselves.It is the lessons we gain from them that makes us wiser and allows us to gain deeper knowledge of ourselves and our capabilities.

Absolutely... you got it! Thank you for your input!

Thank you @czechglobalhosts. It was my pleasure.

Great post.Loved the amazing quotation.We have a feeling. Deep down, and it’s always been there. The problem is that it’s scary. Or we don’t know how to make it happen. Or it seems so impossible. Or we have no clue how to make money at it.That true we should have aim in our life to .So we instead of really dealing with those feelings, we become “confused” and we feel “lost.Thanks for sharing it with us.@czechglobalhosts

That is true in a certain manner.
In this world we are able to keep things in perspective................not exactly, it is more like that we keep ourselves oriented by the help of the things we know around us. Once that is lost we loose our balance and we have to dig deeper to be able find a semblance of orientation. This struggle can bring out qualities in us that we didn't know existed before.

“Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened.”
― Dr. Seuss

I like that! The smile makes a huge difference in our lives and lives of others... we all just have to smile more... Thanks!

The quote is totally true, my self discovery journey began after I left home for secondary education at a boarding school.
Damn, it was not an easy period for me. I lost interest in everything i thought I loved and all I thought I knew turned out to be shabbles. 6 years of my life, everyday taught me a new lesson, I never thought I'd sure but here I am. Last year of university and I navigate this life with lessons I learnt from those days.

Hi, I am very glad to hear you found yourself and you did learn from your own experience. Well done and good luck for the future. Tomas

"Not until we are lost do we begin to understand ourselves."

This quote defines a lot of things.

  • I suppose it can be about lettings go of who we thought were, and letting go of the fixed attitudes that preserve us within the equal psychological place, that will inevitably go away us in a place of no longer figuring out who we rather are, which might suppose like being misplaced. There has to be a relatively neutral area into which real working out can enter.
  • It is about when the rubber meets the street; not unless we're in predicament will we see what we're rather manufactured from, scan our mettle; it can be a quote that wholly is familiar with the human mind's penchant for self-deception, denial if you're going to; all of us are inclined to consider we all know what we'd do in a situation however unless we stand on our possess in the course of the unknown can we even start to peer our authentic self in action, now not just phrases.

A man could have hundreds of interpretations, well these are mine.

If you are lost mentally the only way to come out of it is to find yourself. You'll never look for yourself unless you are lost

WELLDONE,I LIKE YOUR INTERESTING QOUTE,ITS AMAZING

Hi,
Very Nice post. I am Neeru from Kolkata, India. I am new on Steemit. I want to be established on Steemit. I am trying to get upvotes for my establishment with several kind of posts. Please be kind and upvote any of my recent posts. As there is no cost for 1 upvote but 1 upvote can give me rewards for my Steemit establishment. Thank you.

https://steemit.com/sports/@fkrakhi/njsku8gv

yes i do, feel like this

Really I motivated. thanks for this quote.

I agree. A wonderful quote.
We don't understand ourselves until we are lost, just like we don't understand the value of something until we lose it.