My Great South American Adventure - From Hitchhiking, Crashing Houses to Escaping Danger (700+ Days of Stories Untold)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

SA.jpg

700+ days in South America. My hitchhiking route, started in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil and ended in Bogota, Colombia.

C360_2017-06-24-01-56-57-152.jpg

Fuck it, I am leaving! I couldn’t take it anymore. Things have gotten old, the place, the food, the people - everything. Things about myself remained unresolved. The journey of finding my purpose and claiming back my freedom had to carry on. For all the drama I have created for myself, for all the shattered dreams and broken promises... forgive me, perhaps I was just being that whiny bitch who just couldn’t stay put. I'm being too free-spirit for anything unchanging. I’m prepared to take my travel to the next level, I’m prepared to go to another continent. I had to find some reason to go on living.

“I’m going to South America.”

I flew to the other side and landed in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, exactly on my birthday. I have traveled for a while alone with no problem, but for some reason, I felt a different kind of fear. That familiar feeling of once again being in a new country, another world, another culture, and that smell of strangeness. This would be another chapter in my life, another excitement.

My great South American journey started from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil in March 2015, and that was my birthday. I came back to my home country 3 months ago, rich with experiences, with a fresh perspective of the world and 700+ days of adventures and stories yet to be told.

I traveled mostly via hitchhiking, and sometimes taking buses and trains. I stopped and spent months in Cusco, Peru, and that became my second home. I flew once to Chile from Peru, then went back to hitchhiking, and continued traveling to the north. I also flew to The Galapagos Islands, and continued going to the north of Ecuador after that, and ended up in Colombia. I failed to visit Venezuela though, due to the country’s current situation.

Ecuador.jpg

My slow travel in South America was filled with adventures, excitements, revelations, downtimes, and realizations. It was indeed a good investment and a life-changing experience. I wasn’t really that much of a traveler before, and I didn’t really travel anywhere during my teens or when I was younger. I just woke up and decided that I was not going to stay where I was, so I went out on my own, and with nothing to lose anymore. I brought with me less money and big courage. Thanks to my friend who helped me achieved this dream. I realized that it was time for me to live my life the way I wanted it.

The following are my notes to each country, that pretty much summarized my whole trip in each (All are my own photos). But it was too long to even give a proper summary, "it was amazing" is an understatement. So just sit back and wait as the best stories are yet to come in the following days.

Brazil.jpg

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Brazil:

You captured my heart right the first time, I knew straight away that this is where I belong. Thanks to the 4 months of fun and adventures. You are such a big country and I knew that there’s more to you than just Rio de Janeiro. Most of my friends now are Brazilians, the football fanatics, the ones who really know how to dance. Thanks to that delicious caipirinha prepared by the mother of my Couchsurfing host, that sent me back to bed in no time, to the beautiful people of the “La Favela”, to all those fun moments and drunken nights, to the beautiful side of “Iguazu Falls”, the unforgettable hitchhiking days from one big city to another, the seemingly endless roads and beautiful landscapes along the way, and even that moment when I was almost got killed by a truck driver. I’m sorry I didn’t take the time to learn Portuguese, it is just too complicated for me, but people understood my terrible “Portuñol” anyway. And I survived the Brazilian roads, alive and with the body still intact. Thank you for all the lessons, you taught me how to live. You are my top 1 country in South America so far and I will surely come back someday.

Uruguay.jpg

Cabo Polonio, Uruguay

Uruguay:

I didn’t know what to expect, all I knew was that you are famous for your ex-president “Jose Mujica” known as "the poorest president in the world", because of his modest lifestyle. The country where there are more cattle than people. This was where the struggle to learn Spanish had started, and the miscommunication and bad experiences just taught me a good lesson. At the beginning, I didn’t really like to travel here, I mean for what? I noticed that a lot of travelers just skipped you as they thought that there is nothing much to see anyway. But guess what, you are my top 2 country in South America. For the beautiful and nice people, the amazing countryside, and nature remained unspoiled. I love the tranquility and the laidback people. From the cold waters of the Atlantic side, a number of sea lions hanging around the seaside, the big sand dunes of Cabo Polonio, the good weed you can freely smoke anywhere, and to the colonial town of Sacramento, thank you for letting me experience all of these.

Argentina.jpg

Perito Moreno, Argentina

Argentina:

My friends from Brazil who are not really fan of your people warned me of not traveling here, as I would be just setting myself up for another disappointment. Guess what, they were wrong. I met all the beautiful Argentineans who helped me when I was on the road, who accommodated me in their houses when I didn’t have anywhere else to sleep, who gave me the best experiences of my travel. From the stunning snow-capped mountains of the Patagonia, the massive whales of Puerto Madryn, the amazing glaciers of the south, the good wine and to the amazing landscape and virgin nature, thank you for showing me nature at its best. And for those good times spent with people. I failed to go to the “end of the world” or the famous “Ushuaia” though, and for that, I have a reason to go back. Thank you for those Argentinean expressions and that “porteño” accent that everyone hates, that I brought with me anywhere I went. It is just a sign that I definitely like you and will carry with me that Argentinean influence wherever I go.

Peru.jpg

Machu Picchu, Peru

Peru:

I fell in love with the mystical city of Cusco, and the next thing I knew, I was already staying here for 9 months. Yes, 9 months! I was amazed by Machu Picchu and the great Incan civilization, the mesmerizing beauty of the Andes mountains and the love for reggaeton of your people. Thank you for that job opportunity in the travel agency, and now I know more about Machu Picchu and the Inca Trail treks more than a Peruvian. And to all my friends at work who showed me how to have a proper fun around Cusco during weekends, the reggaeton style party and getting drunk by “Pisco Sour”. Thank you for all the good times, and even for my love-hate relationship with the people. I will never forget the food, oh the Peruvian food! Which I can say is the best in South America. I have been craving for Peruvian food since I have left and I will surely come back for it someday. Thanks to those days that I found a way to conquer boredom - longboard. To all my Peruvian brothers who tried their best to teach me downhill longboarding but failed. I tried hard enough even with my ADHD, but the sport left me scarred for life. Nevertheless, through this sport, I was able to visit another beautiful city called “Arequipa”, met new friends and became part of the brotherhood, and witnessed the endless, carving roads and the amazing mountain view along the way.

Chile.jpg

Malalcahuello National Reserve, Chile

Chile:

You taught me how to snowboard! The beautiful mountains, the amazing slopes and the snowy volcanoes around, you only gave me another reason to travel and snowboard more. I had an amazing one month here, thanks to the family who hosted me, who also drove me up to the cold Pacific side, where I tried to surf the waves and failed. But I was scared as hell and was not used to the surfing anymore, especially with that really cold water. I guess I will practice surfing more here in my own country. You have my favorite wine, probably the best in the world, and I wouldn’t hesitate to go back there and spend another night walking around the beach drunk. I know that 1 month was not enough time to explore all the beautiful places and the hidden beauty of the South, but I guess I would just take this as another reason to go back someday.

12039435_10153680168228711_6227504786988046435_n.jpg

Salar de Uyuni, Bolivia

Bolivia:

You left me breathless, literally! My first taste of being in the high altitude, 13,343 ft above sea level, “Potosi” that is! The icy part of the Bolivian Andes. What I can say, I just found myself like feeling high, my head hurt as I walked around this small town in the clouds. It was just two days of headache anyway, and I had learned to love the attitude. And for the beauty of your incredible landscape, the peaceful surrounding and the laidback people. I couldn’t forget when the stray dog followed me on the road in that town called “Uyuni”. I wished I could have brought him with me, but I couldn’t even take care of myself that time. I was the same like the dog, homeless. I was mesmerized by the vast emptiness of the salt flat, I felt like a tiny dot on this desert of salt. I know there’s still a lot of things to see, like the beautiful empty deserts, the Amazon side and the endless Andean Plateau, but I had to move on. I will definitely recommend you to anyone who would be traveling to South America, you are just simply amazing.

15780971_10154910283108711_1612604985760219488_n.jpg

The Galapagos, Ecuador

Ecuador:

You let me fulfill that dream of scuba diving in The Galapagos, the isolated islands off the mainland, with all the unique animals can’t be found anywhere else. A very special place that one should visit once in their lives. I couldn’t forget all those sharks swimming around me, those sea lions I got to hang out with in the afternoon, and my local friends I got to regularly play pool with, in a bar in that small town called “Puerto Ayora”. It’s too expensive to travel here for me, but thanks to that volunteering opportunity. I got to stay here for 2 months, celebrated Christmas and new year here as well. It was also in Ecuador where my stuff where stolen inside the night bus. I arrived at the terminal feeling lost, but thanks to my Ecuadorian friend whom I met in Brazil 2 years ago. He and his family hosted me in their home and treated me like a part of the family. Here was where I truly experienced the real Ecuadorian hospitality.

C360_2017-03-07-08-20-32-010.jpg

Salento, Colombia

Colombia:

I had finally completed my round trip around South America and I had saved the best for last! I couldn’t forget the smiles of your people, the Colombian hospitality and all those who made my travel memorable. Here was where I took my time to travel to each place, as I was already very tired at this point, after having been on the road for a while. All those unforgettable parties with my new found friends, those drunken nights in the hostel, the “high times”, my struggle with self-control, my heartbreak, and eventually being able to rise above all of these. I was able to take time to enjoy the nature of “Salento”, the city of “Medellin” and the small town of “Guatape”. With the city of Bogota as being the best time of my life, having shared really good memories with my new friends from the hostel. Here I celebrated my birthday and my 2 years of being in South America. And here where I had to end my journey as well sadly, after much thought and having had time to reflect on my decision. I failed to visit the north and the beautiful “Isla de Providencia”, which just gave me another good reason to come back. Thank you for the good times Colombia, I will surely come back!

And here was my farewell in Spanish:

Mi Ultimo Adios!.jpg

Sort:  

wow thats amazing.. I live in the states but have lots of family in Ecuador. Over 12 years ago my cousin and I where car traveling from Quito to Cali Colombia, And Ran into 2 girls Hitchhiking they where from Argentina hiking North.. they made it all the way to TJ Mexico.. i always though and admired those 2 travelers

Thanks @marco-desalto. There will always be Argentineans hitchhiking, on the road. They know how to travel! I love Quito. I didn't stay in Cali as I was not really interested in Salsa. But I love Bogota and Medellin!

This is a good one! :)

What an amazing journey. That looks like so much fun!

Yes it was fun, Thank you ! :)

So enjoyed reading every country you summarised with so much heart and gratitude in having experienced the places but most of all, the people. This was the journey I never ended up doing back in 2012 but reading your summaries took me back there.

Yes, it also took me back to each while I was writing. I was kind of missing being in SA already. Thanks for reading!

Keep writing and posting them while it is still fresh in your mind! I really enjoyed your detail on the Brazilian's attitude towards the "Porteños" and the accent you've adopted. Also, I am looking forward to your stories of Uruguay and southern Chile!

Hahaha the porteño accent. thank you. Yes I will write about them!

Would love to read more of your adventures! I will be on the look out for your next stories!

Diabolika you're such a badass. Really good post

That's really cool! 2 years of hitchhiking is pretty hardcore, I'm in the middle of posting my 1200km hitchhiking story and with Swedish rockstars and sponaneous 1am decisions to go 200km for a party... that's wild enough.

Wow that's wild man! I wrote that I stayed in Peru for 9 months, so it wasn't really 2 years straight HH. I'd be so tired if that was the case! :) It was HH straight from Brazil to Peru though, ;)

Ok but still nice! Tomorrow I'll post on my feed @traveladdict about how I discovered who my host actuallly was...

by the way re: South America did you have much trouble getting lifts? How did your stuff get stolen?

Ok I will check that post @traveladdict. I didn't really have trouble, HH was easy and common in Chile and Argentina, and pretty safe.

My stuff were stolen while I was sleeping in the night bus. My small bag was under the seat, I fell asleep and my stuff inside were gone the next day.

Cool. Wow, so you had your bag under the seat in front of you? And they took your stuff from inside the bag while you were sleeping? THat's pretty aggressive... didn't they have to like step over you to do that...

Sorry about that, no just this "grammarly" google chrome extension lol.

Anyway @traveladdict, yeah I lost my stuff while I was sleeping. They took the laptop and camera from the bag. It was really bad but what can I do, losing things sometimes is the bad part of travel. I just hope I won't lose things anymore.

I think something went wrong there... are you using special software to post?

I envy you in a good way :) If I ever become slightly rich (maybe from staking in cryptos) I'll surely visit South America - Brazil, Peru, Colombia, Argentina.
Beautiful pictures, great inspiration!

You'd be rich staking cryptos I bet. Or here through steemit, then you'd be traveling by then! Thanks!

9 months in Cusco? That's awesome. I loved the place. Spent just 1 week there - a blink of an eye for me because I usually stay in places for months - but it was so much fun. Keep sharing your wild adventures.

Yes, because I had to rest. I got tired, and I found a job there. Thanks @ryanbiddulph!

Wow, what an amazing adventure. Thanks for sharing.

No worries! :)

Wow you're very brave. I remember when I was hitchhiking in the Philippines, I got stopped at an army checkpoint because they thought I was a rebel. lol

Where in the Philippines you hitchhiked? lol

this sounds like such an amazing journey.

Have you tried ayahuasca in peru?

Not in Peru, I did in Brazil. I will post my Ayahuasca experience soon! @flipstar

Looking forward to that. I am considering taking part in ceromeny here in thailand.

Is there in Thailand? I don't know, Ayahuasca ceremony is originally done in the Amazon.

yes, there is a retreat in the north. Sombody whose opinion I value recomned it to me. So I might try it but still uncertain if I will save this experience for the time when I will be in south america.

But I am also so curious that I am not sure if I want to wait this long

Ok it's up to you. But be careful, like in South America there are many fake shammans and ceremonies, they just do it for the money. Some girl even died in Peru.

There's also another one called "San Pedro", but the effect takes like 1 week and pretty crazy. I don't think you want something like that.

nope

yes I have read about it is important that you go to a real shaman who knows what he is doing.

thats one reason I am still hesitating.

But future tobis problem for now

What an adventure. Just got done with one up in Alaska and Canada. Your post re-kindle my desire to head down to South America. Glad you had an adventure. Life is about thew experiences you have along the way :)

I agree, the amazing places we got to see before we die are in SA. The virgin nature and its rich history. I suggest you visit SA again! @bitinformant

Wow, that's a really cool story! He estado en algunos paises de latinoamerica pero hasta ahora el que más me ha gustado es Colombia.

Colombia es un pais muy hermoso tambien. Pero para mi, Brazil para siempre!

Gracias @hassping