My New Toy is Making Me Happy!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

C360_2018-02-10-09-17-26-818.jpg

Thank you Steemit for helping me save the environment! I was able to earn enough sbd to buy a bicycle, now I can cycle through traffic and on undeveloped roads. I actually haven't cycled in years and it is making me feel worried to bike on busy roads where cyclists don't really matter. Living in a car-centric, motorbike-centric island, it can be quite unnerving to go with the traffic flow, with the narrow roads and speeding motorbikes. But hey, I'm probably just making up excuses. There is no other way to overcome my fear but to just go through it!

I'm actually happy that I'm able to go around the town or to the beach with my new bike. And of course, my goal is to save on transportation costs so I can have money for other things that matter. I don't have a car and I don't need it here.

There are not many girls riding bikes around here, so I think it's nice to bike around and promote this fun activity. It also feels great to do your part in reducing carbon footprint. It is good for the island.

C360_2018-02-10-09-13-43-789.jpg

Cycling is not only good for your physical health but also for your mental well-being. It's a great physical activity outdoors that helps release those pleasure chemicals in your brain to improve your mood. So if you're feeling unhappy, depressed or stressed out, go out and ride a bike!

I feel like I'm really in a good mood after riding my bike around the neighborhood. I'm riding a bike for happiness and mind you, it's really working! I remember when I still had my longboard, I'm having the same adrenaline rush. That feeling of biking through this warm weather is just priceless, all that feel-good sweat. It also makes me feel good to know that I'm losing extra pounds and I surely don't mind that. Cycling or any other physical activity helps improve your self-esteem.

C360_2018-02-10-08-55-54-787.jpg

Now that I have a bike, I'm thinking of including a cycling blog or something here on Steemit. I'll probably blog about my trip to the beach to catch the sunrise, a good reason to wake up early. And it's also a good reason to get off my computer and unplug for a couple of hours every day. Cycling is a really great activity to get away from it all.

My lovely Steemians, what do you think of my bike?

Sort:  

It's hard to beat a bike for local transportation. I used to bike all the time and everywhere when I lived in Sweden. Now I live in the US and biking is much harder in this very car-centric nation.
I'm glad you could get a bike. Enjoy the great feeling of self-propelled transportation!

I understand. It's car-centric here too but I'll get used to it. Thanks!

Cycling is a great sport, now consider adding a gopro to record your rides,my friend

Yeah I have an action cam!

I am looking forward to seeing you post them

A great addition to your life! $0 cost to operate. Almost $0 in maintenance. And invaluable exercise, as you say, although I don't see any extra pounds... 😉

Maybe some mountain bike style tires for those unpaved surfaces, or perhaps they already are; I can't exactly tell from the photos. A biking blog would be great!

Congrats on your new vehicle!

Yep it's already a mountain bike hehe. 😊 Maybe I can change the tires in the future lol.

C360_2018-02-10-09-11-35-937 (2).jpg

Thanks!

I need to buy a bike (or several).. I think I'll get one once my son is a little older and able to ride a bike himself. He has a bike now, but we push it along -- until he's able to pedal himself, then he can do that too. Although, as he gets older I might be able to figure out a way (with my wife) to ride our bikes while he's at a friend's house or a school event or something.

I haven't ridden a bike in probably close to a decade. But "like riding a bike", it's always easy enough to get your bearings back and ride again. The learned balance and riding skills never really go away.

I'm glad you have some added freedom and speed of travel!

I think it's really cool to see a family cycling, a really great example to others.

I hear you, I haven't ridden a bike for years and it can be daunting for me to bike around this car-centric place. But I'm cycling around now and I'm happier!

Nice bike!
Now you get to bike around in paradise!
Not too shabby, @diabolika... not too shabby.

lol Thanks! 😊

If you raise that seat up so your legs are straighter you will improve your efficiency.
Properly adjusted for max performance, you shouldnt be able to sit on the seat and touch the ground.
It takes a little getting used to, but your rides will take less toll on your legs.

I will try to do that!

First of all i congratulated you on your new bicycle which you purchased by spending steem rewards. I never purchased any thing by using steem reward. May be i have good luck in future, but i can imagine the happiness to earn online money and buy a gift for you or family.
Yes cycling is a very good exercise, exercise release endophrins harmones which relax your mind and give you happiness that's why you feel happy and good mood. Yes i would love to read your new bike experience.
You may check my blog as well
Thanks for sharing. keep sharing @diabolika

Ahhh yes, just keep writing and hopefully, you get to purchase something using steem rewards! Thanks!

Awesome! I'm happy you're happy =)

Thanks!

HA!!!! There you are on a BIKE!!!!! WOO!!!!! If I were there you know I would totally do a bike photo-shoot! Enjoy it and stay safe!

Be sure to ride the bike from the best sports fun and as a way to get muscle strength and improve the mood and have fun if it is a cause of happiness
In addition to preserving the environment from pollution, which is considered a means of transport to rural areas.

True, thanks!

could you ride it before get it? or its first time??

really cool you got something you seem to enjoy out of your steemit efforts.

I love it so much!

Cracking show get on that bike I say! I can't wait for the snow and ice to go so i can get back on mine 💯🐒

I'm gonna post more about my trip to the beaches! 😊

Great look forward to them. Just hope I catch them missing lot currently 💯🐒

That's a great idea.

Cycling is a really good for health you are daily ride cycle that's why your health is too good.

a good post I really like cycling success always @diabolika

Wow.. amazing post i like your story thanks for sharing this travel best of luck my dear friends.. resteemit..

very good travel dear @diabolika and awesome story,, i love your post thanks for share

Very sexi,

It's nice to see someone caring for the environment and about reducing their carbon footprint - here on steemit there are so many delusional climate change deniers. For me cycling is ideal for everyday transportation and luckily I live in a rather bike-friendly place. Since you have traveled for a long time, though not by bike, I'm curious what's your opinion about long-term traveling by bike. Could you, for example, imagine to make a journey like your South America journey by bike?

For me cycling is ideal for everyday transportation and luckily I live in a rather bike-friendly place.

You are indeed lucky.

There are people traveling around South America by bike. It is possible. I might think about this type of travel someday too.

As you can see I'm being followed by a troll. So I'm going to self-vote my comments on your posts and elsewhere.