My Top 20 Favorite Quotes That Inspired Me To Travel - Warning: Insanely Inspiring!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

16143849_10154957806603711_6885107992958402896_o.jpg

Years ago, I was struggling to find some clarity in my life. I was doing everything I could to find some motivation and reason to go on living. With a dead end job and a failed relationship, I felt like there was nowhere else to go. On the other hand, I was also scared to travel and just leave everything behind. So I started digging into some helpful books that would motivate me to pursue my dreams and live the life that I want. These books brought some positivity and encouragement into my life.

At the time I felt like I was trapped by life’s circumstances, then I found some quotes by spiritual gurus, authors and famous people who went through the same ordeal. By looking to those who have found a way to thrive inspired me. I tried to align myself with their teachings and soon enough I became very interested in pursuing the things that I’m passionate about.

If you want to live a life with more meaning, here are some of my favorite quotes that will make you feel inspired and pursue the kind of life you have been dreaming of.

  1. “Life is what happens to us while we are making other plans.”
    ― Allen Saunders

  2. “I felt my lungs inflate with the onrush of scenery—air, mountains, trees, people. I thought, "This is what it is to be happy.”
    ― Sylvia Plath

  3. “A quiet secluded life in the country, with the possibility of being useful to people to whom it is easy to do good, and who are not accustomed to have it done to them; then work which one hopes may be of some use; then rest, nature, books, music, love for one's neighbor — such is my idea of happiness.”
    ― Leo Tolstoy, Family Happiness

  4. “I like this place and could willingly waste my time in it.”
    ― William Shakespeare

  5. “Look deep into nature, and then you will understand everything better.”
    ― Albert Einstein

  6. “There is a pleasure in the pathless woods,
    There is a rapture on the lonely shore,
    There is society, where none intrudes,
    By the deep sea, and music in its roar:
    I love not man the less, but Nature more”
    ― George Gordon Byron

  7. “Man cannot discover new oceans unless he has the courage to lose sight of the shore.”
    ― André Gide

  8. “Do one thing every day that scares you.”
    ― Eleanor Roosevelt

  9. “You must live in the present, launch yourself on every wave, find your eternity in each moment. Fools stand on their island of opportunities and look toward another land. There is no other land; there is no other life but this.”
    ― Henry David Thoreau

  10. “Learn to value yourself, which means: fight for your happiness.”
    ― Ayn Rand

  11. “...the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes “Awww!”
    ― Jack Kerouac

  12. “The fear of death follows from the fear of life. A man who lives fully is prepared to die at any time.”
    ― Mark Twain

  13. “I never really understood the word ‘loneliness’. As far as I was concerned, I was in an orgy with the sky and the ocean, and with nature.”
    ― Björk

  14. “Why do they always teach us that it's easy and evil to do what we want and that we need discipline to restrain ourselves? It's the hardest thing in the world--to do what we want. And it takes the greatest kind of courage. I mean, what we really want.”
    ― Ayn Rand

  15. “It does not matter how slowly you go as long as you do not stop.”
    ― Confucius

  16. “I'll hold on to the world tight some day. I've got one finger on it now; that's a beginning.”
    ― Ray Bradbury

  17. “The woman who follows the crowd will usually go no further than the crowd. The woman who walks alone is likely to find herself in places no one has ever been before.”
    ― Albert Einstein

  18. “Stuff your eyes with wonder, he said, live as if you'd drop dead in ten seconds. See the world. It's more fantastic than any dream made or paid for in factories.”
    ― Ray Bradbury

  19. “I read; I travel; I become”
    ― Derek Walcott

  20. “Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance, you must keep moving.”
    ― Albert Einstein

What about you? What’s your favorite quote?

You might also like:

The Top 5 Reasons Why Travel Can Show Your Purpose in Life - And Why You Should Travel Now

Sort:  

These are great quotes. Here is another quote that I love about travel. "I see my path, but I don't know where it leads. Not knowing where I'm going is what inspires me to travel it". - Rosalia de Castro

@greatpath, that's a nice one! Thanks for dropping by. :)

Just like you...we were in The Rut! So inspiring to meet and read about someone like you who came out of it and are far better off!

Favorite quote "Be the best version of yourself"

For us we had to get out, sell things so we could clear the space. No we can hear and see much clearer to do so!

Best of luck to you. Truly.
-Malissa

Thanks! It's freedom, finally.

Have fun in your travels!

Thanks we just posted a couple more of our trip. Check it out if you have time.

you have overcome quite a few, ayy!

Thanks! ;)

Very good post... I like it :)

Cheers!! ;)

you are welcome :)

Great post girl! Good to hear you have made a change in the right direction for yourself. Keep up the posts! Followed and upvoted ;) @teslagreenhawk

@teslagreenhawk. Thanks, welcome to steemit! Keep on writing, this is an amazing community!

My momma always said, "Life was like a box of chocolates. You never know what you're gonna get." - Forrest Gump

Good one!