My first summer in USA (2015) trough photos and short stories

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians,

My name is Dominik and I came to the USA with Work and Travel program, and my path started in Zagreb when I got a job in amusement park Trimper's Rides in Ocean City, Maryland.

A week before my trip to the USA my friends and family made a "Bye bye" party and gave me this t-shirt that will follow me on my trips through the states and give me the chance to get recognized by people from my country.
U5duBpFCksyu5HwU4F4p4NNnu8ef1DE_1680x8400.jpg

As I already mentioned that I worked in an amusement park, I also had a chance to enjoy those rides for free. Next picture shows me and my rommate, and a great friend, Krešimir on a rollercoaster "Tidal wave". The background shows the amusment park Trimper's rides and the Ocean City, MD.

The summer was really exciting, and did I mention that I also play a guitar? Well, I do, and this next picture shows me playing a guitar on the street. This picture is taken in Washington DC , were I got stopped by a street musician who asked me "Do you know how to play?" I said yes and I played for him and other people that were walking on the Smithsonian walkway were all big museums in Washington DC are placed.

I also visited New York with a group of my closest 7 friends. It was I great stay in Big apple. This city is really big and too stressful for my taste. But above that New York city is really something everyone should try, expirience and taste a piece of a city.

I lived just cuple of steeps from a beach and above my work place, and belive me it was awsome. I worked hard whole, summer and my boss and his supervisors picked me for a "Employee of a summer" out od 80 others. It was a great honor for me and confirmation that my hard work is seen and apriciated. After almost 4 moths of work and ocasional travel, it was time for a full time traveling. I earned enough money to travel 17 days trought 7 citys from the east USA to the west and back. I started my jurney with a flight from Baltimore to Los Angeles.

Los Angeles was a least favorite city on my travels. Niether Hollywod Venice beach or Bevely Hills made me like this city beacuse a high number of homeless people. It was really sad to see all those people sleeping, eating or even getting high on a street. So instead of spendig full 4 days in that city, me and girl that traveld with me decided to take a bus to Las Vegas.

Me in Hollywood:

Vegas- Oh Vegas, you are something special.

Vegas is full of light, full of stories and full of things that are telling you to stay here and live your dreams. I really liked Vegas but unfortionaly I was not able to legally gamble and drink beacuse I was under 21. Bit despite of that I did some gambling and drinking, you ask yourself how? Well. I am born 1 October 1994, and at the time I was 20 years old. On my Croatian document said I was born 01.10.1994. (european standard day.moth.year) and when Americans read ( month/day/year ) this they think I am 21.

Other funny sory was that , when I was walking trought Las Vegas Freemont (old part of Vegas) I met three girls that were from Motenegro (same speaking area). And then me , Alexandra (the girl from Serbia that was traveling with me) and these three Montenegro girls wanted to get some fun and go out in a club,,we called a taxi and there was this guy Milan (Serbia). He was so glad that he picked us up, he gave us a long ride trough Las Vegas for free and full of jokes, and his story how he got a green card on a lottery.

There is one more funny story from Las Vegas. It was our last night in Vegas, so me and Alexandra went to the bus station. We came to early so we took a walk a litlle bit more to expirience the last hours of Vegas. We come back to the bus station and our return tickets were lost. We had 30 more minutes, no tickets, we are opening our backpacks and luggage and turning them upside down. Still no tickets, so I decided to run back the path we walked, after 5 minutes I found them on the sidewalk where we dropped them. That was some luck in Vegas, right?! I came back to the station with tickets and we were on a bus back to Los Angeles and from there we took a 9 hours driving a bus to San Francisco.

We came to the San Francisco and to the most famous bridge in the world : Golden gate bridge (even tho it is red). And this is Alexandra's thanks for finding tickets from Vegas.

We were staying in couchsurfing apartment with a French profesor that was our host. It was a new expirience for me to get a free place to stay in exchange for our traveling story's. I liked San Franciso and that city have beautiful energy in ti. Like on the next picture:

After San Francisco, we flew back to east side to the city of Chicago. It was a bit windy and foggy.

But later that day we met my friend Krešimir ,from the begining of a post, traveling with his girlfriend and sister.

We visited the tallest building in the USA, and this me on a picture standing up side down on 420 meters(1,353 feet ) in the air.

After a lot of fun in Chicago, our next stop was Boston. And it was so refresing to see some European styles in this city.
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10208092801703074&set=a.10208092757541970.1073741825.1390914652&type=3&theater
We also visited Red Sox stadium :

And the MIT and Harvard universities:




After Boston again New York, and the famous bull on Wall street:

And his balls for luck :

And than last goodbye USA was from Brooklyn bridge.

Thank you guys for reading and I hope you liked my review of my trip. I didn't write all stories from that summer, there was a lot of them. And I am going to give them to you at some other ocasion. If you enjoyed this show it to me with your upvotes and tell me in comments what you liked the most. I will share my 2016 USA summer soon so stay tuned.

Sort:  

Upvote Back and Follow Me

From Aceh, Indonesia to the world.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by doomsy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.