Three month in Asia - Vietnam, Phu Quoc, Epizode - #5 (Phu Quoc market)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Well, I noticed some interest in Phu Quoc life so let me continue, my friends. As I have promised today I'll tell you about Asian markets.

You can learn a lot about Asia but you'll know nothing while stay at home. I prepare some interesting photos to demonstrate some interesting and specific facts about markets in Vietnam and on Phu Quoc island. That was the warmest winter in my life when I was living on Phu Quoc but it was pretty strange to live there. Vietnamese are differ a lot from Russian and there market is most unused thing I ever see.

This strange and unknown Asia

Have you ever been in market? I think most people go to supermarkets and stores to buy food and goods and all they need. Actually I do. There are some problems with natural markets in Russia nobody comes there. You can't find good vegetables or fruits - they are the same as in supermarket but costs much more. That's why Russians go marker very seldom. I think that same problems are in every country even ECO products are better to buy in special store. Am I right, correct me please.

However Asia is much differ: there are a lot of markets with pretty good price for always fresh and yummy food. Also you could buy everything at the market. If it can be found it'll be found on market. That is why every time I asked somebody on Phu Quoc about something he didn't know this person always tell me Go market. It was a bit strange but at Vietnamese market you could find different things stored and sold together:

Vegetables and shellfish

seafood and snails

fish and vegetables

fish and tailoring

I have been to markets in such countries as India, Cambodia, Thailand, Ukraine, Russia and Vietnam - they always differs

Phu Quoc market

If you want to go well and buy stuff for good price than you should know some things about Vietnamese market:

  • You should be sunburnt enough because those who have white skin are always very reach
  • You should come by motorbike because it used to draw motorbikes at Vietnam market

  • there are always dirty at market. So if you dislike strong smell or mud you'll better stay at home. Actually if you hate of frighten garbage, mu, smells, poverty than don't even think about travel to Asia. So you have choice stay at hotel for great price or live at rented house and buy food at market - as you wish

However you should know that it no any guaranty of good dwelling in hotel because of Vietnamese national traditions. They buy everything at marker - it always dirty. Also the way Vietnamese clean plates and pots is bit unused. There is a poor sanitation in every Vietnamese cafe

You can avoid poor sanitation by two ways:

  • eat only at Europe cafe with ten times superior price
  • cook by yourself

I prefer to cook. However I and a lot of my friends ate at Vietnamese cafe hundreds of time and still alive and healthy so don't be afraid.

Let continue about Phu Quoc market. I'v met a lot of stalls with all-goods-and-food-in-one-place. It's stalls of poor Vietnamese who have no enough money so they try and sell everything. They often give a good price!

A little strange

I never see that fruits and vegetables were sold in one place at Phu Quoc market. However you should know that pineapple, banana, mango and lime are the same as vegetables at Vietnam. You can taste them at soup or with meat or at salad. Other fruits seldom used in cooking. I have written about Asian markets in my blog but it in Russian.

Thank you so much. Hope you like this story about market.
Followed me and don't hesitate to upvote it's free


See also: