Medieval Restaurant in a Cave in Old Riga, Latvia! Rozengrals - A Restaurant Like NO Other!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

2018-01-31-13-11-03-833.jpg



Rozengrals is a restaurant that is underground in the cellar that looks like a cave! I never been to a restaurant like that before! They serve Latvian food the way people used to eat almost thousand years ago! Everything is very simple, but tasty! The space itself is mentioned in manuscripts dating back to the 12th century. Every detail reflect Riga's historical side and charm. Also, on some evenings they have medieval instrument players and all servers wear appropriate clothes of that century.

Here is the décor they have in this restaurant. Bread and everything else is real!

2018-01-29-02-38-20-155.jpg

Our table… We felt like we were really in the 12th century!

FB_IMG_1517432653596.jpg

Our dishes…

2018-01-29-02-39-44-695.jpg

2018-01-29-02-36-51-186.jpg

..and this mushroom soup was so good!

2018-01-29-02-42-04-097.jpg

my family :) ... You can also see some of the décor behind them.

FB_IMG_1517432675531.jpg

and this is how the hallways look like..

FB_IMG_1517432859526.jpg

Prices for the food are slightly more expensive than at other local restaurants, but you pay for the atmosphere! I recommend to go there during an evening when they play live music.



..and don't forget to check my previous post about OLD Riga: My Beloved Riga, Latvia 💗 (History + Timeline, Historic St. Peter's Church and Tower, and Many Other Beautiful Places)




promo11.jpg

CHAT Discord Channel Invite

Sort:  

I would love to visit this restaurant one day and have medieval dinner in a cave. Whoever thought of that idea is brilliant plus the mini cauldron on the table cooking the soup. Must of been a good experiance

Very cool, thanks for posting.

thanks for reading :)

What a resto gorgeous decoration and its abvious yummy food i wish to try food around the world and for sure this one will be on the list to visit someday thanks @ella-kay

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.55 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.11
Server time: 22:22:48
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 88.05/100.00
Total Photos: 15
Total comments: 8
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I'm thinking about discovering the Baltic countries this year, and especially Riga, so your article is right on time :) I'll bookmark that restaurant :)

I will try posting more about riga :) maybe you will bookmark even more cool places :) thanks for reading :) and check my other post about Riga.

Been there too when I was in Riga in 2015.
It was delicious. Great pictures, got hungry now

lol I always get hungry when I write about food :) thanks for checking out my post

your welcome. I'm off to Moscow now, so almost around the corner from Riga;)

Always wanted to go to Riga. Still on my bucket list , maybe next time after Poland..

would be cool to travel together... when do you think you might travel?

I have only one thing planned right now. It's South Africa in March. than perhaps I will jump to visit my family in Warsaw during easter. That's as far as I can plan, if anything changes I will remember to let you know ;)

Wow... quite an experience! I haven't dined in a cave before... :)
The food looks good too...

thank you for stopping by :)

What an incredible place! Thank you very much for sharing!

thanks for stopping by :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Ella-Kay from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Nice story i liked it :) Do you know anything about that old looking drawing on the wall ? Does it have any special meaning ? Maybe the owner told you something about it :) ?!?!?!

Thank you.

ewrtzghi.png

no I don't know :( but this cellar cave was used in old days. maybe it is part of some history, who knows.

@ella-kay well i guess now i have to visit it myself and find it out ;)

:) I might go there again this year

@ella-kay, I really enjoy in multicultural cuisines, especially Chinese one. I have no doubds that this one was amazing regarding the breathtaking photos. Great content here, I will be coming back. :) All the best, @keyss.

thanks for reading :)

You mention the name of the restaurant but not the location ? Where is this ... like where would I need to book a flight to? LOL looks amazing and I love different things like this! Thank you for sharing such neat photos!

@jeejee

it says in Old Riga

I’m sorry ...I did miss that in the Title. I thought it was the name of the Restaurant. I kept looking for the information in the article itself.

I have no idea where Old Riga is, so now I am going to go google it and study up on some geography 💙

its okay :) Old Riga is in Latvia - Europe :) its a beautiful city

That place looks awesome!! I so want to go there some time. It is a bit from from Phoenix Arizona though. haha, maybe someday! :) thanks for posting!

lol yeah kind of far ... but I hope you will have an opportunity to visit it :)

Me too it would be an amazing trip!

WOW!! That looks awesome, I would love to go to that place! Thanks for sharing.

thanks for stopping by :)

Wow! this looks like an awesome experience! The food and atmosphere look incredible!

it was great :) thanks for stopping by :)

Very cool medieval restaurant @ella-kay. Latvia seems like an interesting place to be ;) Hope to visit there someday. Though I'd like to ask, how friendly is Latvia for a nomad? the internet connection etc. :) Thanks

not sure ... but Latvia is like all other European countries.

How's the menu? is it special and different like from the medieval times? the whole place certainly feel like you're time travel for dinner =D

well, as I mentioned they serve Latvian food the way people used to eat almost thousand years ago or at least they try to do it.

Ooops... I must have passed that sentence. Or perhaps i was thinking, "thousand year old recipes?" oh wow.. it kinda makes me think if the recipes are also known by the latvian ppl these days. some recipes do stay for ages... HI, I'm currently based in China and yr post certainly makes me think if there are restaurants similar to what you post around here. Keep up the great work =)

Excellent idea! It is now in my list to visit next time in Latvia.

wow looks tasty, now i'm hungry and have no food in my cave :-(

:) ..thanks for stopping by

Wow. I like the setting! And you are gorgeous!

Your family definitely looks like they are enjoying themselves. With that slab of meat in front of me I would be too :)

yeah, we had a lot of fun. very unique place! thanks for stopping by :)

This is really cool!

This restaurant concept reminded me of a restaurant I have been in Melbourne, it's a Greek restaurant where they are serving a plethora of meats in different cuts. I hope you enjoyed your meal and I can say that your post is absolutely amazing. I always feel hungry and feel like travelling again and again after reading it! Looking forward for more! See you around :)))