Xcape #2 - Welcome to Kyoto, Japan | ๐Ÿต ๐Ÿš…๐Ÿ‘˜| Exploring Kyoto & Fushimi Inari Shrine

in #travel โ€ข 7 years ago

Hey Steemits,

ย 
Carl here with another episode of "Xcape" by FML. Continuing on with my journey through Japan we travel to Kyoto which is approximately 1-hour North of Osaka.

Modern, sophisticated and yet still true to its cultural roots and customs, Kyoto is a must if you want to experience traditional Japanese culture. Over the course of the next few blogs we'll explore some of Kyoto's main attractions including Fushimi Inari Shrine, Kiyomizu-dera and Arashiyama. In this blog , we'll explore Fushimi Inari Shrine and I'll also share with you one of my favourite places to stay whilst in Kyoto.

If you've never been to Fushimi Inari Shrine check out my video below which will hopefully give you an appreciation of this famous local attraction.

Fushimi Inari Shrine

On our first day in Kyoto we decided to check out Fushimi Inari Shrine, which is a popular tourist attraction in Japan. The shrine is one of many shrines dedicated to Inari, the Shinto god of rice. You may also remember seeing the famous red gates of Fushimi Inari in Memoirs of a Geisha.

The shrine (1st pictured) is located at the base of a mountain. The most popular attraction however is perhaps the mountain trail which is commonly pictured in tourist promotions of Japan. There are approximately 10,000 vermilion gates which arch over the walking track up and down the mountain, which tourist flock to see each and every year.

The walk up the mountain along the trail is very picturesque and should provide you with many opportunities to capture the perfect photo for your Instagram. As you walk further up the mountain you will find fewer and fewer tourist and be treated to some fantastic views from the mountain side. I was pretty surprised to see that despite being 230 meters above sea level there were still many vending machines selling drinks. Talk about service.

A map of the shrine and mountain walk

The walk along the trail should take you 2-3 hours depending on your walking speed and level of curiosity. I'd strongly recommend walking the entire track if you're able to, as the shrines at the top of the mountain are very beautiful. The climb up will also give you a chance to burn off any of that extra holiday weight you've gained from eating all of Japan's delicious food. I've posted a few photos of the walk along the track.

If you walk long enough youโ€™ll be able to ditch most of the tourist and get some cool photos

After our morning fitness session, we decided to get some food at the local food markets between Inari Shine and the train station which sells all your favourites including takoyaki, yakisoba, okonomiyaki, taiyaki as well as grilled octopus, oysters and other treats that will make you wish you had more bitcoin.

My friend decided to get some Taiyaki (see image below), which is a fish shaped cake usually stuffed with red bean paste but you can also get chocolate and custard fillings. Personally, my favourites are chocolate and custard.

Nishinocho - A hotspot activity centre

Whilst visiting Kyoto we stayed in Nishinocho which is next to the Gion district. The area is upbeat and has an active bustling night life. I also love the area because itโ€™s one of the few areas in Kyoto where you have a reasonable chance of seeing a geisha or maikoโ€ฆ. who are somewhat celebrities in Kyoto.

Nishinocho is an amazing place to live and place to stay in Kyoto. The area is sprawling with tourist, bars, restaurants, and traditional shrines such as Yasaka-jinja. Being located along the Kamo-gawa River also gave me the motivation to take some morning and evening walks along the river which is stunning at sunrise and sunset. The surrounding part of town is also very beautiful to explore. Have a look at some of my photos below from around Nishinocho and the local neighbourhood.

Whilst staying in the area Iโ€™d recommend you check out Kyoto Yasaka-jinja Shrine which was constructed in 656 AD. During the day you can explore Maruyama Park which is adjacent to the shrine. I also recommend you check out the shrine during the night which is usually lit up. Check out some of my photos below exploring Yasaka-jinja Shrine and Maruyama Park.

I hope you enjoyed reading about this travel blog. If you want to hear more about my adventures please upvote this post and share with friends. Additionally, please follow me to hear more about my latest adventures. โœŒ๏ธ


About the Author

If you'd like to learn more about me or my blog series check out my introduction post


FML news!!!

๐Ÿ’ฌ A special thank you to my new and existing followers. Thanks for supporting my blog series. I'd definitely love to get to know more of you so feel free to get in contact if you enjoy my post.

Sort: ย 

so many great places to visit

@nomadinsoco. There are a ton of great places to visit in Kyoto. You'll definitely enjoy yourself.