My trip to Nepal in 2 minutes [Video]

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Nepal is one of the most unique countries. It's just not like anywhere else... The cold and hot weather mixes together through day and night. Waking up to huge mountains on your doorstep, you wouldn't believe their size unless you saw them for yourself. The people, food and culture just seems different to other Asian countries I've visited.

Unfortunately this was mostly a city trip - my plan to go trekking didn't quite work out as I broke my foot 2 weeks before my trip. I'll have to visit again soon...

Sort:  

Nepal is amazing...definitely recommend doing some volunteering there -- they still need plenty of help to recover from the effects of the earthquake.

Thank you so much for mentioning this. I actually just posted my reaction to the earthquake from America and I hope you'll check it out @preeinatree you might find it interesting

Nice edit (upvoted and followed). Nepal seems like an awesome place - with everything that's been going on with Everest's Hillary Step recently, I've seen the country in the news a lot.

You might also be interested in our recent photography post:
https://steemit.com/photography/@adaptnetwork/this-amazing-photograph-captures-26-hours-at-an-african-watering-hole-in-one-shot

Let me know what you think.

Great photo!

"The Adventure Lifestyle Magazine" - Sounds like something I should follow.

Thanks so much - really appreciate your support. Hope you enjoy our posts :D

Super cool video! Thanks a bunch for sharing the action, scenery, and culture. I can't wait to see the trekking videos... Prompt healing to you and, till next time, keep your smile and thriving. Namaste :)

We were fortunate to travel to Nepal in the 1980's and it is like Disney Lake; the people, sites, food, all was great. Did you go up to the Monkey Temple in Katmandu? Unbelieveable climb up stairs there. 365 stairs .. whew! Have a great day :)

Wow, I bet it was even better in the 80s. I did indeed go to the Monkey Temple!

P1020031 2.jpg

I am so happy we made the trip when we did..everything is modern now.. I hear.. I have not been back.. back there they had no computers, cell phones, etc..we had to send a telegram back to the states to contact family.. we visited India first and then went into Nepal..

Met some friends from Nepal while in the UK and they showed their awesome culture and nature views. Definitely worth a trip there!

i love napel

Never been there but would definetly like to go there. How was the food there?

The food in Katmandu was quite difficult to find. I'm a lover of street food but the street food here wasn't worth the risk lol I decided to either eat at the hotel or what would probably be considered tourist restaurants.

I did try a few local things that weren't meat though. Usually the meat had tons of flies or dust on it.

Guess I would starve then

Without a doubt on top of the list of places i desperately want to visit one day

I have to find the time to literally just get up and go and explore, theres so much to see in the world

Thanks for the video, gives me a bit more of a push to go out and see what the universe has to offer!

Take your laptop with you and Steem from Nepal :D

Great video.

Did you happen to try any of the alcohol that was made from fermented yak's milk while you were there?

Thanks, I'm trying to improve my video skills - still a way to go.

I haven't heard of that, but I definitely want to try. I think another trip has to happen... I missed so many things.

Such a cool video and great editing @freelancestories :)
I've got some travel videos if you are keen to check out. Resteem if you like :)
https://steemit.com/travel/@kellyjaneturner/travel-video-1-brisbane-australia

Thanks very much. Upvoted and following - I would like to see more kangaroos lol. I've not made it as far as Aus yet.

thank you for visiting Nepal... Namaste

Nepal looks absolutely beautiful.
I hope you recover from your broken foot.

Wow! That's a wonderful travel video. I make travel videos as well but the difference here is I travel by my motorcycle :P
I'm planning to ride through Nepal in the coming months! Would you like to give me any suggestions from your experience?
PS: Upvoted and Followed you. Looking forward for some more amazing content from you! :D

Nice! I always thought about doing that. Have you had any issues taking the bike over borders? Or do you just need the visa and motorcycle paperwork?

Tips for Nepal... Kahtmandu is really cool I thought, worth checking out by foot. The plane journey between Kathmandu and Pokhara is expensive but worth doing once. Departing Kathmandu you should sit on the right side of the plane to get the view of the Himalayas.

Food... I did a terrible job of eating local. I should of used an app for recommendations!

I don't think I have enough experience with Nepal to give definitive advice yet. Everywhere you go is just stunning though. With a motorbike I can't imagine how beautiful it will be...

This would be the first time I would be crossing border on my motorcycle.
Afaik, if you're riding to Nepal from India, you just need to show some documents like passport/visa and pay a small fee and they'll give you the permit.
I'll update you about it once I reach there and ask all the details! ;)

I'm following so hopefully I'll see on your feed! If you pass through Thailand, let's have a coffee (or beer!).

That's awesome. :D
Once I start my journey, I'll keep updating here as daily logs when we call it a day.
I would love to catch up with you! Maybe someday I'll do a trip to Thailand as well on motorcycle. I will ping you if at all I happen to do it.
Cheers man! :D

Nice Video man, loved the skydiving scenary!

This was actually paragliding, but similar I guess :)

Great video-get well.

Wow, Nepal looks very interesting, might have to go visit sometime. Thanks for sharing!

@freelancestories Great video! and top notch montage! Following you and looking forward for next videos and stories.
If you will have a minute please take a look at my post about street food in Warsaw:
https://steemit.com/food/@radzioha/warsaw-by-night-1-night-market-the-street-food-gem
Maybe your next trip will be in capital of Poland :)

haha that last clip at the end with the kid. Nice video.

Haha great kid. He kept asking to ride my bike - I was scared he'd run off with it though.

wow i really love Nepal and i sent money after the earthquake -i am buddhist and am now following you and upvoting too

I want to go there, i love your video.

wow hope i'm there!

Great video!! Thanks for sharing :)

The video is fab...The scenic beauty of Nepal is captured in your video just outstanding ..the tradition ,cultures of this people is reflect so much...

I've been living in India building and promoting eco houses and Earthships for 10 years now.

I've worked mostly with Nepalis the whole time. It's hard to describe or even understand that culture, but they are amazing!

They have SO much pride, even when they are very poor. They really know what respect is all about.. and damn can they work! These Nepali boys are like powerhouses! SO fit! I never met a lazy Nepali.. ALways happy and never complaining.. Just getting ON with life!

Sorry you hurt yourself. Definately go back and try some trekking out. You can meet a different kind of person who lives in the mountains!

Great post, enjoyed very much!

Great post! Keep it up :)
By the way, I'm following you now
Cheers

This post received a 0.9% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @freelancestories! For more information, click here!

Nice one. Sorry for your foot.

maaaaan your videos are epic. Thanks for doing what most of us cannot. Leading by example you legend!

Looks great I missed out on Nepal when in India. Wish I had gone, next time hey!

You're right Nepal really does seem unique. I visited myself last summer. Thanks for the lovely post. I actually just posted my reaction to the earthquake and hope you'll check it out @preeinatree because you might enjoy it.

Like it so much!
I wonder how many wonderful traveling people I can find here and read their inspiring stories! Thanks
Following