You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Possibly The Best City In North America

in #travel2 years ago

I was going to say, don't rule Ottawa out as a destination. But then I thought about it and realized that when Ottawa folks want to blow off some steam, they drive over to Montreal.

It it a fantastic city!!!!

It has a little bit of everything.

I'm glad you enjoyed yourself.

A bunch of friends that I met in University are planning a trip in 2024. Since there may be up to 10 of us ... we are currently leaning towards renting a castle in the South of France for a week. (When you split it between 10 folks, it becomes less than $100/night)

You now have me imagining, sipping wine, and finding someone to come out and "lead" us in a paint session.

Sort:  

We're considering either Toronto or Vancouver for next year! This was our fourth time back to Montreal and, although we love the city, we don't want to get stuck in a rut. We bought an Opus card this time and used the Metro quite a bit. A 3-day Metro card was less expensive than ONE Uber ride! The price of Uber was INSANE this year. It cost us nearly 50$ CAD to get to the airport.

Your trip sounds incredible. I can't wait to hear about it when it takes place. That will be well worth the cost and the planning. I highly recommend Airbnb Experiences. I've taken quite a few and they're always stellar. This is how we found the Ax Throwing and the Painting Class.

I like Airbnb as well. But I prefer it's older cousin. VRBO.com. I've been using VRBO since around 2005 and have never had a bad experience. For larger groups, you can get a castle and/or a mansion in the Hollywood hills. All the way down to a long boat in the canals of Amsterdam.

We've used VRBO as well and like them too! Do they offer "experiences" as well as accommodations?

As far as I know, VRBO only offers the accommodation. We'd need to add the experience ourselves.