Possibly The Best City In North America

in #travel2 years ago (edited)


My friend Juan (@luckyfellow) and I have been doing a buddy trip once a year for the last two decades. Our trips have continued through family tragedies, marriages, divorces, health issues, and even a pandemic. This year we again chose Montreal as our destination.

We’ve been to Montreal three times before but didn’t feel like we had yet experienced all it had to offer. Montreal has a unique kind of frenetic energy and drips with creativity. In the US, more often than not, if you tell someone you’re a writer or artist their eyes glaze over and they ask what you do for a living (as if creative professions are mere hobbies).

In Montreal, when you tell someone you’re in the creative arts they immediately perk up and ask you what projects you’re working on with genuine interest. This was so refreshing and tells you a lot about the culture of this place. I always miss this when I leave Montreal.

Aside from the walking and eating this year we chose one major activity for each day we were here.

Day One


Ax, knife, and spear throwing. As a child of the 1970’s my brother and I grew up playing with ninja stars, BB guns, slingshots, and a whole host of other varieties of weaponry. This class totally reminded me of my childhood. During the one hour class the instructor taught us how to throw three different sizes of axes, two different knives, and a spear at a wooden target.

About fifty minutes into the lesson she placed a card in one of the splinters of the wooden target to see if we could hit it. After a few tries I succeeded with the large ax and Juan did too. This was a lot of fun and a great way to blow off steam. We both left feeling a little bit like Vikings.

Day Two


A painting class. The instructor, Karine, began the class with introductions, a five minute meditation, and then set us on a two hour journey that allowed us to free our minds and explore the depths of our creativity. The picture above was our creations. Mine was done in acrylic paint and oil pastels.

I definitely want to try this again. As a writer, it was refreshing for me to completely shut off the logical side of my brain and let my creativity run wild.

If you’re ever in Montreal I highly recommend both of these Airbnb experiences. We created some great memories.

Day Three


Climbing Mount Royal. this was, by far, the most tiring challenge. By the end of the day we clocked 37 flights of stairs and over 20,000 steps. My feet are still throbbing the next day but it was well worth it for this view.

Back to America...

This will likely be our last visit to this beautiful city. As much as we like it, new destinations beckon. We sure have made the most of this trip and will be forever grateful for the wonderful people we’ve met and experiences we’ve had in this city. Only one word can adequately describe Montreal, and that word is magnifique. Thanks for the memories.

Tomorrow we begin our long trek back to the US with a very early morning wake up call. I hope you enjoyed this post.

Here’s a montage of more photos from this year’s trip to Montreal:

Enjoy the rest of your weekend. Be well.

~Eric Vance Walton~


(All photos are original.)


alt text

Poetry should move us, it should change us, it should glitch our brains, shift our moods to another frequency. Poetry should evoke feelings of melancholy, whimsy, it should remind us what it feels like to be in love, or cause us to think about something in a completely different way. I view poetry, and all art really, as a temporary and fragile bridge between our world and a more pure and refined one. This is a world we could bring into creation if enough of us believed in it. This book is ephemera, destined to end up forgotten, lingering on some dusty shelf or tucked away in a dark attic. Yet the words, they will live on in memory. I hope these words become a part of you, bubble up into your memory when you least expect them to and make you feel a little more alive.

Pick up a copy of Ephemera today on Amazon.



alt text

Most of us have experienced a moment of perfect peace at least once in our lives. In these moments we lose ourselves and feel connected to everything. I call these mindful moments. Words can’t describe how complete they make us feel.

These moments are usually fragile, evaporating in seconds. What if there was a way to train your mind to experience more of them? It’s deceptively easy and requires nothing more than a subtle shift in mindset. My new book, Mindful Moments, will teach you to be much more content despite the chaos and imperfect circumstances continuing to unfold around you. Upgrade your life experience today for only $15.99 on Amazon.com.



Let’s Keep In Touch

www.ericvancewalton.net

Sort:  

if you tell someone you’re a writer or artist their eyes glaze over and they ask what you do for a living (as if creative professions are mere hobbies).

This is exactly the same perception in our society too, in fact, even if I say I earn xxx USD a month by writing content, then also they would count me as a jobless guy. And your marriage proposal will also be rejected citing joblessness. Even the girls treat u as a jobless guy.

That's sad. It's not quite that extreme in America but people still judge you differently if you're in a creative profession.

In Montreal, when you tell someone you’re in the creative arts they immediately perk up and ask you what projects you’re working on with genuine interest.

I can call this culture difference. It could happen among countries or cities or even districts in the same country.

By the way, I prefer to go different places if I travel. However, if one has no option at that time, it would be okay ;)

My feet are still throbbing the next day

My feet used to become like that when I go to abroas and I missed it.

There's such a distinct difference between Montreal and where we're from. Here, the creative arts are baked in the culture and really appreciate. Maybe because of the French influence? My feet are still stinging and I think I'll be taking the pain home with me tomorrow as a souvenir. Lol.

Oh wow, axe throwing!?! I've just recently heard of this and thought how much fun that would be. Not to mention useful in the event of a zombie apocolypse lol. I think it's fantastic that friends have continued to uphold a cherished yearly tradition such as this. What a wonderful, wonderful thing!

It was so much fun that I could have easily stayed there a few more hours. I'm so grateful that we've been able to keep this tradition up through thick and thin. The first year we did this we were so poor that we had about $80 each for the 3 day trip. We ate a lot of Subway sandwiches.

Hahaha a nice to way to retreat and have great fun at the same time. But erhmm Montreal is in Canada right? I did enjoy your axe throwing event. I think it's more of an art because one cannot just throw and have it hit, plus I think the axe needs to be very Sharp as well. Painting or colouring is what a lot of people would consider more artistic I guess. But then, great way to unwind.
2 decades of so many adventures. How have you been lately?

It was a lot of fun. Yes, Montreal is in the Provence of Quebec in Canada. I've been well, it's been a good summer but it's always just too short. How's everything in your part of the world?

That is really cool that you have been making this trip for so long. I should really try to start doing something like this with my friend. I guess I always guilt myself into the fact that I am travelling with them and not my wife. Since she is my best friend, I guess it makes sense that I would just go places with her :) The fact that you were able to make time for it with and without a 9 to 5 is impressive. I should definitely try harder!

We really value this time, it's always a kind of psychological reset for both of us. A time to celebrate successes and also plot our course for the next year. Budgeting for the next trip has, in a way, pushed us both to work harder through the years.

That makes a lot of sense. I have been telling my friend we should go up to Lake Simcoe in Ontario sometime, but we have just never gotten around to it.

I'll have to look up that lake, I've never heard of it. I hope you get to do it!

Perch bigger than your hand I have heard! They have a festival every year I think. Tons of people head up there.

I was going to say, don't rule Ottawa out as a destination. But then I thought about it and realized that when Ottawa folks want to blow off some steam, they drive over to Montreal.

It it a fantastic city!!!!

It has a little bit of everything.

I'm glad you enjoyed yourself.

A bunch of friends that I met in University are planning a trip in 2024. Since there may be up to 10 of us ... we are currently leaning towards renting a castle in the South of France for a week. (When you split it between 10 folks, it becomes less than $100/night)

You now have me imagining, sipping wine, and finding someone to come out and "lead" us in a paint session.

We're considering either Toronto or Vancouver for next year! This was our fourth time back to Montreal and, although we love the city, we don't want to get stuck in a rut. We bought an Opus card this time and used the Metro quite a bit. A 3-day Metro card was less expensive than ONE Uber ride! The price of Uber was INSANE this year. It cost us nearly 50$ CAD to get to the airport.

Your trip sounds incredible. I can't wait to hear about it when it takes place. That will be well worth the cost and the planning. I highly recommend Airbnb Experiences. I've taken quite a few and they're always stellar. This is how we found the Ax Throwing and the Painting Class.

I like Airbnb as well. But I prefer it's older cousin. VRBO.com. I've been using VRBO since around 2005 and have never had a bad experience. For larger groups, you can get a castle and/or a mansion in the Hollywood hills. All the way down to a long boat in the canals of Amsterdam.

We've used VRBO as well and like them too! Do they offer "experiences" as well as accommodations?

As far as I know, VRBO only offers the accommodation. We'd need to add the experience ourselves.

In the US, more often than not, if you tell someone you’re a writer or artist their eyes glaze over and they ask what you do for a living.

My best. :-D

But really. I do my best. Yesterday I moved to live with my brother in Tiszasüly, Hungary. We are together again. My Harris's hawk still scream at him, because she fear him, but she will get used to him over time. Probably in a few days.

I am glad and happy that I can do what I enjoy and love. This is what really matters. Have something in your life, which you enjoy and love.

Have a nice day. All the best. Greetings and much love from Hungary.

I'm so glad to hear you found a place to stay! I hope you and your hawk a're happy there in your new home! How long will it take her to get used to your brother?

Hi Eric, it's great to be able to travel with a true friend. Moreover, Montreal is a beautiful city to explore. I enjoy the photos you put together in a video. Thanks. Apparently you really enjoyed your childhood games. I think it certainly will evoke memories of your childhood when all the family members you love are still complete. Have a nice day.

Hi Eliana! So glad to hear you enjoyed the photos! We had a lot of fun this year and are refreshed and ready to tackle new projects. I hope you enjoy your week!

The whole place looks really attractive and fun to be part and am pretty sure you had a nice time there.

It's a great city to visit!

My friend Juan (@luckyfellow) and I have been doing a buddy trip once a year for the last two decades.

This must have been fun over the last decades.

This trip really sounds interesting. I love the idea of throwing weapons and also the climbing experience.

I went to somewhere similar in Nigeria, the lekki conservation center. We claimed heights and walked long distances.

I intend on getting a friend who I will travel with for decades.

@ebingo and @gamsam what do you think?

We sometimes can't believe we've been doing these trips since 2000. They've changed a lot over the years too. We used to stay out MUCH later than we do now. During this last trip we were back to the Airbnb most nights by 10pm. I would highly recommend finding a friend (or two) to start this tradition with and try to keep the tradition alive as long as you can. You'll appreciate it much more as you get older.

All the beautiful activities were yours every day. Riding the mountain was very fun, wasn't it?

Climbing the mountain was one of the most memorable things we did.

Hot damn. This should like the best buddy holiday ever. And this happens every year? Awesome

We've managed to keep the tradition for all but two of the past 22 years. We missed one year because of Juan's heart transplant and the next year was missed due to the pandemic. I highly recommend it to everyone if they can do it. We always have fun reminiscing about the memories we've made over the past twenty years. I can tell you we're a lot more reserved than we once were. Lol.

We both left feeling a little bit like Vikings.

Haha sure if I was in such position I will definitely feel the same as well.

Wow, i have never been to Montreal before but with your information, seems its a nice place to be
from exploring the city's museums and historical sites to enjoying its nightlife and festivals. With so much to offer, it's no wonder that Montreal is one of the most popular tourist destinations in Canada.

I highly recommend Montreal if you can visit!

That must really be one of the best city in that region definitely with the look of things. Will be worth paying a visit in the nearest future

This is indeed a moment of creativity enhancement and fun... The ax throwing is something I would love to try with the painting too...even though the ax throwing might be a huge battle since I might not get it right...maybe by luck hahaha.

Montreal looks like a really nice place since they appreciate the creative industry. Writing is not easy and I don't understand why many people look at us like we don't have something better to do.

I'm glad to see you having fun with your friend sir. You look really good too.

Thanks my friend. We made a lot of good memories on this trip to be sure. The ax throwing was easier than you might think. In an hour the instructor took us from not even being able to sink the ax in the wooden target to hitting a target the size of a playing card. You'd pick it up quickly.

Yaaaaay. It's something I would love to try. It's going to be exciting, no doubt.

That sounds awesome, all the way around!
Even the grueling climb, haha!

We were talking about going to Montreal just before covid hit. My cousins live in Vermont and the plan was to meet at their house and a group of us head up. Hopefully we can rekindle that idea!

...Although it might be more difficult to convince my cousin now that her daughter is going to Dalhousie university in Nova Scotia. I think her Canada plans for the next few years will probably be there instead lol

It really was. The weather was perfect too, for the most part. It changed drastically right after we left. Whatever you do, you have to see Montreal. I know you and your husband would love it. It's a awful lot like Paris without the 8hr flight. If you do go let me know and I'll shoot some suggestions your way.

Woo hoo! I was so glad to see you and Juan made it to Montreal! The pictures are great and who in the world doesn't LOVE it there?

You are a painter! And an axe thrower! Now you should be able to pick up a nice little side shuffle with that! :)

I am going to say unless something changes, I won't go on our friend's trip until next year. We missed the last two years, running home from South America as COVID shut our borders. Anyway, I am so jelly!!

The thing about Montreal having a different attitude? If you went to NYC or even Connecticut, (where all the arty NY people live) Miami, Washington, DC, Atlanta, Chicago, or even LA... nobody would blink and would be interested. It is just foreign to some places where you make a living in the arts. Isn't that a class in Elementary School?

Kidding. But, I think it is regional, and most of those places I mentioned have a huge foreign population also... so you are probably right!

Welcome home!!!! Soak those feet!

Thanks! It was a LOT of fun this year. No one was more surprised than me that the painting turned out so well. I think I'm actually going to have it matted/framed. If nothing else it'll remind me of the trip when I look at it. I suppose you're right about the artsy areas. I did notice NYC, Brooklyn especially, was like that when we were working on the HardFork Series there. The coffeeshops were "hives" of creativity. Two days after touchdown and my feet are finally getting back to normal. : )