Discovering Sifnos: Apollonia and Surroundings (Greece)

in #travel7 years ago

In the core of the Aegan ocean lies a shrouded diamond of the Cyclades, which I happened to "find" by a total possibility. Sifnos joins the staggering excellence of the white Cycladic towns with an agreeable neighborhood vibe, sandy shorelines and a fun, tasteful nightlife. 

Apollonia

Apollonia, the capital of the island, is encompassed by a gathering of small towns scattered among the slopes – every one of them inside a mobile separation from each other. At to start with, Apollonia doesn't appear to have much to offer aside from a couple of stores and eateries lined along the principle street, however don't be tricked! Take a right into a little rear way past the Main Square and you will wind up in Steno. 

The region, agreed with whitewashed structures common for the Cycladic engineering, is loaded with bars and eateries. 

It likewise has an extraordinary decision of adornments and garments stores, the majority of them offering nearby items. Steno has a fabulous time vibe and remains quintessentially Greek – it additionally has a slight Mykonos feel to it while being substantially more casual and less touristy. One of my most loved stores in Steno was PLEIADES Jewelry. Georgios, the proprietor of the place, bases a ton of his outlines on the old Greek adornments. 

Kastro 

The old town of Kastro, sat over a stone sitting above the Aegan ocean, has an interesting environment which will take you back to the seasons of the old Sifnos. 

The thin cleared lanes with low stone seats, wandering aimlessly like a maze, old columns and Roman marble urns mapping out the most established verifiable stays of the city, and the most shocking of everything – the little church of Epta Martyres ("the Seven Martyrs") roosted over a little slope, apparently gliding on the purplish blue ocean… you will feel like you're inside a tall tale. 

Artemonas 

Getting to Artemona is a significant walk in the event that you need to arrive by walking, as you have to stroll up the slope, going by littler towns en route. 

The little backstreets of Artemonas aren't shy of appeal , yet it's the old manors which make the town one of a kind.

Have you ever visited Apollonia? Are there any other places you would recommend? Let me know in the comments below! 

Sort:  

This is a really great post, thanks for sharing your amazing pictures! Sorry my upvote isn't worth much, but keep up the good work!

Thank you, I followed you and Up Vote your Post about Srilanka Travel. :-)

Thanks for your support!

Nice job! I am also interested in photography, check out my blogs and if you like them follow me too. @tyregethon :) Keep up the good work!

Thanks for Appreciation, I need more in a future... And I followed you and I up voted your Few Post. You had a Great Collection on your Profile, such a nice Photography too.

Amazing place, thanks! I need to visit this!

Thank you, Sure you will love that place!!!

thanks beautiful post!

Thanks for Comment...

Travelling the world is indeed what I fancy, nothing else could make me any happier! I hope I can leave this damned 9-5 and start doin what I want in life. Anyways for now do check my latest post https://steemit.com/travel/@alexkoshy/the-majestic-western-ghats-a-unesco-heritage-location-why-you-should-tour-india

Steem Sign NEW - Copy.PNG

What a beautiful place! Got to love it when you find randomly find awesome places. I've yet to visit Greece but it's on the list!

Thank you.. I give one more post before this about Greece check it.. I hope you like it.

Πολύ ωραία ανάρτηση , ωραία περιγραφή και φωτογραφίες! Resteeiming , following . Καλή συνέχεια!
Very nice post ,beautiful picts and presentation. Wish you the best to continue!

oh I love those white and blue Greece pics :)

Thanks Dear.. :*