One Day I Will Sell Everything and Live in a Van.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Life...
It's what you make it, right?

Well, I don't know about you, but I'm fed up with the same old dross.
Eat, work sleep... day in, day out... repeat.

So, a little while ago, my girlfriend and I decided that we will one day buy a van and live in it...
And then.. just see what happens! See where life takes us.

Don't get me wrong, I know life won't be a walk in the park living in such a small space, but surely the freedom is worth the sacrifice?

Let me know what you guys think.
Are any of you already van-dwellers?

If so, let's have a chat :)

Peace, love and good happiness stuff,
Han

Sort:  

Cool Han I know plenty of people who have lived that type of lifestyle including me several times. I own a VW Vanagon and I use it to go surfing and camp a bit. Find a place to park your van after you drive around for a few months years days. People over here buy property and plant a garden ;-) Aloha! Rik

Congratulations @hanlovello! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I lived one summer in Ireland in an old Bedford van... it was really interesting getting to live some of the realities (and some of the joys) of campervanning lifestyle. As with cars, every vehicle you own will teach you something. I definitely learnt a thing or two from that old Bedford! I'm in the throes of a PhD now, but I've been daydreaming (and YouTubing & Googling) a lot about converting a van to live in semi-full-time (happily I get on well with my parents and can always stay there for a while if I'm working in Ireland). I'm dreaming about converting a hightop long-wheel base like a Fiat Ducato and setting it up to be as comfortable as possible, more tiny home style, with fire burning stove and all. Here's a very rough schema of my ideas up till now - what do you think? I've seen some ideas about DIY electric lift beds that can free up seating space during the day by storing the bed up snug against the ceiling. My idea was to create something that I wouldn't mind living in for significant periods and maybe even stick with if a baby came along at some stage. A lwb van might be a bit more of an arse to manoeuvre and park than a small van but everything is a compromise. I think deciding about how mobile you plan to be is a big factor.
MyDucatioLayoutb.jpg
As with wavemaster I would share the vision of wanting to eventually buy a patch to park up on. So sick of paying other people's mortgages!!!