The most impressive Khmer temple

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Charming and stunning place. With the intricate carving, Phimai Historical Park is one of the most impressive Khmer temples in Thailand. This temple is an ancient Khmer city in Khmer empire. Phimai had been dedicated to Mahayana Buddhism.
20180822_150032.jpg
Phimai Historical Park (Prasat Hin Phimai) locates in Nakhon Ratchasima (Korat), Northeastern Thailand. This temple, with the common architectural features, is similar to Angkor Wat. IMG_20180822_140954.jpg
It was time to begin with a new journey. The weather was a bit hot, around 33°C. My shirt was soaked up with sweat. Looking at the sky, I should find some places to hide from the rain. It was about going to rain. But it was not a problem. Go Go!
20180822_151907.jpg I walked into the area of the temple and waited for a while to look around it, to observe. It is a big place that took time around 1.30 hrs and up.
I took a walk and explored around the temple. I saw the big trees alongside the temple. I went to sit under the tree to take a break and drink water. Feeling great to see such a beautiful place, I feel overwhelmed. When I was a student, I read from book about history of Khmer temple which influences on Thai temples in Northeastern Thailand. Now, I see it and can touch the beauty and faith of the temple that showed evidence of conversion from Hindu to Buddhist faith. There are many Khmer ruins in Thailand that are similar to Prasat Hin Primai, such as Phanom Rung and Muang Tham. The centre of this temple is around with the main prang, a pyramidal tower. Each prang has four entrance chambers. Prasat Hin Phimai has built of dusky pink and greyish sandstone. The cravings of the prangs depict Hindu themes.
IMG_20180905_031150.jpg
It was a great experience to visit Prasat Hin Phimai. Absolutely, People in the past worked hard to keep religious and community. They themselves devoted and sacrificed glorious things and previleges for a new generation. I can touch and feel with the huge buildings that showed in front of me.
Finally, my journey has to be ending for the impressive Khmer temple in Thailand. Next journey is waiting for me to learn new experience. My journey is about learning and digging deep into life and humanity. Beauty is underneath the skin.
Fortunately, We was good luck that it was not raining while exploring. My day was great throughout the trip. Thank you to my lovely boyfriend who is with me and always supports my journey and my life.
20180822_154135.jpg

Phimai National Museum has many details for people who want to know more about Prasat Hin Phimai, daily 9am-4pm.

Price: 20 bath for Thai and 100 bath for foreigner
Hours: daily 7am-6pm
Food: Isaan Restaurants

Great experience is waiting to all people who love learning and open mind to see widely to try new things. Kick off your journey. Break the comfort zone. Escaping from the fear. Keep working hard in things you have faiths. No one can break you. Go with me.
Enjoy your beautiful journey!!